1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI Unveils 970A-G43 Entry-Level Socket AM3+ Motherboard

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 25, 2013.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,708 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    MSI rolled out a new value socket AM3+ motherboard, the 970A-G43. Based on the AMD 970 chipset with SB950 southbridge, the ATX form-factor board covers all the essentials for a single graphics card gaming PC build, on a tight budget. It uses a simple 5-phase VRM to power the AM3+ socket. The board uses an all solid-state capacitor loadout, by saving on MOSFETs. The CPU VRM uses inexpensive On-Semi DPAK fare. The socket is wired to four DDR3 DIMM slots supporting up to 64 GB of dual-channel DDR3-1866 MHz memory.

    Among the expansion slots are a PCI-Express 2.0 x16 (wired to the 970 northbridge), a PCI-Express 2.0 x16 (electrical x4, wired to the SB950 southbridge), and two each of PCI-Express 2.0 x1 and legacy PCI. Storage connectivity is care of six SATA 6 Gb/s ports supporting RAID 0/1/5/10. A couple of 2-port USB 3.0 controllers wired out four ports, of which are two are given out by a standard front-panel header. Completing the package are 8-channel HD audio (Realtek ALC887), gigabit Ethernet (Realtek 8111E), and a handful of USB 2.0/1.1 ports. The board is driven by AMI UEFI BIOS. The 970A-G43 is priced at $89.99.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2013
    7mm says thanks.
  2. darkangel0504

    darkangel0504

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    88 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Failure VRM
     
    jmcslob says thanks.
  3. 50eurouser

    50eurouser New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    52 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    4th Dimension
    Niko-sem vrm rules ! Oh ! No vrm Heatsink ! ... damn !
     
  4. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    + the price is too high for an entry level motherboad.
     
  5. xkche

    xkche

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    145 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    No vrm Heatsink?, is ok for me. My GA-870A-USB3 is working fine.

    Price?, to high :(

    But, is good see a USB 3.0 internal header.
     
  6. Steven B

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    599 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    your GA-870A-USB3 doesn't use DPAK MOSFETs, it uses PowerPAK.
     
  7. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,474 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    There are holes and alignment marks for VRM heatsink why bother with that then cheap out on $1 worth of aluminum ? OH WAIT ITS MSI this explains everything.
     
  8. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Can't wait for people to buy this and blow it up with a stock Bulldozer chip thanks to the worst, hottest type of MOSFETs you can buy and no heatsink.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    No real VALUE board has MOSFET cooler. Really, guys?

    This board barely does Crossfire, even. if you buy this to OC, you've made a big mistake, however, I don't think it'll do that badly, honestly.
     
  10. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,474 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    Not sure if sarcasm :p anyway
    [​IMG]
     
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
  12. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
  13. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    Location:
    Portugal
    Gigabyte and ASUS do it all the time as well...
     
  14. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,783 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,344
    I'm not into overclocking anymore, so I wouldn't buy an AM3+ board new. Refurbished and used, but not new.
     
  15. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    I ran overclocked CPUs on one of these for years with no issues at all:

    [​IMG]

    Overclocked better than my MSI P45 Platinum, in fact, using the same Q6700.
     
  16. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,708 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Reg: VRM, there are two sets of up/dn FETs per phase. So the load (and in effect, heat) is spread that way.
     
  17. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
  18. slinger2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    VRM and overclocking

    Hey Guys, After reading this post I was scared that my mother board would blow up or something terrible, lol
    I went out and bought heat sinks for my 970A-g43 , I have a KDM 875 watt power supply with 16 gb ddr3 an FX-8150 overclocked to 4.3 gigs. I am also overclocking my GTX 560 to 990 on the core with voltage adjusted on both the CPU and GPU. Very stable.

    I know there are more choices out there then this board. Don't get me wrong I have a few.
    But since this article I have been putting my fingers on the VRMs to check the heat. (I do have a water-cooler on the CPU). So I can slide my hand right in there. Never gets hot at all.

    I play tomb-raider 2013, SWOR, Bio-shock and deadspace3.

    I have a back up board in case something goes wrong. But if I don't post here... That means all is well.:toast:
     
  19. slinger2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    still have the board no issues......
    I do notice the north bridge gets warm. but that is normal with most boards overclocked.

    I may upgrade but this board is still working overclocked.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page