1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My 1st Build :)

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by MitchMan31, Aug 10, 2007.

  1. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    its a one man band afaik, ive been in a few times just to pick up sata cables and other bits, the guys ok most probably just a one off mistake
     
  2. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Arrh fair enough.
     
  3. MitchMan31 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    86 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Ahhhh Thanks for the help mate, he's probably scared to answer the phone lol Anyway I'll think about getting that Mobo..... Speak to you later guys :roll:
     
  4. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    You're the fanboy...

    The X1950PRO stamps all over the 8600GTS, Synthetic benchmarks have become useless these days with the driver optimisations... :shadedshu
     
  5. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,157 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    instead of getting the Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe go for a Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe nForce 590SLI full Dual PCI-E x16 i had this board about 6 mouths ago its a good board the nForce 570SLI chipset hasn't go full 16x PCI-e speeds my mate has one if your goin to go intel the board i think you should look in to is ASUS P5N32-E-SLI PLUS nVidia 650i SLI some think like that
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2007
  6. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Mitchman, I would save a tiny bit more just to get a 8800GTS 320MB. Would do you WAY better.
     
  7. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    TK the X1950pro doesnt stomp all over the 8600gts or at least not all over mine unless mines special :wtf: i should no my last card was a x1950pro. ok i have to oc the snot out of my 8600gts to rival the x1950pro but it keeps up with it in all my games . however i agree with your comment below about saving the xtra for a 8800gts, really what i should have done but hey im not too bothered ill get one next payday.

     
  8. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,157 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    the X1950pro is crap only just bets the geforce 7900GT the 8600GT kicks it ass
     
  9. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    x1950pro is crap? i think you should do some homework mate the x1950pro is an excellent card and a 8600gt does not beat anythings ass :slap: especially not a x1950pro :slap:
     
  10. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,157 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
  11. MitchMan31 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    86 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Hi guys,

    I'm definitely confused about the graphics card I should get now.

    I've found a X1950 Pro card for £71 here: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=GX-063-OK

    Please can people straighten things out for me. I want a graphics card which can handle the games I have mentioned at a reasonable price and preferably run a game like BF2142 at Mild graphic setting...... :roll: So let me know which is the best Radeon or Nvidia. I Ideally want to spend around £150, so only compare Radeon and Nvidia Cards if they are of an equal price. Thanks :pimp:
     
  12. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
  13. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    No offence Dark, but I suggest that Mitch should go with the £70 Pro. Don't forget he'll be replacing it at a latter date (hopefully when DX10.1 & OpenGL 3 cards hit the market) and the Pro will easily OC with decent air flow in the chassis.

    For that price Mitch you can't go wrong, but it'd be a better idea to get the 512MB card.
     
    MitchMan31 says thanks.
  14. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    very little improvment with the 512mb as the ram tends to not oc as well as the 256mb will (same thing happened back in the good ole'days with the 64mb ti4200s beating out the 128mb versions)

    as for the mobo look into the evga 650i boards they oc very well and are user friendly to boot. go for the cheaper PRO it will have no issue in any of todays games it works plenty well and when you have the money upgrade to a newer higher end DX 10 or whatever M$ decides is the new load o shite they want to put out


    if you cal 2-7FPS stamping then yes your right man the 8600GTS gets killed from that POV too bad your eyes wont be able to see the difference :roll: now thats fanboism

    also read the WHOLE DAMN POST after i said it win in synths i also mentioned REAL WORLD BENCHIES
     
  15. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Fair enough on the OC malarkey, but it is still very capable of being pushed faster (if needed) and the extra 256MB will help with displaying higher quality textures. Something the 256MB would suffer at.

    Reason why the 512MB AGP version is able to rub shoulders with it's PCIe brethren. The even though it has a lower overall OC it still manages to keep up, with only a few frames difference.

    Full article here.

    Say Mitch wanted to play something like Dark Messiah which uses great looking high quality textures. An OC'd 256MB would work wonders but it wouldn't be able to cope as well as the 512MB with OC'd RAM speeds (albeit ~ a slower OC). The extra speed on the 256MB isn't going to help as much as the extra RAM would, and for £10 more I think that's the better option.
     
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    and this also all depends on what res gaming is done @ yeah you will get A LOT better FPS @1600X1200, but none @640X480 (no one games there i kno) i assume like most you are either going to play 1440X900 (widescreen LCD) or 1280X1024 neither of which cause a tremendous difference between 512mb and 256mb untill massive amounts of textures and such are added
     
  17. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    My point is... wouldn't it be better to have it if he is going to be playing at a higher resolution with the massive amounts of high quality textures. Plus we're only looking at £10 ($20) difference in price.
     
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    yeah i kow and i agree go for the 512mb card
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page