1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My ATI Radeon Card wont support Red Alert 3

Discussion in 'Games' started by the_punisher, Dec 2, 2008.

  1. the_punisher New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have a desktop having a 2.8 GHz P 4 processor , 512 MB of ram and a 128 MB ATI Radeon 9200 card. I got RA3 and when i installed and clicked on it to play, I got the message that, "U have to install Direct X 9.0c, have the appropriate display drivers or make sure that your 3D card is not disabled from your control panel."

    So the game did not run.

    I also have a laptop - cheap on. Having a 2ghz celeron processor and an SiS Mirage 3 graphics chip. and 1 GB of ram. My laptop ran RA3 without any problems and very smoothly also. :banghead::banghead:

    How do i get to run RA3 on my desktop??

    P.S. I have the latest drivers from amd installed. that is catalyst version 6.

    I downloaded the recommended version 8 from here but the software says that it found no hardware to update
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    your ATi 9200 is only a DX8 card
  3. the_punisher New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    k, but that should still be able to run RA3

    I have 9200SE, which is DX 9

    The card runs Tiberium wars perfectly and RA3 is based on the same engine as Tiberium Wars. The official forum said that any PC acpable of running TB will also run RA3
  4. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    No, it's not. The 9200 was essentially an 8500 card DX8 only. The 9600's are DX9.
  5. the_punisher New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    wow, that sucks.......

    ...

    ..

    That just proves how outdated i am :)
  6. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,309 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,336
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Even if it supports DX9, it may not support Pixel Shader 3.0 which a lot of modern games use.


    Just confirmed the above:
    I couldn't play a lot of games with my X800 XL because it didn't have PS3. :(
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2008
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page