1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My cpu fan isnt working during window xp installation

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Leebruce, Sep 23, 2008.

  1. Leebruce New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i am reinstalling window xp on my pc but i notice the fan on top of the cpu isnt working is that normal or NOT ..plz help
     
  2. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    No its not normal,the fan should start spinning as soon as you power up your pc.

    What type of cooler is on your cpu? thermaltake/arctic cooling etc

    Is the fan plugged into the fan connector on the motherboard or oonto a molex?
     
  3. Leebruce New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    im not sure the type of cooler but its the original one that came with the pc all the connector is connected . is this like a mother board problem or should i just replace the fan
     
  4. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Try replacing the fan first,as long as it has a working fan on it,it will be fine.It doe'nt have to be the original fan.
     
  5. stordoff New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    177 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    Is this for a Core 2?

    My stock CPU fan didn't spin during times of low load either. Starts working when the CPU is stressed.

    Keep an eye on temps.
     
  6. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Did the fan ever work or work at all on this machine, no matter what type of load?

    Sometimes your BIOS might be configured by default to manage the fan speeds according to CPU temperature/load. Myself I had a media box PC configured in such a way and the fan would kick in only at the desktop level, and even then only at 40%-50%. It would take some pretty high temperatures to make it run at max RPMs.
     
  7. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    Is it an ASUS board perhaps? They have something called QFan that can adjust fan speed based on CPU temp. I had an Arctic Freezer 64 that would stop the fan completely when the computer was not too busy.

    You should fill out your system specs and enable us to view them to keep us from guessing what you have.
     
  8. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Yeah, if the ambient temps are cool and you have PWM control on your cooler and motherboard, then it will slow and sometimes stop the fan if the temperatures aren't high enough. Does it spin when you first turn the power on? If so, then you know that it's working. Also, please fill out the system specs in the User Control panel.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page