1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[FS/FT][US] MSI x58 Platinum SLI

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by shevanel, Nov 13, 2009.

  1. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    Yes this is the infamous "i only run in dual channel mode, ive been sent to MSI for RMA to only be returned in the same condition and MSI wants to do a 2nd RMA on me, motherboard"

    That's right, I RMA'd this because Bank 1 would not run any ram in triple channel. I sent to RMA and it came back and I have the same problem.. maybe my ram, I doubt it.

    MSI wants me to send back for a replacement.. but to be honest, I don't want to. I want it out of my life. There is NOTHING wrong with this board except it only runs in DUAL channel for me. Other than that, it is fast and furious. I run a 4ghz OC with HT on and it has not crashed once, not ever. (unless I was trying for more than 4ghz but i never wanted my vcore over 1.3v so 4ghz is what I get)

    I am open to trades.. I need a backup pcie GPU... that's about it really. I just bought a 3rd x58 board from Paulieg.. (1st never came, 2nd is this one.. 3rd is paulies)

    I'll post this now and see what happens over the weekend.. if no interest I'll just ship it to MSI after I get the udr3 up and when it comes back I'll re-post it.. if it doesn't sell then I'll just save it for backup.

    Like I said, it runs great, just no triple channel.

    $95 and it's as is Trade to daedhelious pending

    [​IMG]

    as you can see up time has been over a day and it doesn't just idle.. it's solid.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2009
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  2. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    bump
  3. qiaowenqian New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    101 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    thats a great deal for a working mobo
    shevanel says thanks.
  4. Homeless

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,025 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    USA
    If you rma it and it does work in triple channel, i'd be all over that
    shevanel says thanks.
  5. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,130 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    shev is a great person to deal with- dont miss out
    shevanel says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    Then it'll be $145
  7. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    2gb of ram in an i7 :eek: ive never seen that. anyway at 95 is a hell of a deal so you get a bump
  8. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    well i'll get more ram for my system once i get everything sorted. but when the gigabyte from paulie gets here ill be able to have 3gb..

    but before a ram upgrade I'm going to have to get a new gpu to replace the 8600gt... 3gb will have to suffice for now.

    even with two i never really go over 1.65gb used.. but then again I am not playing something that uses a ton of ram, my game selection has been HL2 mods and quake 3 lol..

    but when bad company 2 comes out you better beleive I'll have something stout.
  9. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    ttt

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page