1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI Unveils its R4870-T2D1G Graphics Cards With 1 GB GDDR5 Memory

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 17, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,224 (11.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    MSI, a leading manufacturer of computer products, proudly unveils its latest R4870-T2D1G graphics cards for the game enthusiasts. It comes with the 1G DDR5 memory which enables users to enjoy the DirectX 10 high-capacity 3D games easily and smoothly.

    This high-end level graphics card is based on the latest 2nd generation of 55nm GPU. Integrated with the ATI PowerPlay power-saving technology, MSI R4870-T2D1G provides twice the performance enhancement with the same wattage. It conforms to the environmental energy conservation worldwide initiative with MSI (ECOlution) environmental protection theory of evolution objective. In addition, MSI R4870-T2D1G graphics card also has the advanced UVD 2.0 video decoder core, a built-in HDCP key encryption which supports Blu-Ray and HD DVD movie disc playback and make 100% complete hardware acceleration to the MPEG-2/VC-1/H.264 video format. MSI R4870-T2D512 supports the DirectX 10.1 framework of Windows Vista Service Pack 1 and offers 800 stream processors, which achieve the unprecedented levels teraflop (1000Gflops) computing capability. MSI R4870-T2D1G graphics card supports CrossFireX technology. Combined with CrossFire ready mainboard to enable 2~4 graphics cards to work at the same time; substantially enhancing gaming performance.

    [​IMG]

    1GB GDDR5 Superb Computing Capability
    The texture data of 3D games today is huge. In order to ensure excellent visual quality, R4870-T2D1G comes with 1GB DDR5 graphics memory, which eliminates image lag. In addition, compared with standard GDDR3 memory, the GDDR5 not only works under lower voltage and higher clock, but the wiring is also cleaner and simpler which can reduce the noise. These features can significantly enhance the 3D overall performance.

    The enhanced UVD 2.0 video decoder
    MSI R4870-T2D1G graphics card comes with the advanced UVD 2.0 video decoder, a built-in HDCP key encryption, which supports Blu-Ray and HD DVD movie disc playback and makes 100% complete hardware acceleration to the MPEG-2/VC-1/H.264 video format. These features significantly reduce the burden on the CPU and the UVD 2.0 can simultaneously decode two videos in PIP(Picture-in-Picture) Mode. In addition, MSI R4870-T2D1G graphics card supports 7.1-channel surround sound and can be transferred through a single HDMI connector output audio and video.

    Source: MSI
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2008
  2. snuif09

    snuif09 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    964 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    hoorn, Netherlands
    its unbelivible i already have an HD4850 and now i want a 4870 and i only have an 15" screen:shadedshu
  3. REVHEAD New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    300 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney/ Australia
    Lol, I think its called obsessive compulsive, I have 2x 4870s and now I want the 1 gig variants haha.
  4. Black Hades

    Black Hades

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    300 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Ambugaton
    What? Same cooling? Better to wait for the Powercolor 4870 then.
  5. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I thought the 4870s came with 1gb of ddr5? Damn am I behind.
  6. Selene

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    232 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I thought 1gig of GDDR5 with a 256 bus was a waste?
    I know all the cards that had GDDR3 and a 256 bus showed no improvments with 1gig vs 512mb, some even showed to be slower.
  7. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    I'd rather just get a 4870x2...its basically 2 of these anyway, if only I can find one :cry:
  8. R-T-B

    R-T-B

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    494 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    GDDR5 gives a lot of bandwidth, about the equivalent of a 512 bus with GDDR3.
    captainskyhawk says thanks.
  9. captainskyhawk

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    GDDR5 is so fast, it doesn't matter that it's only 256-bit. Look at the performance of this card at high resolutions -- it's just as good as a higher bus (like the one on the GTX280).
  10. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,999 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    I want to see some reviews with the 1GB cards but i can't seem to find any.
  11. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,846 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Florida, US
    isn't this 256bus not bad b/c it's not ringbus?
  12. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,224 (11.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    It's GDDR5. 256-bit GDDR5 = 512-bit GDDR3 (same bandwidth as). What's the big deal?
  13. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,440 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,200
    I read somewhere that high latencies (such as some DDR/DDR2/DDR3+) can really hurt a graphics cards performance. & since ram is getting faster & faster they are bound to run into problems where they can only run the ram as high as possible before overall performance starts to deteriorate.

    cant remember where i read this.

    +1 on the 512 vs. 1Gb argument - a lotta tests showed that having 1Gb intead of 512 will most possibly amount to a extra 1 or 2 fps. but it all depends on the game as some benchmarks actually dropped 1-2fps instead of seeing any benefit.

    its hard to decide how much is really enough & most average users think that bigger is better no thanks to the manufacturers who blow things way out of proportion like this.

    Unless you work for Walt Disney or Pixar Studios or any 3D animation studios that need to cache & render a ton of complex shit on screen, 512Mb is more then sufficient for todays standards even if you play Crysis non stop.
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    For the 512MB vs 1GB argument, the bus width doesn't really have anything to do with it. It's the processing speed that counts. Some cards just aren't fast enough to take full advantage of 1GB of ram. And although many current games don't show any real benefit, there are some that show HUGE improvements. PT Boats comes to mind. It all depends on how the game was coded.

    Now, to say it is a waste depends strictly on the card, it's intended uses, and the length of time you plan to keep it. The longer you plan to keep it, the better off you are going with the bigger frame buffer. Games are using more and more frame buffer as we move on. Having that little extra can mean the difference between running at medium settings, or running at high settings in some future games.

    I remember when the same argument was made against 512MB cards when 256 was the norm, then Quake4 came out and made all those pro-256MB people eat their words. Even the most powerful gpus at the time with 256MB of ram couldn't match the previous generation cards with 512MB at the highest settings.
  15. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,052 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    893
    screw you all with your 256 bit and 512bit bus, i want one of these and a 4870 x2 :p
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. WarFreak New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey, can anyone tell me if the 4870 1gig variant comes with a DVI to VGA adapter as i only have a VGA LCD and the 4870 has 2 DVI ports.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page