1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

my first custom build

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by AshesOfThePlope, Aug 28, 2007.

  1. AshesOfThePlope

    AshesOfThePlope New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    54 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore,MD
    http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16811119121
    http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16813131074
    http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16819115017
    http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16814143055

    i already have 2 gigs of ram for this build,a dvd drive and 2 hard drives and il be using a X1900xtx for my graphics, I'l be replacing it some time later this year

    my main objective is just to be able to max out UT3 and crysis when there out

    a friend of mine keeps telling me to wait for this and that but iv been waiting since i got my Dell to make a custom build cause i pretty much hate it anyway what do y'all think?
     
  2. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Scrap the physics card, hardly any support for it out. With that money got a TR Ultra 120 Extreme with a good high cfm fan. And I'm taking it that you have a os already? Also, do you have to have 680i, aka are you going to go sli? If you don't need it, get a p35 based mobo, they should overclock better. But a 680i probably will do fine for a q6600.
     
    AshesOfThePlope says thanks.
  3. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I'd get a cheaper case like the Antec 900. I ordered the same CPU as you and mines coming tomorrow.
     
  4. AshesOfThePlope

    AshesOfThePlope New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    54 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore,MD
    well im not sure, i wouldn't mind having SLI but is it really worth having?
    and il take your advice for the physics card, i only threw it in there figuring it would help performance with newer games, i didn't put it in there but i plan on getting windows vista home
     
  5. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,687 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Listen to kwchang007, don't get the physics card. In the future they might be worth something, but not right now.

    :toast:
     
  6. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    SLI? Only if you can afford to 8800 gtx's. Honestly, you'll probably end up upgrading the SLI with one faster card. IMO I wouldn't because P35 overclocks better and is cheaper. You may want to wait for X38 if you want to run crossfire and have pci-e 2.0. But uh....where was I going with this...oh yeah it all depends on the money you have.

    Oh do you have a psu? I wouldn't plan on using a dell psu because they use the btx standard compared to the more common (in comp building) atx standard.

    As far as the physics card helping....it doesn't do anything but add eye candy in games that support it, the quad core will really help you later on when more games are optimized for multi-core.
     
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I second that.

    Scrap the physx card & go for a nice beefy psu! Maybe another 2GB kit but not sure how far you want to go.


    EDIT: Yes, even at that you could wait a little bit for even newer cards to be released that will mroe than likely play DX10 titles at a decent fps.
     
  8. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Scrap the Physics card. Scrap the case and get a cheaper one, go for a Lian-Li or something, much better build quality and cheaper than the stacker.

    Go for an Abit IP35 or the Pro version (that's what I'm getting soon :D)

    Yeah, and invest in a good quality PSU. If the PSU goes, it can take your entire system with it. NOT worth the risk of skimping on it.
     
  9. balls New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'd go for a Geforce card over an ATI one, because of their ability to run games better (I've tested it) and also for possible dx10 capabilities.
     
  10. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    DX9? Only if you get an 8800 series, and if you've read any benchmarks you'll know that their DX10 performance leaves a lot to be desired.
     
  11. AshesOfThePlope

    AshesOfThePlope New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    54 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore,MD
    i have a psu already an enermax 450w, over the past few years iv replaced everything in my dell besides my processor and mobo, and far as money goes i have plenty to spend i just wanted to wait a little longer before i pick out a graphics card witch is why i was just going to use what i have until around November, but as for a cheaper case i picked that because i figured it would be great for cooling, but il look around before ordering another case

    and for the record i planed on switching from ati to nvidia anyway
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2007
  12. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I'd upgrade to atleast a 550W PSU.

    Also, my Lian-Li PC-Plus 7 is an awesome case for airflow. Cost me £60.
     
  13. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Actually with the lastest drivers the 2600xt gddr4 version is keeping up with 1950pro's now and beating them in some cases, and I'm still waiting for them to get better...

    I actually may buy a 2600xt gdd4 card soon here to replace a pile card sitting in another machine.
    **********************

    Beyond that...

    Looks good, but yes scrap the physics card!

