1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My ATI Radeon HD 5450 Bricked.. PLEASE HELP!

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by anush3070, Mar 11, 2012.

  1. anush3070 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    After flashing my Graphic Card that is POWERCOLOR RADEON HD 5450 1GB DDR3 Graphics Card.
    It does not boot with it, so I am using Integrated Graphics.
    But When I tried that technique of connecting 1 and 8 point of the SPI, it still does not get detected in the ATIFLASH UTILITY. I tried atiflash utility from Dos and from Windows 7 DOS (BOTH) still cant get it working. Please HELP.
  2. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    please fill out system specs in your profile, so we can see what we are working with.
    this should be the data sheet for your rom chip, confirm you have the right pins.
    without knowing your motherboard & the Integrated Graphics I would say that you might have to use a pci vid card to do the job. Some MB's disable the pcie slot when using Integrated.
    Mohammed and anush3070 say thanks.
  3. anush3070 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Updated.. Please check and tell.. And I already have the datasheet.
    But I cant get it working, Since it still is not detected.
    Actually I flashed the bios and it was working but the third tab i.e. Additional Features in RBE had that overdrive settings and there I set the Regular Frequency as some 951/1153 whereas I had mine set to 650mhz and 400mhz after flashing with this config, the Graphic Card never booted up.
  4. anush3070 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Done.

    I worked on my graphics card on the basis of what you told i.e "Some MB's disable the pcie slot when using Integrated". So I put connected my VGA cable to my ati card and rebooted, I could not see anything on the screen but I had selected CD Rom as my boot deivice.
    Then when it booted up the CD, I saw DVD ROM light blinking then after all light got disappeared in DVD ROM and Hard disk, I typed the location atiflash utility blindly in the DOS and typed atiflash.exe -i. Then I switched my graphics cord to my IGP and then checked that the card was being detected.. :D
    I then plugged out that wire and flashed the BIOS accordingly.... !!!! NOW ITS WORKING LIKE CHARM :D.... THANKS MAN !!!
    Mohammed and AnimeshKashyap say thanks.
  5. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    GLAD :D to see you got it workin;)
    Welcome to TPU you'll find it a great tech info site all of the peeps here are always willing to help
    :toast:
    anush3070 says thanks.
  6. AnimeshKashyap New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Can you explain!!

    Hey please can you explain this step wise... I had the same problem when i connect my ati computer doesnt boot up and without the graphic card it boots up normally
    Please Please explain!!
    Thanks in advance!!
  7. Mohammed

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    258 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Hi anush3070

    please Can explain what did you do

    I have same problem with my graphics

    I have GT220 + 9500GT + HD 5670

    all shows no video

    I think BIOS problem not compatible


    Thanks bro
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2012
  8. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,566 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Start a new thread in the (Graphics Cards / AMD/ATI) section and explain what happened before your PC would not boot with the ati vga card installed and what it is doing now. [the instructions in this thread are for a specific card that was flashed]

    nb: fill in your system specs in UserCP when you are logged in

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
  9. AnimeshKashyap New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Law-II says thanks.
  10. unmidas_touch New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So I saw this thread when my HD 6450 wasn't POSTing (bricked) and was looking for a solution. this worked for me, so I will try to explain how to the best of my knowledge.

    OP says their HD 5450 doesn't work because they had a problem updating the bios. In this case they knew it was exactly their card that was the problem and that everything else was working fine.

    OP says they could only see the screen if they booted in integrated graphics, but then can't flash the BIOS on their graphics card because the card is not found. Based on the information that OP provided, it appears the motherboard they are using disables the PCI slots when integrated graphics are enabled.

    OP says they could successfully update the GPU BIOS even without being able to see the screen.

    The solution, in more complete form (no offense OP) if you have this problem: You can still boot with your PCI slot enabled, so that the graphics card is powered and recognized by DOS. The only issue is that you won't be able to see what you are doing. So if you have a motherboard that disables PCI slots when using integrated graphics, make sure you have the exact instructions for flashing your BIOS from DOS written down, keystroke-by-keystroke. Also make sure to watch the indicator lights on your boot device and system to know when it is booted, and if and when the system is working (if it doesn't have indicator lights, just be patient with it and give it some time to operate).

    edit: Oh, and make sure you enable PCI graphics in the (system) BIOS. I'm assuming you are reading this from integrated graphics mode.
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page