1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI Unveils 970A-G43 Entry-Level Socket AM3+ Motherboard

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 25, 2013.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,670
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    MSI rolled out a new value socket AM3+ motherboard, the 970A-G43. Based on the AMD 970 chipset with SB950 southbridge, the ATX form-factor board covers all the essentials for a single graphics card gaming PC build, on a tight budget. It uses a simple 5-phase VRM to power the AM3+ socket. The board uses an all solid-state capacitor loadout, by saving on MOSFETs. The CPU VRM uses inexpensive On-Semi DPAK fare. The socket is wired to four DDR3 DIMM slots supporting up to 64 GB of dual-channel DDR3-1866 MHz memory.

    Among the expansion slots are a PCI-Express 2.0 x16 (wired to the 970 northbridge), a PCI-Express 2.0 x16 (electrical x4, wired to the SB950 southbridge), and two each of PCI-Express 2.0 x1 and legacy PCI. Storage connectivity is care of six SATA 6 Gb/s ports supporting RAID 0/1/5/10. A couple of 2-port USB 3.0 controllers wired out four ports, of which are two are given out by a standard front-panel header. Completing the package are 8-channel HD audio (Realtek ALC887), gigabit Ethernet (Realtek 8111E), and a handful of USB 2.0/1.1 ports. The board is driven by AMI UEFI BIOS. The 970A-G43 is priced at $89.99.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2013
    7mm says thanks.
  2. darkangel0504

    darkangel0504

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    88 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Failure VRM
     
    jmcslob says thanks.
  3. 50eurouser

    50eurouser New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    52 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    4th Dimension
    Niko-sem vrm rules ! Oh ! No vrm Heatsink ! ... damn !
     
  4. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    + the price is too high for an entry level motherboad.
     
  5. xkche

    xkche

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    145 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    No vrm Heatsink?, is ok for me. My GA-870A-USB3 is working fine.

    Price?, to high :(

    But, is good see a USB 3.0 internal header.
     
  6. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    599 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    your GA-870A-USB3 doesn't use DPAK MOSFETs, it uses PowerPAK.
     
  7. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,475 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    There are holes and alignment marks for VRM heatsink why bother with that then cheap out on $1 worth of aluminum ? OH WAIT ITS MSI this explains everything.
     
  8. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,884 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,563
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Can't wait for people to buy this and blow it up with a stock Bulldozer chip thanks to the worst, hottest type of MOSFETs you can buy and no heatsink.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,052 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,211
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    No real VALUE board has MOSFET cooler. Really, guys?

    This board barely does Crossfire, even. if you buy this to OC, you've made a big mistake, however, I don't think it'll do that badly, honestly.
     
  10. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,475 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    Not sure if sarcasm :p anyway
    [​IMG]
     
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,052 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,211
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
  12. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
  13. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    739
    Location:
    Portugal
    Gigabyte and ASUS do it all the time as well...
     
  14. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    I'm not into overclocking anymore, so I wouldn't buy an AM3+ board new. Refurbished and used, but not new.
     
  15. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    I ran overclocked CPUs on one of these for years with no issues at all:

    [​IMG]

    Overclocked better than my MSI P45 Platinum, in fact, using the same Q6700.
     
  16. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,670
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Reg: VRM, there are two sets of up/dn FETs per phase. So the load (and in effect, heat) is spread that way.
     
  17. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
  18. slinger2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    VRM and overclocking

    Hey Guys, After reading this post I was scared that my mother board would blow up or something terrible, lol
    I went out and bought heat sinks for my 970A-g43 , I have a KDM 875 watt power supply with 16 gb ddr3 an FX-8150 overclocked to 4.3 gigs. I am also overclocking my GTX 560 to 990 on the core with voltage adjusted on both the CPU and GPU. Very stable.

    I know there are more choices out there then this board. Don't get me wrong I have a few.
    But since this article I have been putting my fingers on the VRMs to check the heat. (I do have a water-cooler on the CPU). So I can slide my hand right in there. Never gets hot at all.

    I play tomb-raider 2013, SWOR, Bio-shock and deadspace3.

    I have a back up board in case something goes wrong. But if I don't post here... That means all is well.:toast:
     
  19. slinger2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    still have the board no issues......
    I do notice the north bridge gets warm. but that is normal with most boards overclocked.

    I may upgrade but this board is still working overclocked.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page