1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mushkin Support Thread

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Zebbo, Oct 28, 2005.

  1. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,105 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,629
    Hi,
    I'm looking at buying a used Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P and the seller also has Mushin Ram. He said that he had stability trouble with the two together (I don't know the model number but he said "Timings: 7-7-6-18 1600MHz" so it looks like 996601. Any thoughts?
     
    chicos13 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    If you test each stick by itself with MemTest at rated timings do you get errors?

    Yes you can RMA if the ram is defective, go here
    The only cost will be cost to ship the ram to us.
     
  3. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    With those timings the ram will be 996601.
    They should work in that mobo, did he have them in the outer ram slots? Correct settings?
    If they don't work correctly you can RMA them.;)
     
  4. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,450 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    534
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I just wanted to update Mushkin on their compatibility list. This RAM will run on the P5W-DH motherboard at close to it's DDR1000 spec. I installed it on my children's computer and it is running completely stable at DDR 960 IIRC (Im at work). This is in connection with an overclocked 800Mhz FSB E4600 Allendale that is highly overclocked.

    Hats off to you for such a good product that it works even when it shouldn't!
     
  5. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Hey, I just got those sticks in my M4A79T. I'm using the outer DIMM slots and they run at stock timings at stock voltage no problem. Although, moving to a reference speed of 300mhz made getting these sticks to still work at stock timings extremely difficult. I did manage it (because I'm awesome, ;)), but I had to hit home hard with advanced memory timings. One wouldn't have to worry about any of this overclocking with a black edition processor, though.
     
  6. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Thanks for the feedback. :)

    The biggest issue with that board is the TRFC does not go high enough for 2x2GB sticks, if the TRFC is left on auto you can get the ram to the 950MHz range.

    Yeah things get really wonky at those kinds of speeds, great job :toast:
    and your right, a Black Edition CPU would not have those issues.
     
    devguy and Fitseries3 say thanks.
  7. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i just purchased a kit of 998692

    can you verify which IC's they have?

    im thinking elpida BBSE but hoping for BASE(aka hypers)

    thanks in advance. this is my first kit of mushkin ever.
     
  8. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Unfortunately, it is against company policy to discuss ICs
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  9. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    no problem. i completely understand. ;)
     
  10. Mvgratz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Florida
    I have a question about my Mushkin Redline ddr3 model#998692. I've got the 6gb kit on my evga x58 le mobo and love it. Really fast ram! My question is this, what is the "maximum" recommended vdimm for these ram sticks? I know 1.65volts is the "norm". But for oc'ing what would you sugguest is the max safe voltage? I don't want to fry my memory but I'd like to get my cpu oc'ed a little higher than it is while trying to maintain the 6-7-6-18 timming's. I get bsod'ed at about 1620mhz with 1.65 vdimm. If it matter's I have an aftermarket memory cooler sitiing over them with 2x 60mm fans keeping them nice and cool. Thanks in advance.
     
  11. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    1.65v is the maximum safe memory voltage on the X58 platform. Using a memory voltage higher than 1.65 will eventually kill your Core i7 processor.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Jordan MN
    That is not true, you can boost your memory past 1.65 as long as it stays within .5 of the QPI Voltage an an example would be if you QPI is at 1.250 your Dram could be at 1.7 as 1.250 plus .5 equals 1.750 and is within the .5 range of safety for your CPU. It must be remembered though as with all overclocking you do this at your own risk, it will void most warranties I am now running at 19*205 for 3.9GHz and my redlines are at 1640 with 6 7 6 18 timings at 1.64 Dram voltage
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2009
  13. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    The maximum voltage for this kit is 1.65V, anything beyond that is out of warranty. If you do go higher than 1.65V, don't tell me.
    Higher memory voltage is not always the key to higher memory clocks, my kit for example hates anything over 1.60V, even at rated timings and frequency. The key to high memory clocks with x58 is usually CPU VTT. ;)
     
    MetalRacer says thanks.
  14. Mvgratz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Florida
    Thanks for the replies. I'll just go to watercooling gear I just bought and try a little more vcore or cpuvtt. Since this is not the first time someone has made the comment that their Muskin ram liked less than the rated/recommended vdimm I guess I'll have to do some testing at lower voltages. Funny, I've never had to "undervolt" ram to get it to overclock better. But heh, this is my first experience with Mushkin so I'll keep an open mind and try it out.
     
  15. Mvgratz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Florida
    :banghead:After 8 days of screwing around 10-12 hours a day with these ram modules and having numerous x58 mobo oc'ing pro's/guru's help me with my bios templates I've came to the conclusion that my ram is what is holding me back from anything over 4.214ghz on my cpu. The ONLY way I was able to go this high was to loosen my ram timmings to 8-8-8-20/ @1.65vdimm. I've tried every voltage tweak and even down to try to get them to pass linx or prime blend test at their 6-7-6-18 specs @1600mhz and they simply will not do it. I have numerous member's on the evga 4.0+ghz stability i7 oc'ing club that have the exact same problem with these ram modules. Vdimm and vtt are not the issue as I have pushed both and every other voltage or setting combo both up and down to the max/min safe limits. Guess I'll just have to trade up to the even more over-priced dominator 2000mhz modules. Not a happy camper for $212.99.:mad: I wondered why my mobo company doesn't list this companies ram in their mobo's compatibility lists. I guess because it's not, or at least not 100% "compatiable" at spec settings.:shadedshu
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,807 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,189
    Hello Sean! I'm wondering if you know if these Redlines (996805 - 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 PC3-12800 6-8-6-24) Link:http://www.mushkin.com/Memory/Redline/996805.aspx would work allright with an AM3 system?

    It is just what I'm looking for, I suppose my only concern (I have limited knowledge with subtimings and I could just be plain wrong alltogether) is AMD is limited to a lower Bank Cycle time and may not go as high as these sticks would like. Your help is appreciated, thanks. :toast:
     
  17. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    I just saw this thread for the first time and want to tell you it puts Mushkin up one in my book for taking the time to be involved like this. :toast:
     
  18. Broom2455

    Broom2455

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    153 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Polk County FL
    Sean,

    Bit of advice required, is there any mushkin ram you would recommend for a Asus Striker II NSE (nvidia 790i chipset). Sitting here with 2GB of OCZ Gold DDR31066, and they are not very friendly:banghead:

    Thanks in advance:respect:
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2010
  19. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Where as I can't answer your question erocker specifically, I did get a 3x2GB set of those for my i7 set up. Considering I don't really OC much, got this running with some nifty features in my BIOS. http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=997611

    Edit: And its running that ram speed at stock volts from the XMP Profile :)
     
  20. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    The simple answer is no, not at this time.
    The AM3s don't do well with this type of low voltage memory, on the 1:4 (DDR3-1600) multiplier the best they generally do is CL8.
    They would work better on the 1:3.33 divider, not sure if they will get to CL6 though, I have not had a chance to test this kit on AM3.
    Hopefully the mobo makers and AMD can work out this tuning problem in the near future.

    The kit that you want for 790i is the 996657 kit ;)
     
    erocker says thanks.
  21. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    just wanna say thanks mushkin.. i LOOOOOOVE this ram...

    [​IMG]
     
  22. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Thanks to Sean and Mike, got me a single 2GB module of the 998805(996805 if you get the 4GB set) so I can run 4x2GB on the P55 FTW. Both were great to deal with.
     
  23. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Glad to hear you're getting your new stick! :)

    Sorry for the delay.
     
  24. Hunt3r

    Hunt3r

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    355 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil - São Paulo
    Which company delivers memories of mushkin for Brazil?
     
  25. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page