1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI X58A-GD65 FSB not-variable

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Locksmith, Feb 21, 2012.

  1. Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Bolton, England.
    Been Clocking this board a while at 4Ghz, you can probally see in my specs, anyhow to the point, cant seem to keep the fsb set in bios, used the jumpers set at 200, this allows me to adjust above 200 no probs. But to set lower it wont, it just reverts to 200, so i presume jumper over-ride.
    So i set it to 166 on jumper and try to set at 190 in bios, it wont. reverts to 166

    all im tryining to do is run my ram just lower than 1000Mhz because of ratios and the likes i set the fsb at 166 then clocked up the X on the cpu to 24x then i get about 995Mhz on Ram side, but the cpu is only 3.997Ghz and im after a 4.2 - 4.5 Ghz

    im stumped to why i cant set fsb with bios/ or am i missing some major point of why i cant.. erm :banghead:

    edit : currently reading about x58 oc in forum tut, but no wiser yet on issue

    edit : so its not practical to multiply high with cpu with a low bclk like im doing, it will oc more,,, errm interesting wondered why the temps where higher but i had to lower the volts to cpu... interestin !


    interesting read the x58 doc, its been a while since i brushed up on hardware bus's.

    i cant even get fsb over 200 just wont lock to anything but wot the jumper set it as..
    googled, read posts on here from searching and also other forums OC and the likes..

    im stumped.
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2012
  2. Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Bolton, England.
    does anybody know anything about this ?? wont lock fsb in bios, only jumpers.. latest bios installed

    or is there only me that owns this board, lol
  3. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Remove jupers, set in bios, this isnt 1999
  4. Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Bolton, England.
    haha 1999

    your helpfull,,,, not
  5. Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Bolton, England.
    read my post it says about the jumpers, if i set bla bla..

    stop smokin all that herb and read it, i know all about jumpers and 1999,, space 1999
  6. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Dude, you basically answered the whole thing for yourself. You cant set fsb in bios because youre using the jumpers.
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Even though it was rather blunt, I do tend to agree. How come you can't use straps to overclock up to 200 bclk traditionally instead of jumpers?
    Locksmith says thanks.
  8. Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Bolton, England.
    you cant remove a block of jumpers m8, also u cant set them off, u have a asus board, does that have same jumpers and same bios, no.
  9. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    You don't have to be a cunt, I actually took time to reply. Be a little more respectful.

    /good luck with your overclock
  10. Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Bolton, England.
    im askin for peeps with same board, you aint.

    where was asus in 1999

    u say repectfull , and u call me a cunt.. roflmao,, lol wot a dick u are
  11. Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Bolton, England.
    laters Forum, i dont need this, plenty more forums with peanuts on it like this chap.. bye all,, was greet being here,, short lived..
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Was this aimed at me? I am trying to be helpful and you keep shutting me down. So you're saying that when you set 100bclk you can't do traditionally overclocking?! :banghead:

    Do comparisons for me with your ram set to 1600 cl9 with same cpu clock speed, may not make a difference or very little.


    Later! :toast:
  13. Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Bolton, England.
    never seen your post m8, only his, i was posting, and it was aimed at her.
    ram set at 1600 now. fsb back on 200, it only sets as jumpers set it, i presumed if jumpers was set at 166 then i could set bios lower or at 166, and if 200 i could set it lower or at 200, same goes for 133, but it wont let me even do this,, like i say :) vairable,, cant
  14. Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Bolton, England.
    LOL , that was a joke... lol

    holland , herb,, haha,, joke.. wtf
  15. Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Bolton, England.
    btw nothin in bios about jumpers,,, 133 or 166 or 200, 3 jumpers
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Please stop, ignore mudkip for now. I am looking into this as we speak. May take me a moment.

    OK; try jumpers set to 133 with your dram speed strapped to 1333 with QPI nudged down 1 multiplier (for now) and start bringing up bclk. I want to just see how far you can get without a no post situation.
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2012
  17. Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Bolton, England.
    thanks,, ive had this board a while, just never OC'ed before, BF3 needs a tweak, runs way better with Ram on 2000 but got bsod a lot, i did tweak Volts and the likes, but only Ram bsod'ing it, cpu no bsod runn at 4.2 now and ram on 1600.

    ive been a computer nerd since 1980 , so all this isnt new to me, lol

    just find it strange why i cant use bios and not jumpers.. :roll:


    your post above:

    i cant take bclk all the way to 200 no probs with jumpers on 133, bclk wont go past 133, i can set it in bios, but it just reverts to 133 as jump is..
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I see. Best thing to do right now is to open a ticket with MSI. The jumpers are there only for ease of use, and from what I am seeing, can't just disable jumper bclk settings. May even be down to just flashing the latest bios if you haven't.

    EDIT:

    Also, where did you see/hear about 2000 dram speeds helping in BF3?!
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2012
  19. Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Bolton, England.
    have the latest bios flashed, did this about a month ago..

    for info purposes for dudes with this board i have it set like this and it works flawless and mega fast.
    read up on the unratio +1 and using it with great results.

    I7 (950) socket 1366 (3.06Ghz) with MSI X58a-GD65 and Corsair CMT6GX3M3A2000C8 3X2Gig

    bclk 200
    ratio multi 21
    this gives 4.2Ghz
    Mem ratio 4
    1600
    Uncore 9
    3600

    Cpu volt correction + 0.270 droop low
    Dram Volts set as my memory specs to 1.65
    Ram Timings 9 9 9 24 & tRFC 103
    rest set on auto for volt tweaks, qpi , bla bla all auto, i just set cpu(v) and Ram(v)

    All this as PC running Fast and stable,, was hoping for some more ddr power i.e 1800 but can only achieve this with a 166 bclk

    i am pondering about maybe the 133(default) jumper setting is not limited,, will check now.. see if i can push it over 133.
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Never realized how fast your uncore can go. Wish I had some actual hands-on experience with your board.

    Yeah exactly what i was saying before. Just want to see if you can do that.
  21. Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Bolton, England.
    still reverts to 133, set at 133, when i change to 135 or 140 or 200, ive set it back to 200 with jumper, all this for a 190, its mental.. then i would get my ram speed from the bclk set as 5 and 10 i would achieve just under 2000 on the ram and it would be much more stable,,

    just did another bench with ram on 1600 with heaven when i post it in the thread it was set at 2000, i scored in total 10 less at 1600.. thats tiny diff for such a change in ram speed i think, so i would conclude from this that it aint going to make much diff for me, just now its the point of well this board should let me set it as i like and it should... lol
    i cba with msi and tickets , id drather stick with as is than rma, means being left with no desktop while it rma's.. owch , but but, bios flash should fix this.
  22. Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Bolton, England.
    ":rockout: Loving the latency..... :) at 1600" pic

    by the way my plan was... 190 bclk then mem ratio set at 5 and unratio at 11

    not so stable with BF3 with 200bclk and 5 and 10uncore

    with as is at 1600 BF3 stable, when hammered for 5 hours or more,,

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 22, 2012
  23. Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Bolton, England.
    bf3 the oc stability tester, :) ~Thank You for your Help JrRacinFan

    didnt mean it all for 2000 helping in bf3, more of a it crashs at 2000 a lot, like within 1 min to 10 minutes at 1600 its perfect so i was going to play with it all, and try the 190bclk and see how she goes then.. was using it as the crash tool for 2000, you could say
  24. Locksmith

    Locksmith

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    142 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Bolton, England.
  25. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Did you see the beta BIOS?! I wonder if that will change anything.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page