1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI Twin Frozr II bios flash success

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by da20valve, Jul 14, 2011.

  1. da20valve

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    127 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Okay after like 50 million hours i have successfully flashed my Twin Frozr II to unlock the shaders of a 6970.ENJOY
     

    Attached Files:

  2. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,667 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,879
    ...and you were so negative and so sure it would not work and was impossible....
    anyway. I'm going to try it now because you and someone else on here have no done it
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. da20valve

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    127 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    I said it was impossible to flash a 6970 bios onto the Twin Frozr II, This is a reflash of a 6950with the shaders enabled. And i have tried it and it works.
     
  4. da20valve

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    127 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Thats what i do baby, i make the impossible possible, im the big BOSS
     
  5. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,667 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,879
    reflash

    Sorry for my ignorance but... what is a reflash?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. da20valve

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    127 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Its the sixty nine fiddy bios that has modded shaders
     
  7. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,642 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    682
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    As you can make the impossible possible; perhaps you would not mind going to User CP and filling in your system spec's next time you log in

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     
    scaminatrix and LifeOnMars say thanks.
  8. da20valve

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    127 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Done, Enjoy
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  9. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,667 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,879
    First of all your system specs don't show if that is what you meant by done.
    Second: IT WORKED! Good job on doing this. Just don't let it go to your head. You were not the first either. I found someone else on here that did it just the other day. I will start stability testing and so on just to be safe
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2013
    Law-II says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. da20valve

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    127 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Maybe it takes a few minutes to display ? I meant to post this like a month ago but wanted to test it for a few weeks for stability before i mislead people, Anyway let us know what yours overclocks too. And your 3dmark 11 score if you have the time
     
  11. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,667 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,879
    still working

    Ok. Seems stable. Have had no problems. I did a 3d mark 11 test. So far been able to overclock to 888 from 800 base clock. I before unlocking the shaders was able to make it to 900. Still working on it though

    Not Unlocked-
    3DMark Score P4889
    Graphics Score 4655
    Physics Score 6425
    Combined Score 4982
    GraphicsTest1 19 FPS
    GraphicsTest2 23 FPS
    GraphicsTest3 28 FPS
    GraphicsTest4 14 FPS
    PhysicsTest 20 FPS
    CombinedTest 23 FPS

    Unlocked-
    3DMark Score P5070
    Graphics Score 4828
    Physics Score 6655
    Combined Score 5172
    GraphicsTest1 20 FPS
    GraphicsTest2 24 FPS
    GraphicsTest3 29 FPS
    GraphicsTest4 14 FPS
    PhysicsTest 21 FPS
    CombinedTest 24 FPS

    So marginal improvements. Also my card was an unoverclocked version so that is an increase of 10MHz to core that happend during unlocking. Other than that no change in setup.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. da20valve

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    127 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Those scores seem a bit low dude, My Twin Frozr II gets 5400P in 3dmark 11 and overclocked it gets 5640-5648p Locked, But with the shader flash you can add another 200 points roughly to both scores. Dont know whats going on there, Maybe your CPU is Bottlenecking the card, I will down clock my cpu to 4.54ghz and let you know if the score gets lower.
     
  13. da20valve

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    127 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Here is mine not unlocked but overclocked to 880Mhz

    P5606
    Graphic Score 5131 GT1 21.84
    Physics Score 11211 GT2 26.07
    Combined Score 5311 GT3 3183
    15.69
    35.59
    24.70

    These is original bios with just the clock settings set to 880Mhz Memory are standard @1300
     
  14. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,667 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,879
    Those scores I posted were at stock speeds for cpu and gpu. I know my scores seem low even for an unoverclocked system. My only thought is the ram. Its meant for the previous chipset. I did not realize till afterwords. I just went my motherboard qualified list. When I get to around to it I will test everything overclocked.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,667 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,879
    Ok. I benchmarked 3dmark 11 with cpu at 4.5ghz, and gpu at 840/1325(in ccc because AB is a pain). I am having trouble going back to my old bios for some reason. Once i get that fixed I will post those scores too for comparison.
    Results:
    http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1537565?sho...11/1537565?key=w7KX0BNRz3ypBK54RXsQ9rSTVwvCKd
    3DMark Score P5426
    Graphics Score 5092
    Physics Score 8230
    Combined Score 5333
    GraphicsTest1 21 FPS
    GraphicsTest2 26 FPS
    GraphicsTest3 31 FPS
    GraphicsTest4 15 FPS
    PhysicsTest 26 FPS
    CombinedTest 24 FPS

    Looked at your specs de20valve. I almost went for the sabortooth but decided it was too expensive and I wouldn't have the pci configuration I want. Same ram just about and I assume you have 4 gigs, maybe 8. You have a better cooler with a better processor for a better clock. Then some ssd. Your system is what I was originaly planning. Then the dream haze went away when I looked at the price.
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. supaboi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey guys, about to get this video card in a few days, just wondering what tool you used to flash it? Some people are againist winatiflash, some aren't. Being a card without a bios switch, would like to do as much research as i can before flashing. Cheers
     
  17. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    LOL @ this. I recall you mentioning that it's impossible to unlock them PERIOD. You were extremely adamant about it too... isn't it ironic? Don't you think?
     
  18. da20valve

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    127 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Yeah its ironic that i am the Magic man and make sh!t thats impossible just seem like its a walk in the park. YOUR WELCOME BTW.

    PS, It wasnt possible at the time, but then again i even impress myself sometimes.
    T DIZZLE OUT
     
  19. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    It was already possible, you're just extremely arrogant. If you're looking for approval, I can tell you; you are doing it wrong.
     
  20. da20valve

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    127 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    If it was possible at the time then why wasnt it done. ? It took a real man to spread the sugar. Just say thanks like a good little girl.
     
  21. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    And you go on and on about how amazing you are, lol. Just because you thought it had not been done didn't make it impossible. If it WERE impossible you NEVER would have unlocked it. You don't seem to know the definition of impossible.

    Also, why would I thank you for unlocking some random card I don't have? As far as I can see people were already unlocking that model. I doubt anyone is going to thank you for your arrogant posts.

    You randomly figured out how to unlock it and then decided to jump on the forum and spout off about how amazing you are. I'm sure people will bow to you sir.

    Don't bother replying.

    /unsubscribed
     
  22. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,608 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    191
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    why flash bios if easier would be buy better card
     
  23. da20valve

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    127 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Why comment if you dont have the card, You obviously have no idea about computers and need all the help you can get, So be a good lilttle bitch and listen to someone thats twice as smart as you. I can see from your system specs you have no idea and with that additude you will never learn either, Keep living in a fools paradise buddy.
     
  24. da20valve

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    127 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    As i said at the time it was impossible, i didnt have the means to unlock it and apparently neither did anyone else (because there wasnt one single thread of a unlock. Dont know what dream land your livining in saying that it was already possible, There wasnt 1 thread out of a successful unlock even Atomic and Toms hardware at the time said it couldnt be done, i think you are thinking of a Twin Frozr III. Anyway its cool your just a hata just keeping grinding away on your 4 year old 1366 socket piece of junk system, While the rest of us enjoy the sweet sweet necter of something a real man would own.
     
  25. dragonbone

    dragonbone New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gold Hill,OR
    6950-6970

    :roll:
    thank you, you rock ,worked on bios for 2 day this worked in 10 min
    dragonbone
     

    Attached Files:

    • 6950.gif
      6950.gif
      File size:
      21.8 KB
      Views:
      164
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page