1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[Case Gallery] My First Custom Build!!!!

Discussion in 'Case Mod Gallery' started by infrared, Dec 8, 2005.

  1. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    To view this case mod, go here.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Specs:
    Asus P5WD2 Premium Motherboard,
    Intel Pentium 4 HT 640 3.2 @ 3.8ghz =
    Club3D Radeon X800XL 256mb VIVO =
    4x (2x shown in pic) 512mb 533mhz DDR2 @ 700mhz (dual channel) =
    SATA 80gb Seagate Baracuda 7200rpm =
    LG Flatron 17" 1280/1024 TFT monitor =
    LG DVD+R/+RW =

    Mods:
    Overclocked CPU to 3.85ghz from 3.2
    Overclocked and Tweaked GFX card to get 6k+ in 3dmark05
    Got bored and painted PSU

    ===This is my First Custom build, and considering i'm 16, I'm very happy with it!!!
    ===I just spent 3 hours yesterday neatening the cables, and even now, they're not especially tidy. After this, i have learned how difficult it is to keep the wires out of sight. I now have a lot of respect to those with neat cases!!! GJ people!
    ===The case fans need replacing. They're very powerful, but are noisy and are falling apart after 50hours use... :p
    ===The Acrylic needs cleaning and polishing properly. I was in a rush to get it all in!
    ===Please no-one start telling me how crap intel is, I really don't want to hear it. Same applies to the nVidia fanboys.
    ===Any tips and suggestions are welcome!
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 20, 2014
  2. G.T

    G.T New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    573 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    The other side of Hell
    Kudos, clean and tidy, well done.[​IMG]
  3. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Thanks :)

    I learnt a valuable lesson though:
    It's tricky trying to hide cables in a clear case! Maybe i'll go with a metal case with a window next time! :D
  4. Unregistered Guest

    here is an idea...put 3 inches tubing that goes from the fan to the exterior
    am pretty sure you could find this tubing at the home depot...i mean clear tubing
  5. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    The cpu fan? hmm, interesting thought. It's easily done i suppose.

    I don't really need it at the moment though, the inside of the case is the same temp as the air ouside, so the case fans are doing a good job. What it could really do with is a decent heatsink. I've seen some awsome flower sinks that would do the job well.

    Thanks for your input. :)
  6. Unregistered Guest

    try to convert all the wire to the same color, this would include to tear down the power supply
    but a mod that we dont see that often
  7. wtf8269

    wtf8269 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,495 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ohio
    Sweet system man. I'm not a huge fan of clear cases myself, but congrats on it man! Nice OC too.
  8. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Thanks.

    Hehe, I had to borrow £600 of my mum's money as well, so i'm gonna be in debt for a while! In total i spent about £800 - £850 on this... Good price or what?? :D

    I dread to think how much an ailienware PC with a similar spec would cost.
  9. chopperdan88 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glendora,CA
    Well Done

    i don't consider myself much of a fan of clear cases. i thought about buying one when i was first building my machine. but i went with antec and i have had nothing but success. are your cpu temperatures way out of whack now that you are running a 1Ghz overclock? i personally think that anything above say 400mhz is overkill, and you run too much of a chance of frying the cpu. well, congrats on your build, it looks sweet.you should try wrapping the wires in mesh or something, so that the yellow, black and red don't show so much. LOOKS GREAT!
  10. tony929292

    tony929292 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    362 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    usa
    nice and neat i am not a fan of clear cases but your shows mes the great protinal it has mainly if it clear everthing has to be like the psu and cd drives and you show evey single wire like mine a hided wire and it still a mess but your is neat and nice colors and i love u took the time to paint your psu i give it a ...... ...... .....6 excellect might i suggest rouund cables black i like the black asus ribbions u got but some soild black round ones would look nice too and aleast one wire cover for the group of wire that r tide in with 24 pin psu connector those wire mods r very cheap check out ebay or somthing get them for 5 bucks
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2005
  11. Tory New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    339 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    What's your cpu temp and voltage? I find it hard to believe that you got a 1Ghz overclock on stock cooling when most intels don't even run properly without throttling on stock cooling. Maybe you live in alaska?
  12. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Ok, it's running completely stable at 4.2ghz (16x 262) , 1.4125v max temp = 64*c idle temp = 40*c

    My room temps are about 29*c If you don't believe me, that's fine... If you like i'll take a screenshot of cpu-z

    EDIT: I am an idiot!! It's been trottling back hard the whole time. I wandered why it was performing like crap.

