1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My Book World Edition

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by binsky3333, Jan 30, 2008.

  1. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Hi,
    I just a new WD My book world edition 1TB. I have multiple users using it and i was wondering if andyone knew how to partition it. It is a network drive so i am not sure how to partition it. Any ideas?
     
  2. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    What is the partition currently? Probably NTFS... Well to partition, get some tool Such as Partition magic, or Gparted, which is a free tool.
     
  3. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    It is NTFS but when i use that tool will i be able to partition it thourgh the network. It is setup as a network drive and is connected to my Router.
     
  4. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    You CANNOT partition through the network.
     
  5. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
  6. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    So can i partition it by connecting to my computer or taking out the drive and putting in my comp and partitioning it that way?
     
  7. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    My instructions:

    • Make the CD
    • Plug in Drive through USB / ESATA
    • Boot to CD
    • Partition drive to liking
    • Tell me it worked so I will be happy
     
  8. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Ok thanks.
     
  9. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Report back to me when your done... Don't forget to set the bios to boot to the CD drive first!
     
  10. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Instead of USB could i connect the enthernet cable from the My book to my computers ethernet and then partition it that way? The usb port it has is the kinda of port that you would find on a computer.
     
  11. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    [​IMG]

    Plug into that... ETHERNET WILL NOT WORK I HAVE TRIED. It will fail worse than epic fail.

    Edit: And I know epic fail...
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2008
  12. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    [​IMG]

    Will result in:

    [​IMG]
     
  13. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    It doesnt come with the right USB adapter you cannont plug it into the HDD and the computer. The point of the USB is to connect to routers that have a USB support.
     
  14. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Umm... then I don't think it is possible... but once again...

    Not gonna work over ethernet... You have to have a USB cable... you can take it to the store and ask for the correct cable.
     
  15. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Ok i guess i will do that.
     
  16. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    I have installed a similar network hard drive for my uncle. You don't make partitions, but make users accounts and each user account will have their own independent folder, which will act like a partition to the client (to each user).

    NDAS > NAS

    I got this ximeta NDAS storage, and it is flawless installation, and it emulates a local scsi hard drive, so you can actually make multiple partition. But the feature i like on the NAS is the usb ports, so you can make it a print server, or extend the storage (usually limited to 4gb and/or has to be fat32).
     
  17. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Nice idea... That might actually work. But one thing is that Fat32 is not used on the WD drives as the reason you listed... I forgot to mention that to him.
     
  18. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Yea thats what i did at first but then you could not limit the space.
     
  19. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
  20. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I see USB on the top most port... just the wrong way... thats USB A... DAMN! I don't understand.
     
  21. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
  22. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    As i stated, fat32 is only used when you extend the storage. You can plug thumb drives and other external usb drives, but usually they are very limited for some reason.
     
  23. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I don't think such thing is made, as that is a MALE A port to a MALE A port... which is not made... and if you pluged it in the wires would be switched around...

    Edit: I switched around the wires once BTW... gave the drive 5 volts wrong side, broke it got hot and died... It was a hot death.
     
  24. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    NO! you don't have usb transfer functionality on that NAS drive, you can only use for two things...

    1) Extend your storage to thumb drive or another usb hard drive

    2) use as a usb print server.
     
  25. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Ok then i guess this really is impossible and i guess i will just make folders for users.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page