1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

my asus gtx 670 top wont post anymore :(

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Abdo shniba, Mar 6, 2013.

  1. Abdo shniba

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    104 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Update: sent to RMA<my asus gtx 670 top wont post anymore:mad:

    Hi Guys

    I was playing Dead Space 3 earlier and my PC got Stock and the screen froze, after I restarted the PC no image would appear and no matter what I tried nothing seemed to work, I tried to place it in the second PCI-E slot, cleared Cmos, switching to different video outputs,,,etc, finaly I decided to enable virtu mvb multi monitor and entered to windows with my iGPU "I have a 3570K" and checked with device manager and GPUz and only the intel hd 4000 graphics was available "no gtx 670" also checked the gpu it seems to work just fine the fans are spinning and the light are green just the normal, I've never had any issue with it before it was working like a charm,

    is my card dead, please help me guys :twitch::cry::ohwell:.

    Last edited: May 8, 2013
  2. adulaamin

    adulaamin

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    629 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Baguio City, Philippines
    You could take the card out and test it on a friends PC... That's what I would do... :)
  3. Abdo shniba

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    104 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    all of my friends have a crappy PCs with generic PSUs :( .
  4. adulaamin

    adulaamin

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    629 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Baguio City, Philippines
    Take out your card and your PSU, bring to a friends house, and use your PSU and card on their PC. :)
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,455 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    can you borrow a basic card to verify the slots are still functional? I mean anything, NIC, soundcard, crap VGA.
  6. Abdo shniba

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    104 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I'll ask one of my friends to borrow me his VGA and will see, is it possible for the card to be dead although it's fans spinning normally and the lights are green?
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,455 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    yup! Unlikely, but it can happen.
    Basically all the lights and fans mean is that they have power, not the PWM, core, or memory.
  8. Abdo shniba

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    104 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    can reinstalling \ updating the bios fix the problem?
  9. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,084 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    289
    Location:
    CZ
    If you mean the GPU bios then no because your computer must be able to find the GPU in order to flash it's bios. The mobo it could work but is very unlikely as the card just quit working with a bios that worked before. It's most likely dead.
  10. jangirke New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Reflashing might work

    Hi
    It's worth a try.
    Make a bootable USB stick with rufus (MSDDOS or FreeDOS)
    then get Nvflash and a new firmware.
    Save the old firmware and reflash it.
    Worth a try.
  11. Abdo shniba

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    104 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    how should I do that? the system doesn't recognize the GPU :confused:.
  12. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Don't flash your card, it has nothing to do with your problem. Try another card in your machine and subsequently try your card in another PC. I suspect a motherboard problem rather than the card suddenly dropping dead.
    INSTG8R says thanks.
  13. Abdo shniba

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    104 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I hope it's the MoBo as its way cheaper and I can afford to buy a new one, will an old radeon hd 4670 or gt 240 be good to try?
  14. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    484
    Location:
    Australia
    They will do fine to rule out your motherboard being the problem.
  15. Abdo shniba

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    104 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I called my friend, he will bring me his old HD 4670, so fingers crossed it will be the MoBo "never thought I would say this :)"

    I tried something else while I'm waiting for my friend, I sat the gpu to PCI-E in the bios, but the pc always boot with the intel built in graphics "3570K" I tried to place the vga on the first PCI-E slot and the second, no image would appear if I connected the dvi cable to the VGA but the PC start normally with out any error, when I disconnect the cable from the VGA and then blug it in the MoBo the image shows up, although I sat the video source to PCI-E, what does this mean? it's ike the VGA isn't there any more.
  16. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Honestly, this could be PSU, motherboard or VGA.

    If your friend's video card works then you can only rule out that your motherboard works.

    BTW, I had the same exact problem before and it turned out to be the motherboard PCIe.
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2013
  17. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    I'd say BIOS corruption on you Asus mobo.
  18. Abdo shniba

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    104 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I hope this is the case, as I have an extra bios chip ;), I'll update the post as soon as I get the hd 4670.
  19. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    742 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    just rma the damn thing don't waste time and energy and warranty in flashing
  20. Abdo shniba

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    104 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Asus RMA process is waste of time and energy too :cool:, don't you think ;).
  21. Abdo shniba

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    104 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I've tried my friend's hd 4670 and it worked right away, guess it's time to RMA the VGA then :(, thanks everyone for trying to help me, much appreciated.
  22. Kaynar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    615 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Have you ever monitored your GPU's temps while gaming? Maybe your card was generally defective and had too high temps until it finally burned.
  23. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    742 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    don't be honest, play stupid, i was honest once and the fuckers didn't rma it
  24. Abdo shniba

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    104 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    yeas I did, using GPU-Z the temps were always between mid 40s-mid 50s,

    I'll, thanks for the advice, just one question, will they call me? is it necessary? as I'm not in the USA "although I bought it from amazon" and I don't have a valid US number, I'll just ship it to them and will give them a friends address.
  25. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    742 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    No i don't thinks so, they never called me i'm from the netherlands i think they will call u when they can offer something better or refund, and if they call play again stupid, just rma it with reason like"i was gaming and all of sudden it crashed no image after reboot, drivers uptodate no oc" and it will be fine

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page