1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My Computer

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Kade, Feb 2, 2007.

  1. Kade New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Right ok sorry ive ask so many questions about my computer but now im putting it straight i bought all the parts to build myself a computer i did this at christmas the parts i bought where:

    Cpu: AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Retail AM2
    Case: Alien 2 Custom Gaming Case Black
    Ram: 1GB PC4200 Elixir DDR2 SDRAM
    Extra Fan: Xlience Red Wing Case Fan 8cm
    Mobo: Asrock ALiveSATA2-GLAN Socket AM2
    Graf Card: nVidia Geforce 7600GT 256MB PCI-E
    CD-R DVD-R: Sony 16x DVD ROM Drive Sliver
    HardDrive (Old one from old computer) 200GB

    then i assembled turn it on and installed windows then put in motherboard disk did the drive the n the grap card disk did that then i went on mobo's website and did the driver updates and went on nvidia and did the same.

    well that what i really did before it began well there was installing all virus software and stuff but did i miss stuff out or may i off done something wrong. My question is : is my computer fit to be a gaming computer what do i need to add please anything my computer doesnt seem to be proformaing the way i imagined it is there anything i can try doing.

    also how can decease the amount on processes it seem to many and i can get rid of all my one's yet there still like 24 left.

    Thank you if you can help me in anyway i paid around 350 for the computer was it worth it i just wanted it to be like all the others i can play allmost anygame i can run programs fast but it doesnt seem like it i dont know.. hope you can help

    Kade
     
  2. SlipSlice

    SlipSlice New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    770 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana
    Its definately your graphics card probably, even though the 7600GT is a decent card.

    Run 3DMARK 03, and 3DMARK 05, and tell me what you get.
     
  3. Kade New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  4. Kade New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    soo anybody?
     
  5. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I have a 7600GT on a 939 3000+ chip, and I get very decent frame rates and use it for gaming, so you shouldn't have a problem at all. Although personally I would have gone for PC6400 RAM instead of PC4200 like you did, but that doesn't matter.

    To be perfectly honest, as long as your game runs smoothly and you get atleast 30fps then it's running as it should. The human eye only needs 25fps to see smooth motion, but 30 puts less strain on the eye, and I'm guessing you get atleast that. So what's the problem?
     
  6. Kade New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ture thx ok so could you suggest any ram to get?
     
  7. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Honestly, no, I've never used DDR2 and wouldn't really know where to start. I know other people on the site will know. There's a thread where someone asked what the best DDR2 memory is somewhere. Just do a search :)
     
  8. Kade New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok well if my fps is running ok whats with the the jumpy gameplay sometime even those im also on 5-30 ping
     
  9. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I get that on CS:Source sometimes, it's probably server-side. I wouldn't worry too much. If you are getting it in non-online games then there's a problem.
     
  10. Kade New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok i will try that
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page