1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mushkin Support Thread

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Zebbo, Oct 28, 2005.

  1. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Jordan MN
    I currently have Mushkin Redline ddr3 model#998692, I want to go to 12 gig but need the thinner non- heat shield sticks so i will not have the 6 sticks to close together what is the current part number and where can i get them so they are compatible with what I currently have installed
  2. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    Actually.. i have 6x2gb of the 998692's and they work fine on most of the motherboards i have used them on.

    evga x58 classified series
    asus p6t6/p6t7 and rampage series
    gigabyte x58s

    i cannot comment on others however.
  3. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    If you can find a set of 998692 or 998691 either will work with your current memory, 998691 is the same except it has the smaller Frostbyte heat spreader.

    If you need to get a new kit the 998805 kit will work, but you'll need to go with the 6-8-6-24 timings.
    Super Sarge says thanks.
  4. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Jordan MN
    Just for fun I tried running my current Redlines at 6 8 6 24 and windows would not start
  5. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Jordan MN
    So I get this right the 99805 will work with my current 998692 if i set the timings at 6 8 6 24
    I thank you I really want to run 12 gig of memory and add to my current red lines which are 998692 sticks. I wish i could find the 91 or 92 sticks but everyone seems to be out of stock
  6. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Jordan MN
    Mushkin Sean
    Why can I not set my redlines 998692 at 6 7 6 18 1453MHz Asus P6T V2 board set to 21*145 Dram voltage at 1.24 CPU Voltage at 1.01875 QPI/dram Voltage at 1.20625. Windows just loops at start up if I set the timings at 7 8 7 19 everything works fine. I just want to know for my continuing education about computers
  7. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Probably isn't booting since you have the DRAM Volts too low, like most ram set for i5/i7, the min volt spec is 1.65, so you should start with that and go up. Heck my 998805/998605 set clocks best using 1.68v. Might want to boost the VTT up a bit too. My sticks use 1.35VTT when I set the XMP Profile on.
  8. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Jordan MN
    The funny thing is I run it at this same setting when use 19*205 1603MHz memory 1.64 Dram and 1.20625 QPI Dram and CPU at 1.20000 with no problems
    If I use 21*145 CPU voltage 1.01875 and QPI/DRAM voltage at 1.20625 1453 MHZ timings set at 7 8 7 19 every thing runs great but if I use 6 7 6 18 I get to Windows Boot screen and it loops back to starting over. I just would like to know for my own personal edification why

    I found the reason there appears to be a Hole in trying to use Settings of 6 7 6 18 on a 21 Multiplier Everything works fine using on the other multipliers of 19 and 20 if I use 6 7 6 18. On a 21 Multiplier I must use 7 8 7 19 you cannot even see a performance difference.
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2010
  9. GeorgeWChubby New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Great thread!

    I have a question for you guys.
    I have 6 gigs of the Blackline model 998677B, and I need a mobo to go with these RAM. I've been looking at the GA-X58A-UD3R and the P6X58D Premium, and I'm just not sure which one to go with.
    My question is two-fold. 1) Are there any compatibility issues between the RAM and either of the mobos? 2) Which one should I go for?

    Thanks!
  10. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Jordan MN
    I would look at an ASUS Board such as P6Tdeluxe V2 or better
  11. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    GA-X58A-UD3R is your best option. i have one and its great. works fine with both my kits of mushkins.
  12. GeorgeWChubby New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Found this one on offer, so grabbed it. Thanks for the help!
  13. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Jordan MN

    Sean based on your recommendation I am going to get the 998805 since you say they will work with my 998692 sticks I currently have and My timings currently are 7 8 7 19.
    The reason for this is I have found there must be a hole when using the 21 Multiplier as I cannot even get W7 to boot using the 6 7 6 18 timings increasing voltage and QPI does not help
  14. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Sounds good, let me know if you need any tips setting them up. :)
    Super Sarge says thanks.
  15. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Jordan MN
    Thanks, I just placed the order with Newegg today 05/12/2010
    Just how good is Mushkin in responding to the mail in rebate that was part of the purchase
    Mushkin Enhanced Redline 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR...
  16. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Jordan MN
    I got my new 998805 and installed them along with the current 998692 I already had. As usual because of 21 Multiplier I use with a BCLK of 160 I cannot use the 6 8 6 24 timings I just boosted them one tick to 7 9 7 25 and everything runs fine.
    I did not get any paper work though for the mail in rebate what gives?
    Mushkin Enhanced Redline 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR...

    Sean One last question are these sticks supposed to run at 1N command rate, the bios in auto put it in 2T I manually changed it to 1 T
    Last edited: May 19, 2010
  17. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Jordan MN
    Sean with 6 sticks of memory in my machine 3 sticks of 998805 and 3 sticks of 998692 what should the QPI/DRAM voltage be for a ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 board
  18. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Jordan MN
    Sean what are the operating voltages QPI/DRAM for 998805 and 998692 I think you one sais it should be from 1.30 to 1.40 depending on various factors, is this correct?
  19. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Generally 1.325V to 1.375V is more than enough QPI/DRAM voltage for CL6 @ DDR3-1600. Some of the better CPUs are capable of doing it with less voltage.
    Super Sarge says thanks.
  20. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Jordan MN
    Thanks that is what i thought
  21. Octopuss

    Octopuss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    785 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Czech republic
  22. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    One has Ridgeback heatsinks, and the other has FrostByte heatsinks. Not sure if they're going to be as open to say which ICs are under each.
  23. Octopuss

    Octopuss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    785 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Czech republic
    The heatsinks are obvious. But since they come from different product line, I thought there might be difference.
  24. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Probably not a whole lot of difference to be honest. Ridgebacks probably have newer ICs. I'll let the rep chime in to see if he wants to disclose that much info.
  25. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    The only difference between these 2 kits is the heat spreaders. ;)
    It is against company policy for me to discuss what ICs are used.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page