1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My Computer just turned itself off... o_0

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by WhiteLotus, Feb 24, 2008.

  1. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Yea so the title says it all! My computer just decided to turn itself off. no reason, no BSOD, just... off!

    random power spike or my PSU starting to fail me?
  2. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Check the event log.
  3. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    and where is that?

    as in what specifically am i looking for?
  4. «BladE|==| New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    97 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane
    First thing I'm thinking is either cpu heatsink + fan not on properly, or psu is under powered. Could also be something shorting out that is connected to the psu or motherboard like a fan, all of the above I Have seen multiple times. :laugh:
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Doesn't sound to me like an overheat. Any way you can list your specs on the power supply?
  6. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Not sure about xp in vista i go to control panel and the problem reports and solutions if theres something like that check it out.
  7. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,851 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Location:
    Florida, US
    right click My Computer>Manage>Event Viewer
  8. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Personally...I wouldn't worry about it unless it happens again. Thats just me though.
  9. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    i would agree with pinchy.. not worth investigating.. if u do have a problem it will soon show up again..

    trog
  10. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    it did it again! although i had turned it off at the mains before using it, save power and all that by not leaving everything on standby. should i investigate more?
  11. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Were you running CoreTemp when it happened?
  12. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Id do a full virus scan to be on the safe side.
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,013 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    its quite possible. many BIOS have an option to shut the system off if the CPU reaches a certain temp, its just uncommon for it to be on by default unless its a pre-built.
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    True. But I was thinking overvoltage protection kicking in.
  15. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I'm pretty sure its not an over heating issue, or else it would happen more often, this is just completely arbitrary. My PSU is a Color it 550w running

    +3.5v = 28 amps
    +5v = 35
    +12 = 30
    -5 = 0.5
    -12 = 0.8

    +susb = 2.5

    if anyone knows of an actual PSU reading, as in what it is pumping out right this second please tell me.
  16. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Right click "My Computer" icon, left Click Manage. In the Tree on the left click Event Viewer, then click System.
  17. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    i got lots of DCOM errors
  18. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    You have to give us the error number. I'm presuming it doesn't just say DCOM error.
  19. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    That is a really crappy brand PSU bud, I bought one of those once, took it back as soon as I felt the lack of weight (quality components). Get something decent ASAP, before it actually blows and takes something with it.
  20. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I'm having a good look around it and nothing looks like it screaming this is why i turned off at me.
  21. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    yea i know its bad, and i am look at getting me a better one soon but right now it does the job
  22. orphy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    37 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Gotta say i use maybe 4-5 of these a week and have not had any problems withhem in the last 3 years. Often see this sort of problem with a virus scan thats what i would do first.
  23. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    Well, its you rig at the end of the day, but a power spike taking out the rest of your kit is even pricier!
  24. orphy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    37 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Im not trying to disagree with you or even say im right. Just wanna give my feedback on my experience with this brand :)
  25. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    My response was to the OP bud. I think I paid about £25 from a shop for it, but it was cheap and nasty and I thought better of putting it in. Bought an Enermax 535w for £60 (at the time) and it powered two sucessive rigs with the 12V rail never dropping below 12.16v.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page