1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

my abit kn8 wont recognize the hdd

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by casums, Jan 19, 2007.

  1. casums New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    68 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    yay area, california
    i had a dfi lanparty ut sli 939 mobo, and it simply wouldnt detect the western digital caviar 160 gb sata hdd. so after trying everything everyone here and other forums said, i borowd my neighbors wd pata hd and tried it. it wasnt recognized either. i rmad through newegg and got the abit kn8 sli mobo which i was told was very good(since im not to advanced) now im having the same problem on the new mobo. wouldnt detect mine or my neighbors drives. :mad: help please:) asap thanks
     
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,177 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,663
    all connections are secured correct? the sata/pata cables are plugged in to there respective spots? your not using a sata power and a molex power on the sata drive are you?
     
  3. casums New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    68 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    yay area, california
    yes im am using both connectors on the sata drive becuause i was told that only using one will not power it up and 2 is needed and the hdd is plugged into sata port 1
     
  4. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,177 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,663
    you have the sata power connector and the molex both plugged in to the same sata hard drive? if so that is not good at all,you can burn the drive up
     
  5. casums New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    68 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    yay area, california
    yes
     
  6. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,177 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,663
    not good:shadedshu
     
  7. casums New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    68 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    yay area, california
    ok at first on my other mobo i had this problem so some guy on this form named brother essau or something asked if i had both and i said no(only molex). and hes like ok theres ur problem right there no power no worky worky
     
  8. Kammster New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    188 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Guyana, South America
    Every drive in your computer must have:
    1. Data connection to motherboard
    2. Power connection to PSU


    You have to put hear and feel if the hard drive is spinning up ( turning on)
    plug it in using the specfic cables in your manual shows.

    if your board is POSTing most of problems are gone.
    you just have get it installed.


    Do you know how to boot using the windows cd?
    also does the drive need formatting?....windows cd can do this.
     
  9. casums New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    68 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    yay area, california
    no i know that much im not that big of a noob. i had the sata power plugged in and i started windows installation and it said it cant continue because it cant detect a hdd. so i asked what the problem was on this forum and someone said oo u need to have the molex and the sata power in at the same time. so i did that and it still didnt work. so no im sure that the hdd is dead and not even spinning up. so i think im going to rma it unless you guys have any other ideas.
     
  10. Kammster New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    188 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Guyana, South America
    yeah RMA it!

    only one power cable into a drive.
    if you don't have printed maunal for the drive.
    there should be a downloadable one from the manufacter
     
  11. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Does your BIOS recognize either HDD? Loading windows onto a SATA or RAID is a pain in the ass.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page