1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mushkin Support Thread

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Zebbo, Oct 28, 2005.

  1. Octopuss

    Octopuss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    776 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Czech republic
    I don't care about the chips used all that much as long as the performance is good, which apparently is, according to Fitseries3 (or whoever it was doing the overclocking test). I only hope I won't regret buying 4GB instead of originally planned 8.

    Btw Sean I am from Europe and so far it almost seems like Mushkin isn't meant for our market, can you comment on that please? I have hard time finding a shop with them in stock. And most of american shops don't ship to Europe (and if yes, the shipping cost is like half the price of the memory itself) :(
  2. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    4GB is enough memory for most people, you can always get more if you need it.

    Yeah shipping from North America to Europe is expensive and can be a huge hassle.
    Just go to Mushkin Europe ;)
  3. Octopuss

    Octopuss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    776 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Czech republic
  4. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    :laugh: Google translate ftw...
    Those modules are only available in Europe and yes it's just for looks.
    mjkmike says thanks.
  5. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Tatty_One and DannibusX say thanks.
  6. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Damn, might just have to break out Photoshop for this. It's been a while.
  7. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,030 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    Location:
    Louisiana
    XP2 8000 Redline and P5Q Deluxe

    Is this memory compatible with the P5Q Deluxe? Also, if it is, what about running 4x2gb? I know I'd need more juice to the northbridge, but if I relaxed the timings a little would it do 8Gb like that? I have a choice of doing it with these or 8Gb of pc-8500 Blacklines. My 2x2 blacklines right now are perfectly stable at 1084 using settings I found on the mushkin forums. I'm not sure I want to give that stability up, but I'd like to rock 8gb. Would the redlines have the greatest chance of running at ddr1000 like their spec, or would I have to cut them back to ddr800 like I would have to do to the blacklines? Thanks!
  8. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Yes the Redlines will work in your P5Q and you can run 8GB worth, but you may need to reduce the memory frequency to obtain stability with 8GB.
    As you already have 4GB of the Blacklines you are probably best to just get 4GB more of the Blacklines.
    The Blacklines are rated higher so you are more likely to get a higher frequency with them.
    rtwjunkie says thanks.
  9. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,030 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Thanks Sean. I just hope I don't have to back all the way down to 800Mhz!
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I just bought a set of 998805's for my 980X in a Gigabyte X58-UD5. It hangs on either the C1 post code or bf. According to the poist codes I looked up, that's mem related.

    I tried each stick in each slot one at a time with no luck. Tried numerous cmos resets, and even pulled the power and battery over night.

    This is my first foray into i7, so are there any other tips I can try?
  11. i3uu New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    117 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I have a question, are the rebates trustable?

    And do you have any deals going on for 4gb of ddr3 ram?
  12. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Did you get the system to start?

    As long as you meet all the requirements you should have no trouble with the rebates.
    Lots of deals on 2x2GB kits ATM
    Computer Hardware,Memory,Desktop Memory,Mushkin En...
  13. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Keep in mind you have to follow the instructions to the dot or you'll be denied your rebate. Sometimes rebates will be denied even if you do everything right.
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    No I have not. I have a stick of value ram coming to see if it's a compatibility problem. Shuld be here tomorrow. The big problem is, I just don't have any extra 1366 stuff laying around. It's all DDR2 and 775.
  15. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    It could be that the mobo just needs a BIOS update, hopefully you'll be able to get the BIOS with the value stick.
    Have you checked to see if you have any bent/out of place pins in the CPU socket, or if the CPU cooler is causing problems?
    Do you get the same symptoms if you try to start the mobo outside of the case?
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    No bent pins, pulled the CPU 3 times to double check pins, seating, paste spread and cooler seating. Tried 3 different video cards, 2 psus. Tried with only the cpu, mem and gfx card in place, and nothing else, not even the usb header hooked up.

    And it's not in a case, it's on a Techofront tech station. Tried it off of the station as well.

    Doesn't work with the value ram either. I think it's BIOS, cpu or board related. Wish I had another 1366 cpu to test with. A 920 would be perfect. Gonna make my own thread about it, and not clog this one up.
  17. Octopuss

    Octopuss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    776 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Czech republic
    Hi again. After some thinking I decided to give AMD a shot after several years, and would like to know if either of these modules is suitable for AMD-based system:
    http://www.mushkin.com/Memory/Ridgeback/996826.aspx
    http://www.mushkin.com/Memory/Redline/996805.aspx

    Also, there was some talk about different modules with different timings and how some of them are noticeable better than others... Since Sean isn't allowed to speak about the chips used, perhaps someone else has some knowledge about that?... :) It's probably not very important since I do not plan any extreme overclocking, but potentially interesting anyway.
  18. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
  19. Octopuss

    Octopuss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    776 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Czech republic
    I am thinking about Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5 and AMD Phenom II X4 955.

    Can you explain the timings/frequencies for Intel thing please? I'm afraid I don't understand.
  20. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    This kit was designed to work on Intel 1156, on those boards the memory will easily do 6-8-6-24 1T.

    On AM3 this kit will do CL6 to about DDR3-1500, from there up CL7.
    Generally the DDR3-1600(x8.00) memory multiplier will not POST at CL6 with this kit, CL7 works fine. To get CL6 you would use the 1333(X6.66) multi and then increase the HTT(FSB) to increase the memory speed.
    Each new BIOS revision seems to help with memory clocking, so hopefully in the near future, clocking this type of memory on AM3 will be a lot easier.
  21. Octopuss

    Octopuss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    776 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Czech republic
    So would you recommend some other module?

    What do the timings the timings of some module depend on btw? Simply on chips being used, or there is some specific logic behind the exact numbers?
  22. MushkinSean

    MushkinSean Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    I would still go with those modules they have the most potential.

    The timings/frequency depends mainly on the chips used, but how the engineers tune the BIOS also plays a large role.
    DonInKansas says thanks.
  23. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,126 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    04578
    alright got an issue with these sticks.

    http://www.mushkin.com/Memory/Blackline/996677.aspx

    996677

    even at jedec specs of 9-9-9 for 1333 the ram fails in linX

    dropped ram to 1066 it still fails linX and other heavy loads fine for web browsing etc but as you can guess i didnt buy performance memory for web browsing.

    Wouldnt have been so bad but with a boot mgr issue i had to fix due to gigabytes bios the ram acting up is causing me a headache on the day my water cooling kit should have gotten installed.

    so maybe u can serve up some magic settings
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,941 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,335
    where you buy the ram from exactly?
  25. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,126 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    04578
    newegg

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page