1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My 12v rail says 0v?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by alexsubri, Feb 20, 2010.

  1. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    [​IMG]

    Is this correct guys? I know that 12v runs my graphic card's, BluRay, fans, etc. But why is it saying 0v?? Everything is running fine in my PC, no problems (as of yet..)?
     
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,257 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,597
    Location:
    Florida
    voltage read programs just arent that accurate. try using OCCT. or everest. though take the reading with a grain of salt
     
  3. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,172
    Does it say +12V when you use your multimeter on the yellow wires and a good ground?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Everything is running fine ATM
     
  5. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,858 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Get a DMM and check voltage between a black wire and yellow wire on your 24-pin MB connection, well really any yellow wire should read 12v iirc. yellow=12v, black=ground, red=5v, that's going off of memory..you won't get more accurate than using a multimeter that's for damn sure. Maybe update your MB drivers, enable ACPI in bios, ACPI 2.0 if ya got it, hell maybe update your bios too. Different programs will read differently for temps and voltages more often than not in my experiences. But in reality if your 12v was reading 0v, your PC wouldn't be able to run right now.
     
  6. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    That just means the program isn't reading it properly. If 12V was really @ 0 it would not power on.
     
    zithe says thanks.
  7. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    DirectorC beat me to it. :p
     
  8. Indra EMC

    Indra EMC

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Nagoya Hills
    Your voltage meter hasn't accurate, if your real 12V are 0, your PC cannot start.

    but since your PC are running correctly, you don't have any problem with your PSU.
     
  9. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Okay, thank's guys, what program is the best to read voltages?? I am a noob when it comes to power/psu/psi/etc
     
  10. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    As others have mentioned, OCCT and Everest can provide more accurate readings.
     
  11. Indra EMC

    Indra EMC

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Nagoya Hills
    The best and the most accurate voltage reader are Multimeter like this:

    [​IMG]

    that's never fail unless the unit itself are broken.
     
  12. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    lol I don't know how to use that thanks again :)
     
  13. 99vw New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    96 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    They are actually very easy to use. You just connect it to the positive and a negative wire and it reads the voltage.
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,370 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,673
    voltage reading programs arent just innacurate as this thread has stated: they're completely useless. Never rely on one, ever.

    Multimeters are piss easy to use. Buy one for $10 and read the manual.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page