1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI Ready with A75A-G35 Socket FM1 Motherboard

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 8, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,431 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,618
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Better late than never, MSI is ready with its first socket FM1 motherboard in the ATX form factor. The A75A-G35 is designed for those who can use up to 7 expansion slots, and is a textbook implementation of the AMD Lynx platform. Designed for AMD A-series APUs, the FM1 socket is powered by a simple 4-phase VRM, it is wired to just two DDR3 DIMM slots that can take in dual-channel DDR3-1866 MHz memory. Expansion slots include one PCI-Express 2.0 x16 wired to the APU, three PCI-E x1, one PCI-E x16 that runs at x4 speeds, wired to the A75 chipset, and two legacy PCI.

    In terms of connectivity, there's DVI, D-Sub, and HDMI on the display front, with the HDMI port having its own 7.1 channel HD audio with various digital audio formats support; 8-channel HD audio driven by a Realtek codec, gigabit Ethernet, four USB 3.0 ports (two via header), and a number of USB 2.0 ports on the rear panel, and via headers. There are no eSATA ports, as all six SATA 6 Gb/s ports from the chipset as assigned as internal ports. MSI will price this board at €71.50.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: VR-Zone
  2. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    I wonder if MSi is trying to make a point with the whole front of the box advertizing.
    They must have read that quote on here about the MSi toilet paper :laugh: I still wont buy there stuff anymore.
  3. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Seems like a bad place to put the sata ports.
  4. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2011
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,555 (10.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,070
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Is the APU's going to be as fast and the new bulldozer chips or is this just to make some money cause Im thinking socket FM1 should be used for HTPC only instead of using full ATX boards?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,151 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,476
    office PC's. nuff said.
  7. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,514 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,160
    mATX is to prefer then as you can make the computers smaller. Full sized ATX just feels wrong for this platform.
  8. Breathless New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    370 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    2 dimm slots on standard ATX? Why not just have 1 sata port and 1 USB port as well?.....
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,555 (10.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,070
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I love my mATX gaming rig!! I would take it over this any day!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. aj28 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    352 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    This is a cheap board that will be bundled with the processors at Fry's... I doubt they're very concerned about features to begin with. Heck, they even used surplus of the old heatsink retention bracket... This is definitely not aimed at anyone here on TPU.
  11. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    These are basically Athlon II cores with a slightly better memory controller, so no.

    And this board is fail unless it is like $45.
  12. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Even though I don't like AMD's decision to make two seperate socket types, I do like to see that at least the cooler mounting hasn't changed:toast:
  13. MR.T New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Happy

    I got myself this board and a A8 3870k CPU with AMD Radeon GPU (HD 6870).
    i also put in a better cooling system from Cooler master to do some clockign although it wasnt nessesery beacause it played all my games at full graphix.:rockout:
  14. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Holy necrokick Batman!
  15. MR.T New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Help!!!

    does anybody know if i can set up max. shutdown temp in the bios of my A75A-G35 msa board.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page