    Oh, and those temps were way off! I updated the bios, which revealed the true temps... to my horror! :p

    It's now running 3.8ghz (14*272mhz) 1.4125v with a max temp of 72c while running the cpu arithmatic benchmark repeatedly with sisoft sandra. I checked that there was no thermal throttling with ThrottleWatch, but it seems i'm right on the limit. I covered the fan with a hand, and it throttled back as soon as temps hit 75c.
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2005
  13. Tory New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    339 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Wait, what's the voltage again? I think you made a typo.
  14. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Oh, woops :D

    voltage is 1.4125, sorry my mistake
  15. DR.Death

    DR.Death New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
  16. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Who keeps voting 1... none of the cases on this forum deserve a 1... Whoever it is needs to grow up.

    Cool, i'll take a look. Thanks Dr. D
  17. bikr692002

    bikr692002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    run your power cables behind the mobo mount, why do you think theres big holes in the mount ;)
  18. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    lol, then it looks ugly from the other side :p

    Could do though, i'll take it apart for cleaning soon, so i'll do some rearranging then.

    Ok, upgrades planned:

    Another 2 sticks of 512mb ram = 2gb total @ 700mhz (pc5700)
    Another hard drive to put in a Raid 0 config! Sweet!

    I'm also going to make on of the 5" bay blankers into a fan control panel, with just a variable resistor and a shiny nob of something :D

    I need to get my hands on a x1800xt tho :D :D
  19. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Ok, i've updated some details regarding the overclock... see post 12.
  20. bikr692002

    bikr692002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    How do you unlock the pent 4's multiplier?
  21. Tory New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    339 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Wow that's really hot! You should get a better cooler or slow it down because running like that will shorten the life of your CPU a lot.
  22. tony929292

    tony929292 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    362 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    usa
    you can unlock the mutlpyer on the 6xx series if the mobo has the options in the bios
  23. bikr692002

    bikr692002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
  24. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Ok, i'm buying a decent cooler tomorow. I'll post some pics when it's fitted. I'm also gettin an alaska ATI silencer for my graphics card which should help it along nicely.

    EDIT: I got my new cpu cooler, i'll be taking some pics soon.

    It's the 'Gigabyte 3D Rocket Cooler.' It's fairly tall, but isn't particularly wide, which is perfect for me. I also looked at the flower cooler, but the PSU gets in the way :(

    Anyway, i've been able to get my high overclocks at safer temps and with not throttling!

    Previousy i could get 3.75ghz @ 72c, which is 3c under thermal throttling,
    I can now get in excess of 3.85ghz @ 65c!!!

    I think i'm really lucky with this cpu, it overclocks by miles!!! i had it at 4.2ghz (16x multi), it was throttling back very hard, but it just shows that with some awsome cooling, it might be possible to stabilize it at that!!

    [​IMG]

    Ok, the last think i need to get is the ATI silencer 5r2, which should be on it's way now!

    EDIT:

    All my new coolers are installed!!! I've got the "Gigabyte 3D rocket cooler" on the cpu, with AS5 of course! and the ATI Silencer 5r2 on my x800xl!

    I still kept the 3.85ghz, but use it more as an 'everyday' speed, and ramp it up to 4.2ghz when i need it. Max temp at 3.85 with my new cooler is only 52c, and it idles at 35c.

    And check this out!!! 4.2ghz is rock steady with a max temp of 56c!! I had 4.3 earlier, but had to put the voltage up to 1.43v, and even that wasn't enough... temperatures were getting to 60c, and prime 95 was begging to show errors, so i think 4.2ghz is the max for my cpu. Ill get a screenshot of cpuz and prime 95 and some others soon to prove it.
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2006
  25. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    UPDATED PICS with my new coolers!!!!

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    ^I need to get my room re-decorated badly!!!
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2006

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page