1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My Gaming Setup... What's Next?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by casual swift, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. casual swift

    casual swift New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    122 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Hi everyone!

    I'm a new member and just started to get into pc gaming about 2 months ago. I built the system myself with used inexpensive parts where I could. So far I'm pretty happy. (I'm hoping everyone can see my specs in my profile so I don't have to type it out here...I'm on my iPhone)

    Anyways, I just put the psu and gpu in last night... Loaded up crysis and was impressed, but i still feel like I could use a little more performance. Medium high resolutions with highest settings and AA 8x I'm still have some parts bog down a bit. I guess my question is based on what I have now, where do you guys see room for improvement in my setup? Faster CPU? Second vid card? More ram?

    Thanks in advance!

    Ps great site... I'm learning lots.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2010
  2. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,964 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    It would all depend on your budget and patience. Maybe waiting for the 6900 series would be worth it.
     
  3. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,289 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,108
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    I'd start off by picking up an aftermarket cooler and overclocking that i5. Also, see what sort of overclock you could get on the video card.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. casual swift

    casual swift New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    122 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Not really an option right now as I JUST picked up this 5870. I don't really have a budget because I don't know what I'm buying.
     
  5. casual swift

    casual swift New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    122 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Good call... Ill get this oc'ed and take it from there.
     
  6. KingPing

    KingPing

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Argentina (South America)
    enabling 8x AA:eek: in Crysis = bye bye to your frame rate, i use 2x AA max, and with your monitor 8x AA is pointless, dont't upgrade anything, just lower the AA
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,898 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    I agree. Get that chip up over 3.6ghz. You may want to look into tweaking (or properly setting up your RAM). Get your system tweaked and stable and you'll notice a good difference. Oh, yeah 8x AA in Crysis pretty much hurts everyone's system.
     
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,099 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Whut he ^^^ said.

    Also, Crysis and Metro2033 are what I like to call "DO NOT PAY ATTENTION TO PERFORMANCE" apps. The demands they put on ANY system are unrealistic.



    So clock that cpu up(3.6ghz-4.0ghz should be your target), and give it another go. You might get up to 4.2, even.

    You'll find that that gpu is good for 1920x1080 and 4xAA in almost every app, provided there is enough cpu to back it up.
     
  9. casual swift

    casual swift New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    122 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Can someone post a link to a good guide on overclocking/tweaking so I can get my feet wet? Thanks!
     
  10. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,289 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,108
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Pretty sure we have a good one here ;)

    My quick-n-dirty suggestion is disable Turbo Boost, up the BLCK to like 150mhz, the voltage to ~1.25v, and you're set. Leave the memory on auto for now.

    This is assuming that you have a cooler that can handle this ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    More ram and an SSD
     
  12. casual swift

    casual swift New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    122 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Negative... my build as it sits is only fan cooled.
     
  13. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    Speaking of SSD, I have a 60GB for sale ;)

    I also agree on overclocking that chip of yours. And wait for the 69xx series of video cards to come out.
     
  14. Zen_

    Zen_

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    494 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    112
    I would get a Cogage True Spirit or Cooler Master Hyper 212+ and overclock your i5. With the True 4 GHz should be completely realistic, maybe a little less with the 212+. At under $50 that's a no brainer upgrade to significantly boost performance.
     
    casual swift says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page