1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My first overclock 1055T

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Hellfire, May 17, 2010.

  1. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    546 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Hello people, before anyone says I am reading the stickys but would like some advice,

    So I've never overclocked before, as a lot overclocking to me was always a "scary thing!" however I do not believe it is so much any more so I would like to OC.

    I'm waiting for my new PC to be delivered, it is a AMD x6 1055T and from what I've been told I can easily get more out of it.

    Cooling in the case is the following
    Corsair Hydro Series H50 - CPU Cooling and
    1 x 200mm Case fan
    5 x 1200mm Case fans

    (it's a Antec1200)

    So first question, rather stupid but with it sitting at 2.8 what do you think is a "safe" stable I can reach with this cooling, I would still like it to be quite cool temp wise but I do want to get my monies worth.

    Also, what is the best way to go about OCing the processor? does it put more strain on the motherboard also?
  2. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    You should be able to get 3.8Ghz or more out of that CPU. It will make the system faster and game will perform better imo. You will increase the stress on the motherboard but nothing above the levels it was tested for. AMD systems have always been big on overclocking and boards designed for them are able to handle the load.... within reason. Since this is your first OC I doubt you'll hit the same extreme clocks that world record holders are pushing with similar hardware. Your colling should be sufficient to handle the OC as well.

    I don't actually know jack about OCing AMD systems but I can imagine someone else will be here soon that can give solid advice.
    Hellfire says thanks.
  3. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    546 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Thank you my friend!

    I know jack either, 3.8, sweet, I was looking at around 3.5 but hay why not.

    The system spec of my new system are what are at the side.
  4. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Voltage and frequency are relative. You just make sure that you keep the temps around 65C at full load.
  5. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    Looks like a good system. Nice choice in PSU... Corsair are the best imo. If you dont have that system clocked to at least 3.5 before Wednesday I'll eat my mouse.

    Welcome to TPU .. Nothing remains stock
  6. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    546 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Cheers, you'll be eating your mouse, read ma post, still in production! lol!!! but know, I'll play about, get use to her then OC her.
  7. vaiopup New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    840 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    191
    Location:
    England
    Increasing various voltages works the board, yes.
    Hellfire says thanks.
  8. surfingerman

    surfingerman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    209 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    looks good you should have plenty of extra processor power for your GPU, so when you want to upgrade in a few years or whatever just switch out the GPU and you should still be golden
    Hellfire says thanks.
  9. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    546 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Essex, England

    yeah im thinking upgrading to a second 5850.. or a single 5970 (when I need to)
  10. vaiopup New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    840 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    191
    Location:
    England
    Don't forget to factor in a half-decent power supply.
  11. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    546 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Check my system spec to the left, I believe it should be sufficient.
  12. vaiopup New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    840 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    191
    Location:
    England
    Yup, overkill even :D
  13. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    :cool: Can I use BBQ sauce with it?
  14. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    546 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Is it best to OC using the BIOS or a program in windows, like Clockgen or a newer/modern version :p
  15. vaiopup New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    840 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    191
    Location:
    England
    Bios.
  16. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    546 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Okay, mind if I ask why, from what I read using a program seems safer? but I'll play around see what I can find. when it arrives, and look on my older system.
  17. vaiopup New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    840 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    191
    Location:
    England
    Fine tuning is best done at bios level.


    I thought Clockgen died out with nforce 3 lol.
  18. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    546 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Essex, England
    yeah just realised the guide is 3years old but a modern equivalent. looks like its the bios then!
  19. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,555 (10.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,066
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    AMD Overdrive is your best bet unless the board came with some windows OC tools
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. vaiopup New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    840 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    191
    Location:
    England
    Modern bioses are pretty forgiving......if things go pear shaped they tend to just reboot you at stock.
    Plus with many boards you can save profiles.

    I prefer the fast and loose approach :D
  21. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    546 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Essex, England
    ooo so Brandon your saying Program over Bios!

    I guess it is preference but i'll keep reading!
  22. vaiopup New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    840 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    191
    Location:
    England
    Play within windows then make permanent changes in bios once you're happy with things.
    Guess I just got used to doing things the old way.....they make it too easy and boring now.

    Long live nforce2 :toast:
    Hellfire says thanks.
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,555 (10.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,066
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    No bios is best, i just say use AMD overdrive to get a ruff OC and then fine tune it with bios and then stablility test
    Hellfire says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    546 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Thanks, will do, I'll use AMD overdrive then fine tune in bios. :)

    I get how to but from what I read there is two ways, raising the multiplier and raising the FSB, which is best or is this an old way and it has change.
  25. Hellfire

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    546 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Or do I change both? is it more trial and error?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page