1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

my cooler set up

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by bassmasta, Oct 8, 2007.

  1. bassmasta Guest

    well, This year I plan to buy myself a christmas present. It will only get to me around christmas if I order it in the next month, but I still want a watercooling set up for x-mas. the only problem is, that I know next to nothing about watercooling. so, this is what I thought up, but I don't know if I missed something or not.

    now, this is right in my price range {$250, 270 if miracles are promised}



    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/2...ne_SST-FM121_120mm_Case_Fan.html?tl=g36c15s60

    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/2...150mm_Reservoir_-_SILVER.html?tl=g30c97#blank

    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/5...e_Universal_CPU_Waterblock.html?tl=g30c85s140

    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/2...ti-Kink_38_ID_12_OD_Tubing.html?tl=g30c99s171

    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/2291/ex-tub-30/Fitting_Thread_Sealant_Tape.html?tl=g30c97

    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/2...ottle_-_700cc_LIQ-700BU-B.html?tl=g30c103s458

    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/4...40_X-Flow_Radiator_-_Black.html?tl=g30c95s160


    I'm also wondering how much it would cost to slap some TEC on there, and what exactly I would need for it.
     
  2. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,948 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
  3. bassmasta Guest

  4. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,948 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Nice pump... I'm at a point where I need more airflow or waterflow in my system, the GPU kicks the water temp towards the 100f mark and the fans start kicking in - just got a 2900 pro, going to make things even worse.

    Those quick disconnect can save some headaches when swapping in/out parts. Those guys have some from Koolance: http://www.frozencpu.com/products/5...ck-Disconnect_Shutoff_Valve_-_Male_Angle.html
    ... not cheap!
     
  5. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309


    Dont do a TEC setup..... no offence, but if you are asking questions about watercooling, then you shouldnt be even thinking of doing a TEC setup.
     
  6. bassmasta Guest

    whoops, I see 30 dollars for every point I want to be able to disconnect. I think i'll use my bucket and a pair of clamps.
     
  7. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    also, no need to buy that tape there... just goto home depot and get it for .99 with no shipping charges.....

    Another note: I wouldnt spend the extra money on that resevoir. It really wont help that much

    EDIT : I wouldnt get that pump either.... what is the max head hieght on it? You cant just go by the Ltr\hour. Which isnt that great to begin with

    EDIT #2 : sorry, not trying to be a D!ck... just trying to help you out. :toast:
     
  8. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,948 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Yea that works too :) - they ain't cheap!!!

    Here's another thing you might want to consider. This only gives warnings, won't shut the system down:

    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/5...y_Pump_Reservoir_CL-W0103.html?tl=g30c229s581

    The thermal shutoff feature in my koolance saved my ass - I forgot to release a hose clamp and thankfully it shut down the system way before anything horrible happened - it monitors the temperature of the waterblock - shuts the PSU down at about 140f.
     
  9. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,948 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    You are a dick :) joking. Yea they no doubt play games witht the flow rate, it does matter how hard it is pushing at the stated rate. I didn't see any specs listing that.
     
  10. bassmasta Guest

    >.< once again, very expensive. even then, I don't really understand why it needs it's own pump. in theory, couldn't that just sit in the regular line? and actually, I didn't really check too much out on the pump. I figured I could stick it any old place and it would be set as long as it drew from radiator. also, I'm not crazy about the resivoir, but I thought that was the only way to add coolant?
     
  11. d44ve New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,521 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309

    Yeah, your right... I am a dick. <shrugg> :p



    it doesnt need its own pump.... that is your pump, res, and monitor right there. But again, I wouldnt go with that pump. IMO
     
  12. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    doesnt the motherboard have an option to shut down when the cpu reaches a certain temp? thats how I was hoping to keep my system safe if my pump dies elc.
     
  13. bassmasta Guest

    not for me, I've been 2 degrees below my melting point w/out shutdown
     
  14. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,948 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    The link was to a whole kit, including resevior, pump, thermal sensor and readout plate for 5.25" drive bay. In other words, it would replace the pump and resevoir you picked out. The pump listed 500L/h, same as the other one you picked out, but I agree with d44ves point - perhaps you can find some reviews with some searching.

    In theory, you don't need a resevoir, but it acts as a heat resevoir and also helps assure that you have enough fluid, as well as being the filling spot (usually).
     
  15. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,948 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,647
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Yea, it really is an extra piece of mind. All the Koolance cases have it - and it's independant of the rest of the system. It's a thermal sensor that sticks to the bottom of the waterblock.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page