1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI Unveils DDR2+DDR3 Combo Motherboards

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Mar 9, 2009.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    During CeBIT, MSI showcased two AMD 790GX motherboards that combine support for both DDR2 and DDR3 on the same board. Although both the MSI 790GX-8D and the MSI P45-8D are designed for different platforms, the enormous RAM capacity support - both offer four DDR2 slots and four DDR3 memory slots - makes them really unique. The AM3 board 790GX-8D featuring the 790GX chipset, supports DDR2-1066 or DDR3-1333 RAM. It is also capable of supporting socket AM2+ processors with DDR2 RAM. Moreover, the 790GX-8D allows overclockers to increase the RAM frequencies at any time using an onboard control dial. Users can even erase the CMOS RAM with the touch of a Reset button or switch into power saving mode by pressing the "Green Power" button. The board offers two PCIe x16 slots, two PCIe x1 slots, and a vanilla PCI slot.
    As for the P45-8D, this motherboard makes use of Intel's P45 +ICH10/ICH10R chipset and supports Intel's 45nm and 65nm Core 2 (Extreme) processors. The board has one PCIe x16 slot, one PCIe Gen2 (1x16) slot, one PCIe x1 slot, and three vanilla PCI slots. The P45-8D should be widely available already, while the MSI 790GX-8D AM3 child is still unavailable.
    MSI nicknamed the boards - "Memory Lover".

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Tom's Hardware
     
  2. theorw

    theorw New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    771 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Athens GREECE
    The left mobo is really not suitable for aftermarket coolers...I mean what kind of cooler would fit between the rams and the vr heatshink??
     
  3. TreadR New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    79 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    It's kinda a cheap idea... what would happen if someone would populate both DDR2 and DDR3 parts?

    Since both of them have 240 pins of the same size, removing the physical separator and adding markings for where the actual separators would be would result in a 2 in 1 concept. Then with a switch like method changing between one or the other... I think that would have been a more "user friendly" approach with more space.

    But with the low advantage that DDR3 offers over DDR2 at present time, I don't see the benefit.
     
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I think they should've just put 4 dimms. Two DDR2 and two DDR3. There really isn't a point in having 4 dimms anymore since 2x2 kits are so damn cheap nowadays.
     
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,999 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,635
    Ultra 120 from Thermalright
     
    CheetoLover says thanks.
  6. jcfougere

    jcfougere New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    49 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Canada
    They are kind of late with the offering, Asus released a DDR2/DDR3 combo board for P35 in 07...P5KC.

    I admit, I haven't had need for DDR3 yet, but I was so devastated when I bought my s939 and then DDR2 became mainstream, that I didn't want to buy a boad that would be left in the dust again. Needless to say DDR2 is still a far better alternative to DDR3, but I like having the option to switch if indeed they make DDR3 with better timings.
     
  7. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    "taste the rainbow"
     
  8. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    Damn those are ugly boards. I might even try to chew the power cable off if i woke up and found one of them next to me!
     
  9. Apocolypse007

    Apocolypse007 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    615 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    New Sewickley, PA
    I would much rather see an x58 board with support with both types of memory. Would make it much easier to upgrade. Or does Core i7 not support DDR2 at all?
     
  10. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    With the Core i7, Intel finally adopted the idea of an integrated memory controller that AMD has had since the K8 architecture. Although, they certainly seemed to do a good job with it, as their first attempt let loose a stable, triple channel controller.

    Therefore, it is no longer the northbridge that dictates the type of memory that can be used. I believe this will be the same for the Core i5, but only with a dual channel controller, like AMD.
     
  11. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    hmm effective use of real estate there. Why can't they just dump the ugly long desktop mem slots and offer 8 SODIM slots, that will reduce some clutter.
     
  12. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Then we will all bitch about how it uses sodimm and that they could have used the desktop ones.
     
  13. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    nice from msi , but there is something wrong in 790gx design which is you can't use big cooler when you use first solt's of ram's
     
  14. CheetoLover

    CheetoLover New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    146 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    yup, exectly, any of the ultra coolers from thermalright would fit, i got an ultra90 with a 120mm fan on it :)
     
  15. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    Unless you're running autocad or photoshopping extremely big images you don't need any more than 4gb. I've been there myself... I bought an 8gb kit and just sold 4gb because I didn't even use 4gb of the 8.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,662 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    LoL you have almost the same Ava as Wizzard one of our Admins :laugh:
    Also this is just like the M4A79 board from Asus.
     
  17. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Yup, the P35, best AMD chipset ever...

    Because memory controllers can't handle that, unless you use registered memory. Nowadays they already have issues with two modules per channel, so forget about four.
     
    suraswami says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page