1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My first build... budget 1500 gaming rig is this a good setup?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by mikeartie, Jun 22, 2009.

  1. mikeartie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    MOBO-XFX LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 790i Ultra SLI ATX Intel Motherboard

    Video Card- PNY GeForce GTX 285 1GB 512-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card

    Power supply- SILVERSTONE OP1000-E 1000W ATX 12V 2.2 & EPS 12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply

    CPU- Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.66GHz LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Processor Model BX80580Q9400

    RAM-Crucial 3GB (3 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model CT3KIT12864BA1339

    MAster Harddrive-Western Digital VelociRaptor WD3000HLFS 300GB 10000 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

    Slave Harddrive- Western Digital Caviar SE WD3200AAJB 320GB 7200 RPM IDE Ultra ATA100 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

    Monitor-SAMSUNG ToC T190 Black 19" 2ms (GTG) Widescreen LCD Monitor

    DVD drive-SAMSUNG 22X DVD Burner Black SATA Model SH-S223F

    CASE-NZXT Nemesis Elite Gaming Case - Black

    Everything except case being bought from Newegg.com... total price around 1570 before rebates... is this a good gaming rig for the money
     
  2. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    for that much i would get a i7 rig
     
  3. mikeartie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    um im kinda of new to computers... wats an i7 rig
     
  4. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
  5. mikeartie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    o... either way is the build a posted before good?
     
  6. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    could change somethings

    a 19" screen for a 285 is a waste
     
  7. mikeartie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    what do you mean? is the monitor to good for the vid card or vice versa
     
  8. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    its to much card for a small screen

    and i wouldnt get a VelociRaptor if you want speed i would get like two 1tb and raid them
     
  9. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,204 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    974
    Location:
    Miami
    vid card too good for the monitor. Like having a corvette on grocery cart wheels.
     
  10. mikeartie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    lol good example
     
  11. TheScavenger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    326 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Get a cheaper PSU and a i7 setup. Alos get at least a 22" monitor.
     
  12. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
  13. mikeartie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    kk any recommendations for a i7 build? cause i had my friend help me make this build though i do understand the compapatiablity and such

    Edit: thanks guy above me
     
  14. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    mine one although you still need a monitor.

    EDIT: DAMN, didnt saw the edit :p
     
  15. mikeartie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    lol kk will probally use ur rig ... will that rig work with crysis on max
     
  16. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    Ok, to fix my build do this

    Replace the psu by this one = You save 80

    Drop the 1tb hdd. You save a hundred

    Replace the ram by this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820227365 you save another hundred

    There you have for your monitor

    EDIT:
    depends on the resolution, probably up to 1680*1050 yes. maybe even a little more.
     
  17. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
  18. mikeartie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    its fine you can leave the orginal rig cause i can still raise a couple hundred dollars the 1500 is just wat i have currently i have to w8 3 weeks b4 i can purchase anything

    Edit- gotta go to sleep be back tommorow thank you all for your input
     
  19. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    then drop as i said, buy the monitor, raise the 2 hundred, get another 4890 and ur pc will last for a LOOOOOONG TIME
     
  20. mikeartie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  21. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,448 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    Here's a setup that meet your need.
     
  22. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
  23. mikeartie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    u sure that psu is compatiable with the mobo?
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2009
  24. mikeartie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    didnt mean to double post weird lag said my first message didnt go though
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2009
  25. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    the ones i recomended? yes. you wont have any trouble with compatibility with any of the parts.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page