1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My Far Cry 2

Discussion in 'Games' started by AphexDreamer, Oct 22, 2008.

  1. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,112 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    916
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Well got it running!!!

    And omg does it look so much nicer and perform so much better than Crysis!!! So smooth with like 50FPS. No hot fix installed yet.

    I've got to go to School but here are the first few minutes of the first level and the menus.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Leaving for Shcool, ask PM me for you know what if you like, won't respond till I get to my Cisco Networking Class
     
    SK-1 says thanks.
  2. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Looks great. Sucks you have all that horsepower and a little monitor :roll:
     
  3. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Dang that looks good its out tomorrow here sweet.
     
  4. xubidoo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    882 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    looks great , is it playable on those settings ?
     
  5. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    You can't max the game out with your resolution?
     
  6. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    i also got it today runs great so far on high for me, i dont think it looks better than crysis still even on ultra high
     
  7. Wozzer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,133 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    England
    From those pictures - That graphics doesnt look great. But you havent got anti-aliasing
     
  8. Shurakai

    Shurakai New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    233 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Australia, SA
    Very nice mate, can't agree that it's better looking than Crysis though, comes darn close, but no cigar (well going by those screenshots, i'm sure a few stills of Crysis at points could just as easily fail to do it justice). I'll be getting this asap, just gotta wait for the local stores to get it in stock
     
  9. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,112 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    916
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Ok on a computer at school.

    I was trying to see how well it would play before I turned on anti aliasing.

    Gonna max it out. Performace to graphics ratio its way better than Crysis.
     
  10. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Here are some screens on max with 8x aa 1920 x1200 dont ask about my fps it was like -200 :laugh:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    sorry just noticed its not 1920x1200 its 1680x1050
     
  11. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,112 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    916
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    yes
     
    xubidoo says thanks.
  12. POOLESOFT

    POOLESOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    76 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    thomasville ga




    i get 40 t0 50 fps with all maxed out @ 1280x1024@8xaa ..........and 70 to 80 fps with no aa sweet...........:nutkick::respect:
     
    xubidoo says thanks.
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I will kill someone for this game. Anyone need someone dead :p
     
  14. wolf2009 Guest

    AA not looking good in above screens by EviLZeD
     
  15. Shurakai

    Shurakai New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    233 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Australia, SA
    That has gotta be sarcasm right? I can't even see a single jagged line on the chain fence let alone the gun/environment, it looks fantastic with that AA :D
     
  16. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    lol,

    Do my Homwork!;)(im am in class right now actually)
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2008
  17. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Anything but math :respect:
     
  18. wolf2009 Guest

    no thats not sarcasm, i agree i don't see a lot of jaggies. but i saw some here

    [​IMG]
     
  19. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Oh Shi-
     
  20. Shurakai

    Shurakai New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    233 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Australia, SA
    Well, that is true, i guess for 8x it should be silky smooth :p
     
  21. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    those screens were taken using the ingame aa 8x and using the slightly older 178.24 drivers apparently 180.42 drivers improve far cry 2 performance i just installed them seems a little better performance wise
     
  22. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I dunno if it looks better than crysis, but I would need to have the game before I could give a definate judgement.
     
  23. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    Is that with the DX10.1 hotfix for FC2?
     
  24. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,394 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    981
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    our wal mart is only getting 2 copies and not till monday.................AssHoles
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    not sure if EZ covered this, but isn't there an ATI hotfix? supposed to increase quality...
    pre-ordered mine and it was sent today, should arrive by friday :) let's see what my 4870x2 can do..
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page