1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mushkin Redline DDR2 4GB...misery

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Paulieg, Mar 11, 2008.

  1. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Ok. Just got my DDR2 1000 Redlines today. For now, I'm going to keep it short and sweet, because I'm way too tired to go into detail. All I can say is that despite the assistance of gdogg (mushkin Rep), this has been one of the worst experiences I've ever had with RAM. I cannot get it stable on my IP35 Pro. This is with customized timings, recommended from gdogg.
    The best I can do is DDR2 940 with VERY loose timings, 2.1v and 1.48v mch. NOT EVEN RUNNING AT SPEC!!:mad::mad: I am very unhappy right now. I'll go into more detail tomorrow.
     
  2. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Sorry to hear that Paulieg! When you buy a premium product like the Redlines, they should at least work to spec! :shadedshu @ Mushkin.
     
  3. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,867 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,711
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    The redlines are pretty new also...I'm sure there is something you can do Paulieg, you've done well before, and I have faith you'll succeed again.

    I don't blame you for being dissapointed, and fighting something when you're very tired/exhausted is a very aggrivating thing, which I do find myself doing with PC stuff here and there. Just walk away from tuning it for now, and see if you can strike gold tomorrow man.

    If not post your results and pics here to share your experience, I guess the old saying goes, nobody can get the same results stands true here. Maybe Mushkin can replace them for you for a set they can verify will hit at least Spec.
     
  4. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I'm sorry to hear this man! I wish the best for ya! GRRR!
     
  5. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Good advice. I often tell people about the same thing. It's hard when it's you..:p This is exactly what I did...closed up shop and went to bed. I've contacted gdogg for any last ditch suggestions, and inquired about an RMA for a different set. I suppose I'm spoiled. I've built upwards of 50 systems, and have never had much problem getting any high performance RAM stable before. I have had issues with initial stability at times like everyone else, but I've always been able to get things going with timing and voltage adjustments. It's certainly not the case here. I've tried several different timing configurations and increases in both DDR voltage and mch voltage with no luck over DDR2 800 1:1. I hear so many good things about Mushkin. I'm hoping this all get's worked out. I'm going to play around with it again tonight, but I can't imagine what to do differently.
     
  6. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Sounds like you're having as much fun as i am with this Crucial kit lol. Bad luck all round!

    Strangely i'm stuck at exactly the same point. Roughly 900mhz with loose timings and high voltages.
     
  7. Hawk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    The Big Smoke, Canada
    Man, that sucks. I was really pulling for you and these modules. Hope you can get it sorted soon w/gdogg. I guess I'll just be holding off on 4GB kits (for now).
     
  8. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Well, I assure you that the ST's coming your way are VERY easy to get stable!!
     
  9. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    :D Can't wait!
     
  10. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    Before you rma, did they pass memtest at 800-900 mhz?
     
  11. Greg0101 Memory Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    119 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Ok, then it highly seem like the memory divider is not functioning like I pointed out.

    Did you increase fsb to 420 to compensate?

    Many have had problem with there motherboards and this kit. This is the first abit i've seen, but tRFC being set over 50 is important, maybe your board needs 60 I don't know.

    Since you've got 940 stable, its just like an Asus Maximus user who was stuck with 42 tRFC, until beta bios 1004 came out, now hes 1100Mhz 1.9v.

    You also can't adjust one of the most important timings on p35, performance level, so I don't know where this will be on your board.

    1:1.25 doesn't work, we've figured out, atleast not at this fsb speed. So lets try something.

    Drop fsb speed to default for your processor, see what you can do then.
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2008
    Paulieg says thanks.
  12. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    May I offer a suggestion? Maybe use memset and post the timings it finds? I'm curious as to what tRFC is set at.
     
  13. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    OK. I just stopped home at lunch. I haven't done anything yet, but I did find the following information on performance level with the IP35 Pro over at the Abit forums.

    "Performance Level is the memory ratio."

    2 = 1:2.00
    3 = 1:1.66
    4 = 1:1.50
    5 = 1:1.25
    6 = 1:1.20
    7 = 1:1.00

    Hope this helps Greg.
     
  14. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I installed memset a couple of weeks ago, but I get an error when I try to open the program. I'm going to try and reinstall it.
     
  15. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Oh, and it was a typo earlier. The stable settings were 960mhz. This was 1:1.2.
     
  16. Greg0101 Memory Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    119 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Can you look via memset, doesn't add up, you'd never boot with 2-4 perf level if its like any other p35 board.
     
  17. Greg0101 Memory Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    119 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Seem to confirm my thoughts about the divider, did you try dropping cpu multi and increasing fsb to 420 to give you just about ~1000Mhz on the mem?
     
  18. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Yeah, upon reading further, someone dismissed this. There is reference to trd and performance level.
     
  19. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    This is exactly what I'm going to try when I get home tonight...:)
     
  20. Greg0101 Memory Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    119 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Hope it works out. I'll try to find that guide your talking about. If I can connect divider with a performance level or tRD, it will be much easier to predict which will and won't work at different fsb speeds.

    edit

    Searching I think I found a new timing that was added in newer bios maybe?
    Read to Write delay (tRD_WR) , try 7-10,
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2008
    Paulieg says thanks.
  21. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I'll take a look at this setting tonight. PM sent with links..
     
  22. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago

    Is the error something about using normal size fonts? That was my problem.:rolleyes:
     
  23. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,867 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,711
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Hope you get it figured out Paul, I am egerly awaiting your results as I would like to get the 2x2GB mushkins if they can in fact easily hit 1100 on 1.9v consistently and they look very cool. Hopefully between you, Mushkin and gdogg can get this all sorted and have you running like a champ!

    I just purchased a second 2gig kit of the current G.Skills HZ's, which will treat me fine for now. I do have performance level on my DFI MB, along with a plethora of other memory settings (helluva OC board for a $150 P35). I'm sure I can hit 1100 with these (D9GMH's), but 1000, 4-4-4-12, 2.15v is treating me fine...I wanna tune but am gonna wait till I fill all 4 dimms (which I don't usually do for an OC system) and see what happens. I'll probably slack the timings to 5-5-5-15 to ensure stability and see where I can go!

    Keep us posted! :toast:
     
    Paulieg says thanks.
  24. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I'm still working on it. After TOO MUCH work, I've managed 1022mhmhz 5-5-5-12 1:1.2 on 2.1v. This has completed one pass on memtest86+. I'm going to try a bit higher now. I've never worked harder for an overclock in my life. I'm not sure I can totally blame it on the RAM. I think my board is VERY sensitive to timings. After testing tonight, I'll need to make a decision on whether to stay with this, or get a set of 4x1 confirmed D9's. I'll report back later.
     
  25. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I hope they work for ya! I know my board loves everything but heat... So i'm really looking forward to knowing what you think about them. The month is coming up really soon!
     
    Paulieg says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page