1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My Crysis Specs - DX9 & DX10 what do you think !!!

Discussion in 'Games' started by mikey8684, Jul 18, 2007.

  1. mikey8684

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    423 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Infront Of PC ... Perth, WA
    This is what I've come up with for the Min/Rec specs for a DX9 and DX10 PC to run Crysis, let me know what you think ---


    MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS (DX9)
    ----------------------------
    OS: Windows XP SP2
    CPU: Intel Pentium 4 2.8ghz OR AMD Equivalent
    RAM: 1GB
    HDD: 12GB
    Graphics: 256MB Nvidia 6800 / ATi X800 (DX9.0c)
    Sound: DX9 Compatible Sound Card
    Internet: LAN 256k+ / Online 512k+
    Optical Drive: 8x DVD/DL

    ------------------------------------------------------

    RECOMMENDED REQUIREMENTS (DX9)
    --------------------------------
    OS: Windows XP SP2
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 2Ghz OR AMD Equivalent
    RAM: 2GB
    HDD: 12GB
    Graphics: 512MB Nvidia 7900 / ATi X1900 (DX9.0c)
    Sound: DX9 Compatible Sound Card
    Internet: LAN 256k+ / Online 512k+
    Optical Drive: 8x DVD/DL


    ------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------


    MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS (DX10)
    -----------------------------
    OS: Windows Vista
    CPU: Intel Pentium 4 3.2Ghz OR AMD Equivalent
    RAM: 1.5GB
    HDD: 12GB
    Graphics: 256MB Nvidia 8600 / ATi 2600 (DX10)
    Sound: DX10 Compatible Sound Card
    Internet: LAN 256k+ / Online 512k+
    Optical Drive: 8x DVD/DL

    -----------------------------------------------------

    RECOMMENDED REQUIREMENTS (DX10)
    ---------------------------------
    OS: Windows Vista
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4Ghz OR AMD Equivalent
    RAM: 3GB
    HDD: 12GB
    Graphics: 640MB Nvidia 8800GTS / 512MB ATi 2900XT (DX10)
    Sound: DX10 Compatible Sound Card
    Internet: LAN 512k+ / Online 1mb+
    Optical Drive: 8x DVD/DL


    -----------------------------------------------------
    -----------------------------------------------------
    -----------------------------------------------------

    So yeah thats what I reckon .... :pimp:

    How close do you think I am ...???

    :rockout::rockout::rockout:
     
  2. LiNKiN

    LiNKiN Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,760 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    I think you are set, however, the cpu will bottleneck the card heavily at 2ghz. You should still have a pretty playable experience though.
    If you want to jack up all the settings you may have to overclock that cpu! :toast:
     
  3. mikey8684

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    423 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Infront Of PC ... Perth, WA

    You think so even if the 2Ghz is a E6400 C2D and the 2.4Ghz is a E6600 C2D ... thats what I was thinking of anyway.

    But thanks for the insite.

    :rockout:

    P.S. these are just my "back of the box" specs not what I think will run the game with eye candy and such ... although if it were possible for developers to list the specs needed to run the game as they intend it to be played it would be pretty cool. eg high res, full eye candy, AA & AF etc....
     
  4. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    I agree with LiNKIN, your CPU is a bit dated (no offense) compared to the rest of your setup.

    I dont mean speed wise, I mean technology wise ;)

    PS: you cant compare a 2GHz Athlon X2 to a 2GHz C2D, the C2D is far superior ;)

    EDIT: sorry I read your reply wrong. I think a 2-2.4GHZ C2D would be fine for CrySis (but it would be better overclocked lol).
     
  5. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    GG looks like the current line of cards can play this game quite well :) but Im still going to wait till its released, I still have my doubts that I will be able to get very close to max settings if not max settings with the current dx10 cards.

    2 or 3 more moths and it should be out along with 8900.
     
  6. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Dont be fooled by 'minimum requirement' specs.....they mean nothing! Well actually, they mean 'the game will at least load' with these specs...but playing at any kind of 'decent' level will take a lot more :(
     
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    oc the cpu 2.4ghz or so and you will be able to play at "reasonable" levels
     
  8. mikey8684

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    423 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Infront Of PC ... Perth, WA
    Cheers for the advice guys but I'm just writing what I think it will take to run the game ....

    Just like any game though the "back of the box" requirements dont say that if you meet the recommended that you will be able to crank the game detail to ultra and have full eye candy and AA & AF @ 2560x1600 now do they LOL....:pimp:

    And with the CPUs I've listed doesn't --- 2Ghz Core 2 Duo OR AMD Equivalent --- mean that you need either a 2Ghz C2D or an AMD CPU that performs the same as a 2Ghz C2d not a 2Ghz AMD CPU ... coz yeah I agree it would get creamed... LOL

    Anyway yeah like I said I just thought I'd share what I was thinking about what I thought it would take to run Crysis out of the box not what it would take to run Crysis "The way it's meant to be played !!!" .... we would have to see "HeavyH20" for that one, or this dude "Maxishine" on Youtube that has a similar Uber PC.

    :rockout::rockout::rockout:
     
  9. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    Ic Ic, I was hoping that the "RECOMMENDED REQUIREMENTS (DX10)" might be enough to play it near max but I doubt it lol. Though I think the drivers elc have gotten better since the first sightings of Crysis where it was struggling with 2x 8800gtx.
     
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    i would rather the top end games make the top end cards struggle than them play it easily cause it means the designers did there job and made the game look as good as it could possibly look with todays tech
     
  11. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    so you dont wanrt a quality gaming experience on a brand spanky expensive card?
     
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    not till the game is at least 6months old do i want techh to catch up otherwise it is stalemate and the cards/games dont improve and you end up with ANOTHER FX series of cards
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page