1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My 4870 stopped working

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Oriental Sniper, Oct 1, 2008.

  1. Oriental Sniper New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Alright so I'm safe for now, I will post anything if my video card works. :rockout:
     
  2. Oriental Sniper New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    erm guys, I recall someone on one of the replies, mentioned my card could had fried, how do I know if it's fried and where?
     
  3. bangmal New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    well if your card is "fried" you should hear the beeping sound instead, try at other pc
     
  4. Oriental Sniper New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi guys, I tested my card on another PC, the card has 4 LED's, and it showed 1 red leg light (bottom one) on this PC, it seems it needs more power, and I tried my card last night, the first time the fan ran 100%, then I noticed it wasn't tight the main heatsink, so I reseated it and fans went 100% and back normal (like it should do). I feel like the card is trying to tell me something. Can someone provide me any links about the LED's?

    I found info on these links:

    http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?p=1032682222
    http://www.geeks3d.com/?p=851

    It seems problems like this arises when you used the Acelero.
     
  5. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    HD4870 LEDs

    D1601 - Red LED On, shows critical temperature fault

    D1602 - Red LED On, shows External power connector A was removed

    D1603 - Red LED On, shows External power connector B was removed

    D601 - Red LED On, shows critical Core power fault

    usually when the computer boot up the all 4 LED comes on then the card will do it's internal check. If the certain component is having problem it leaves the red LED on. In your case, your card is fried becaused the VRM were not getting adequate cooling if at all... VRM controls the voltage..
     
  6. Oriental Sniper New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, so if my VRM is fried, it means my card doesn't know if its faulty or not? The light is D1603 on test machine. On my PC, no LED's are lit.
     
  7. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    if VRM fried 300 watts of electricity goes to the GPU and RAM at once.... = fried GPU and GDDR
     
  8. Oriental Sniper New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm requesting an RMA, do you guys know if they pay for the shipping back here?
     
  9. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    Some pays for international shipping some don't. Asus ships to canada for free... panama most likely not. Unless you are having someone in the states doing it for u.
     
  10. Oriental Sniper New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sorry to ask this, but when I request a RMA, who is going to replace my item? The shop or the manufacturer?
     
  11. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    how long ago did you buy the card ? the shop usually have 30 day warranty.
    After 30 days it's in the hands of the manufacturer. Getting it replaced by the shop is the prefered way. You never know how long it would take to get one from the manufacturer. Could be weeks or months.
     
  12. Oriental Sniper New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I had been using it for like 2 weeks, but it took more for them to bring it here. So the card had been bought for more that a month :cry:. How long does it normally take for the manufacturer to send it back?
     
  13. boogah New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    887 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Houston
    atleast 10 days + transit time unless you ask for an advance RMA in which they will send you a replacement first. But you will have to pay a deposit down for it and u'll get the deposit back when they received your defective one.
     
    Oriental Sniper says thanks.
  14. Oriental Sniper New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Dude, thanks (I gave you one) for helping me out, I would had been lost without you.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page