1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Multiple hdd's, 1st drive(O.S.), 2nd Programs and such.

Discussion in 'Storage' started by iCadaveR, May 21, 2012.

  1. iCadaveR New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    24 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey guys. Not sure if im posting in the right place but. here's my dilema. As the thread title states i have Multiple hdd's, 1st drive(O.S.), 2nd drive Programs and such... I'm wondering if lets say i clean install my 1st drive(O.S.) with a different O.S. as in from vista ultimate 64bit to windows 7 ultimate 64bit... How can i salvage the programs that are on the 2nd drive??? is it possible and how would i do so(meaning do i need certain software)? Any help would be much appreciated. Just trying to save a little time on this... installing all the app's would take fooooorrrreeeeeeevvvveeeeeerrrr! :confused:
     
  2. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,419 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,259
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    For most apps installing on the same HDD as the OS, or on some other is completely the same: You would have to reinstall 'em after reinstalling Your OS in both situations.
    For those that would not require reinstallation after reinstalling OS - those would not care which disk they are on.

    So, pretty much the same s*** anyway You do it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. iCadaveR New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    24 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well thanks to the quick reply. Thats a bummer. I noticed some applications still ran but some didnt the last time i switched o.s. I was hoping someone has found a fix. Like maybe running an Index or something. Think any Registry app's might have any effect? or possibly setting the target on the .exe file?
     
  4. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,419 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,259
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    It possible to make some apps run without reinstallation by saving their registry entries from the old installation ad restoring them on the new one. But many require more than that.

    Although, it is theoretically possible to make any app work on a new installation by migrating some things from the previous OS installation. Yet, it usually takes tedious amount of work and time. This made worse by the fact that every app usually needs different things to be carried over - thus no "one size fits all". Believe me, reinstalling those apps would take much less time and work than trying to carry over. (read: salvaging - fooooorrrreeeeeeevvvveeeeeerrrr! x 9001)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. iCadaveR New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    24 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    lol... Aight then. Thanks for the input. Guess a fresh start is in order... when i dont feel like procrastinating. Info on the 2nd hdd is mainly just games and video editing software so shouldnt be that big of a deal... was just hoping for a 1 click fix if you know what i mean.
     
  6. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,419 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,259
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    Many older games don't really care where You run them from and if they find some registry entries and/or config files missing, they just recreate them. Steam with along with most of the games installed through it also doesn't care. Pretty much all MMOs don't care either. Usually, only games that care are those with draconian DRM - such games would start "squeal till Your eardrums shatter", figuratively speaking
     
    iCadaveR says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. iCadaveR New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    24 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  8. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,797 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    New York
    If you are using the upgrade feature to install windows 7 then it will have an option to keep your applications. Not all application are able to go threw the upgrade but most will. Remember tho you will have to choose that option during the upgrade process.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page