    I would also use a Lian-Li for quality
    or a Antec 900 if you want tons of air flow and get a big nice psu.

    If you want more video I get a 1900 CF edition and call it a day :)
    Or-
    Sell your 1900xtx
    and get-
    2 2600xt's
    1 2900xt
    1 8800gtx
    2 8800gts's
    2 1950pro's
    2 1950xt's

    FYI- 2600xt GDDR4 versions are holding hand in hand with 1950pro's now with 7.8 drivers :)
     
    AshesOfThePlope says thanks.
  14. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I meant that in DX9 the only nvidia card that beats ATi is the 8800 series :)
     
  15. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Ohh okay :)
     
  16. FOXCONN1115 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    398 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Rhode Island, USA
    if you have money to spend... go with a lian li case.. preferably the v2000 series ( full tower ). also, if you really have the money to spend, try and get a core 2 extreme :D, the striker is a good board... what kind ( brand, speed) ram do you have? drop the physics card, all new gpu's carry an onboard physic processors.. grab an 8800 ultra or even a gtx, and you'll be all set. aim for a better power supply.. something 650watt or more, modular cables are a huge plus.. :D
     
  17. AshesOfThePlope

    AshesOfThePlope New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    54 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore,MD
    wow niko that Antec 900 is a beautiful case, im thinking i might go with that but it being a mid tower, can i expect everything to fit flawlessly?

    now a power supply il be honest and say this is my weak point, the power supply i got before was what a friend of mine (he posts here too) recommended i buy,and he knows a whole lot more about this stuff then i do so i went with it,so i could use some recommendations for a psu

    and to foxconn my ram is CORSAIR XMS2 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
    i got 2 of em on sale for $44 on newegg a few weeks back cause i knew the price would go back up, but 2gigs is enough for me
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2007
  18. Sovereign

    Sovereign New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    797 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    LoL! Me thinks we have ourselves an nVIDIA sales rep here (or one in training)! :ohwell: :laugh:
     
  19. AshesOfThePlope

    AshesOfThePlope New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    54 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore,MD
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Beautiful Ashes! 100% A-OK in my book, but then again, If you interested in single rail ....


    Check This Out!
     
  21. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Looks good. Dont waste your money on a physics card though.
     
  22. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Hahaha..hahahahaaa..haha.Ha. That sum it all up really. In actuality ATi hardware runs DX10 stuff better than nVidia last I checked. Not that it really matters. Both nVidia and ATi hardware currently both suck for DX10 performance.
     
  23. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Ohh ya... The Antec 900 is not a "small" mid tower. Mid towers don't normally have issues fitting things unless you are trying to fit and Extended ATX board in them. It's mini towers that are such a pain.

    Actually Antec 900 is-
    19.4'' x 8.1'' x 18.4''

    It's pretty much the same size is my case for the system in my profile.
     
  24. FOXCONN1115 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    398 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Rhode Island, USA
    from personal experience, dont get a mid tower, especially the antec 900 if you are going to use 2 or more hard drives, dual video cards, or large ones, which most are.. and dual dvd drives. I have 3 internal hdd's, 2x dvd rw/rom drives, 8800gts, and with the cpu cooler, ram and all that jazz and wires. ITS CRAMPED!. check it out, i have my rig posted on here under permission to breathe... just so you get a heads up of what the antec 900 is like. the 900 is awesome for cooling, if you don't have a lot to stuff into it, which i do, and it kinda kills the cooling capability, except for the exaust fans, intake fans are mostly blocked.. also, i cannot stress modular power supply enough... thermaltake has really nice ones, mine has yet to let me down.. although there are other companies that make good psu's that are modular.. like I said, if you have the money, check out the lian li's... they are wicked nice cases, and super easy to mod and manage cables with, where as the 900 is a bit rough..
     
  25. AshesOfThePlope

    AshesOfThePlope New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    54 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore,MD
    is that an ohh ya it will fit fine or an oh yaa your gonna run into trouble, cause if everything i got picked out will fit (including the psu) im gonna ordering the case, iv already ordered the mobo and i wanted to get the case at the same time i just wasn't 100% clear on what u meant
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page