1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

my brother flashed the wrong bios to his card

Discussion in 'RBE' started by maartenva, Nov 7, 2009.

  1. maartenva New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,

    my brother flashed his ATI HD3850 with a wrong BIOS.

    When I do acquire BIOS, it cant find any card. When I do a alternative BIOS extraction, I get that he flashed a HD4850 in it.

    I've got the original BIOS but not any of the tools recognizeses the card, so I can't select it to flash.

    Does anybody have an idea how I can resolve this problem?

    Thanks
     
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,714 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,234
    have you tried the -f command to force the flash? ?Just be sure you are sending this command to the appropriate card (IE 0 or 1 in the command line)
     
  3. maartenva New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've tried using the -f command. Winflash and other tool didn't found the card.

    But i can boot up windows but only in VGA mode
     
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,714 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,234
    using the card mentioned above, or does the motherboard have onboard graphics too (boot to VGA mode)?
     
  5. maartenva New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The pc where it is in now, doesn't have an onboard vga, but I do have an PCI vga card.

    I have an second pc and this one has an onboard ati card. problem is that it deactivates when you put in an other card.
     
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,714 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,234
    are you positive you are looking at ID 1 versus ID 0?

    should be able to boot with both as long as the bios is set to post PCI first.

    It is very possible that the flash to a 4850 made a paperweight of the card too:(
     
  7. maartenva New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    it's a miracle

    in some way i've managed the flash the card. Looks like it recognized the id.

    Thanks for everything

    toppic closed.
     
  8. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    allah loya praise the lord jesus christ amen brother!!!!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page