1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI Readies 770T-C45 Motherboard

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 9, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,972 (10.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,758
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    MSI is working on yet another addition to its AM2+ socket motherboard lineup, this time the 770T-C45. This mainstream ATX motherboards draws more than just its layout from the recently announced 770-C35, and the AM3-based 770-C45, in fact an identical board layout with the addition of a few features. This board is uses an AM2+ socket with support for DDR2 memory, with the AMD 770 + SB710 chipset, which provides support for AMD OverDrive Advanced Clock Calibration feature. The CPU is powered by the same 4+2 phase design featured on the older model. An important difference is that this model features Active Phase Switching, which turns off redundant power phases when the load is low. Another change is the colour scheme for the expansion slots connectors, and heatsinks. It will be priced in the sub-$100 range.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: TechConnect Magazine
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2009
  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,007 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,094
    Location:
    Ohio
    I had a bigger heatsink than that on my old Intel D865PERL (s478 board)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    looks like a decent budget board. decent layout with good access to sata ports (not so much with the IDE and floppy).

    CPU 4 pin connector is in as annoying place as possible it seems, typical these days.

    1x slot above the video card is always nice, means large VGA coolers cant block it.
     
  4. Andy77 New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    119 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I don't know... kinda' looks like this:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    reference design for the chipset?
     
  6. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,972 (10.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,758
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India

    That board has AMD 780G+SB700 chipset, so no. It's may be a copied layout.
     
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,007 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,094
    Location:
    Ohio
    Annoying? That's a great spot for the cpu power connector... very easy to tuck away the cable for that. The truely annoying spot for the cpu power is underneath the socket, above the first expansion slot...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    its always behind the PSU, so the cable has to curve around.

    I take it you've never used a case with the PSU at the bottom either :(
     
  9. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I hate the cpu power connector being up there because at least in my case I need to take the cpu cooler off just to get to it.
     
  10. defubar

    defubar New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    If this has ACC like the SB750 mobos, does that mean it should be able to unlock the cores on the newer x2 and x3 CPUs with disabled cores?
     
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    And I just bought the 770-C45 last week :mad: I don't know what makes this one worth it, but it has a freakin T in it!!!!!
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    Since it supports ACC, yes its possible it can unlock disabled cores.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 9, 2009
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I probably should have gotten a PII 550 with mine huh :eek: I forgot it had the SB710 :( This athlon II is actually very fast, I'm on it right now. I keep my main rig off unless I want to play something other than source games, because they run great on this 4650 too.
     
  14. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,972 (10.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,758
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Isn't that the DDR2/AM2+ version? Or are you referring to 770-C35?
     
  15. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  16. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Maybe this board is DDR2.
     
    btarunr says thanks.
  17. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,972 (10.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,758
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    No, it isn't.
     
  18. Bull Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    146 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Well if the pictures are anything to go by. The MSI 770T-C45 is a DDR2 board.
     
    btarunr says thanks.
  19. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    "comes with four DDR3-1600 memory slots"
     
  20. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,972 (10.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,758
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Thanks, the source was wrong. Looking at the notches in the memory slots, it really is DDR2. :banghead:
     
  21. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I know it says its DDR3 but I couldn't find a physical difference between shadowfolds and this. Except the Ram slots notch is in a different place, albeit it could be upside down on one and not in the other.
     
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    We need less PCI and more PCIe please.
     
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    i'd be happy with two PCI-E, and could accept one PCI-E.

    Currently i only use it for a souncard, but i could imagine a TV tuner good there too - most other devices are held back by the PCI bus and should be on PCI-E anyway (RAID cards, networking, etc)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page