1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

my 3dmark06 score

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by savillm, May 28, 2007.

  1. savillm

    savillm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Exeter, UK
  2. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Like I said in the other thread, your system is a very, very bad bottleneck. Try 3dmark05 and see what you get.
     
  3. savillm

    savillm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Exeter, UK

    so whats the cheapest way to get rid of the bottleneck?
     
  4. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Overclock your CPU.
     
  5. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Get the AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ that you where asking in the other thread you made and OC it
     
  6. Exceededgoku

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    429 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Stamford, UK
    QFT, that single core is holding you back soo much its not even funny. You should get about 8000 with dual core and game performance will improve (and you can oc the X2 as well :))
     
  7. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    x2 3800 and overclock it to 2.8 and u will get arround 8.5 9k then
     
  8. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    187
    Location:
    Blighty
  9. savillm

    savillm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Exeter, UK
    but was it a good score for the set up that i got?
     
  10. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    x2 3600 is only $59, plus a good motherboard and you surpass what I have, check the system specs.
     
  11. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    nah man, gettin 6k with a 8800 is kinda sad imo. you definitely need some dual core power in there bro. Is your cpu oc'd at all??? you have a decent cooler so it should be good for around 2.7gig at least.

    Maybe try and pick up a 3800x2 or if you can afford it grab a opty 165. it will add heaps to that score of yours...

    What is your 3dmark 05 score, that will be ok with a single core cpu.......
     
  12. savillm

    savillm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Exeter, UK
  13. Lt_JWS

    Lt_JWS

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    913 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    I'd just overclock the CPU... those 4000+'s always overclocked really well in general, if your luck you should hit 3ghz+ :)
     
  14. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    have alook in my thread in sig, thats what you should be getting with a better cpu :cool:
     
  15. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    That's bad. An 8600GTS can do that. Overclocking that 4000+ will help, but you really need a total system upgrade to go with your very powerful GPU.
     
  16. mas0n New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    88 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    dallas
    A complete system upgrade may be a little much, I'd start by seeing what kind of memory bandwidth you are getting with 4 double-sided sticks of RAM on that board. I bet it is way low, probably running in single channel, at PC2700 speeds, and with terrible latencies.

    Personally if in your position I would OC that CPU as far as she would go, then sell all 4 sticks of RAM on Heatware or eBay and buy a 2GB kit so long as you can break close to even in that trade.

    You score way too low in 3dMark05. IIRC I think I score ~15K (been a while) and 3dMark05 is not only single threaded, but the CPU tests do not affect the overall 3DMark score like they do in 06.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2007
  17. i think you should oc that cpu a bit, my 4000 and 2x7900's pwn your system i know you can get what i'm getting and i'm not even getting that good of a score for todays systems

    [​IMG]
     
  18. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    It depends on how much he can get for that rig. An X2 3600+, a DFI INFINITY NF SLI-M2 motherboard and 2GB of DDR2-800 would cost about...$237 shipped from newegg. He should be able to get at least $130 out of his old stuff. So, for not much more than $100 he could seriously upgrade his computer. He already has the freezer64, so that X2 3600+ will hit 3.0GHz in all likelihood.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16813136021
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16820231098
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?item=N82E16819103046


    Now, he should certainly check his bios first to see if anything is running below spec. Get everest and post the results from memory read, write, copy and latency.
     
  19. KJ Guest

    my 06 score would probably be inbarresing low...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page