1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My First RAID config....

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by _jM, Apr 12, 2009.

  1. _jM

    _jM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,454 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Ocala,FL
    OK guys I just ordered 3 of these...
    (3rd for an external backup)

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136073

    I have never set up a raid b4 so this will be my first. Question is.... are the 2 drives I bought goo,great,ok? for a RAID config?

    If so what type of raid should I use?

    Also... should I use the speeding HDD on this ASUS Maximus II Formula?

    I need Feedback ASAP! Thank you all!
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2009
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,220 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,968
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Dunno about those, I'm sure they're good I know those and the 750's are popular, but they use the 250mb platters in comparison to my 640's 320mb platters...I don't remember if there's much of a difference, odds are not much with newer drives. So you should be good there.

    With 2 drives, if you want performance use Raid0, one problem will be if one drive goes down, you lose everything so having a 3rd drive for backup is a good idea. But modern HDD's like these are pretty solid and dependable...odds are you'll get rid of them before they fail, but that's not always the case.

    Or you could go Raid1 (iirc) for backup, you gain no performance, but you will always have a backup of your stuff...I don't quite recall if you need more than 2 drives either. I guess it depends on what you're after with the Raid, I'd suggest reading about them, and your board, and those HDD's and seeing what others have chosen to do, what they're getting for performance, and figure out what direction you want to go with.

    :toast:
     
    _jM says thanks.
  3. _jM

    _jM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,454 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Ocala,FL
    I'll be looking for maximum performance/storage.

    I bought a 3rd for a external back-up drive ..
     
  4. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,220 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,968
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Well in raid0 you'll have all the space on both drives, pretty much one will write 0's and one will write 1's simply put. If you're using onboard like me, odds are you'll use Intel Matrix Storage manager...are you planning a fresh install or ghosting your current install over to the raid? It's pretty easy to setup, just know your drives ID's, go into bios, HDD Config, change to RAID, it'll run the IMSM Raid ROM after POST, it'll run setup, you setup the drives, run the default 128k in raid 0, run max space and you'll have almost 1GB of space. From there, I do a 50GB partition for OS and the rest for games/downloads/music/etc. Pretty easy to do tbh. I'm on my 2nd raid setup, so far so good with the 6400aaks. I made a log over here:

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=90147

    :toast:
     
  5. _jM

    _jM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,454 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Ocala,FL
    I'll be using my Velociraptor for my OS drive.. had 2 of them but i returned the second to buy the 3 drives we are talking about.

    this will be mainly for storage and some programs and games... mainly storage though.

    Should I use em for a OS/raid?
     
  6. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,870 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,408
    RAID 0+1 or is it 1+0? yea there's a difference lol...
     
  7. _jM

    _jM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,454 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Ocala,FL
    Here is a picture for anyone wanting to know the exact model of the drives im referring to
    [​IMG] X3
     
  8. _jM

    _jM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,454 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Ocala,FL
    OK here's a test run with 2 WD 500AAKS in ASUS Speeding HDD mode
    [​IMG]
    Not bad at all, and not only I am getting the same or better performance as a RAID config, but instead of combining the 2 as a 500gb drive (raid 0) they are combined into 1TB of storage! I may actually keep them set-up like this. ASUS really shines on this one, good job ASUS! :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page