1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My GTX 590 seems to be under performing

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by bboy-mass, Mar 30, 2011.

  1. bboy-mass New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    146 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ok guys, i already have a thread open with regrads to my cpu bottlenecking my gtx590 but this is slihtly different.

    My system

    1090t running at 3.9g
    Nb 2938
    Ht 2203
    Mem 1632mhz

    Croshair formula iv
    Watercooled by coolit alc 240 (4 fans push pull)

    Vey good temps

    So, why oh why am i only getting P26189 in 3dvantage compared to tiny tom logans (overclock 3d youtube channel) whos getting P35000 using a intel i7 at 4g ?????

    Is the i7 that much better than the amd 1090t hex core ???

    Will it only perform that well during benchmarks and even out in games ???

    Im about to move to intel if its that much different, but would like to know if its just bench marking that the i7 wins.

    Thanks for reading.

    Oh yea, i have a Tagen 900 watts psu in normal mode (not turbo - made no difference)



    Please advise.
  2. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    giving just the P score doesn't help much, what are the individual GFX and CPU scores (i take it you're both using the same version?)
    yogurt_21 says thanks.
  3. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    the guy on youtube had phsx ENABLED. you have is set to run on your cpu therefore scores will be slightly smaller but yours is correct, his is not, also the i7's DO have 2 more cores due to hyperthreading. it would get slightly better scors but not by 10k thats for sure
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    i7's have two more THREADS, not cores.


    the vantage scores are worthless for comapring two different systems, compare the GPU scores alone, or use a different benchmark to compare.
  5. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    An i7 butt @***@ an 1090T at the same clocks but not by that amount I wouldnt have thought.
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    i7's dont have as much of a lead as the fanboys want you to think, but hte problem here is that he's used a system comparison benchmark, not a GPU one.


    physX enabled vs disabled, faster CPU... he wants to know if his GPU is comparing, and he's used the wrong thing to do so.
    bboy-mass says thanks.
  7. bboy-mass New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    146 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Birmingham
    I have physx enabled in the NVIDIA control panel to GPU-A

    It gives you a choice for GPU-A,B o auto.

    I've tried all 3 settings and no difference ???

    Would it be the PSU not providing enough power? The GEFORCE light is on solid and both 8-pins are in? I guess the GPU would start down clocking if it was the PSU YES ???

    I'm not buying another componnet till I get comparison with someone else, its driving me MAD.

    Why are OC3D setting 10,000+ points more than ME:banghead:

    Sorry for ranting.:laugh:

    Bboy
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    no, if you didnt have enough power the PC would be shutting off or crashing.


    compare your video cards results to something from a TPU review instead, see how that goes.
    bboy-mass says thanks.
  9. bboy-mass New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    146 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Birmingham
    TPU ??

    Whats that dude, sorry.
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    the website you're on, lol.


    here is w1zzards review

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASUS/GeForce_GTX_590/

    you could for example, run the unigine heaven 2.0 benchmark, and compare to w1zzards results. if they're within say, 3% of each other then your card is fine.
  11. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    OMFG :roll:
    bboy-mass says thanks.
  12. bboy-mass New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    146 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Oh,

    :laugh:

    I get it now.lol

    R.
    Bboymassuk
  13. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    no no no.... don't read that review, it has a nasty ending you may not like......






































    :laugh:
  14. bboy-mass New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    146 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Birmingham
    HA.

    I'm thick skinned dude and its GREAT to be back using NVIDIA.

    Once I get to the bottom of my missing 10,000+ in 3DmarkVantage (or close) ill be a happy bunny.

    I'm getting higher frames in AVP Becnhmark, so the card must be ok.

    I'll let you all know. OK

    R.
    Bboymassuk
  15. Cratzky New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    296 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    To give you an short answer that i think its quite obvious in this case..
    Your CPU is bottlenecking the crap out of that card.
    And thats a fact unfortunately...
    Also your ram is not on the fast side either... 1066mhz modules is quite slow compared to these new 1600-2000mhz modules.
    This is clearly a cpu+ram bottleneck
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  16. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    put your HT link back @ 2000 and run it again i bet you gain a hundred maybe 200 points
  17. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,309 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    AZ
  18. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    or 3dmark 06, but still its games that really matter. if it was done with a 6c/12t intel that would make sense why it is much higher.
  19. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,765 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    824
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Agreed depending on the CPU score you could conceivably have a P score of 26k but a GPU score of 32000/35000 or more.

    Intel i7's bench better on average then AMD Phenoms II. They seem to get better or higher scores. What ever the reason is doesn't matter. But it's just a fact. Not saying one is better then the other because that is Opinion not fact. But using a synthetic benchmark to gauge performance against others is not always the best idea.

    I would say if you GPU score is fine or on par then you are alright. Also if your performance in games is good.... again I wouldn't worry about your synthetic benching score.
  20. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,132 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    Geez, what a n00b to have PhysX enabled for testing. That video should be taken down.

    But yeah, that AMD hex isnt as good in that synthetic bench.
  21. bboy-mass New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    146 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Birmingham
    ok, im getting 76fps in dirt2 4xaa full maxed over surround vision 6032x1080.

    so who gives a shit about 3d mark results. lol

    i got bored benching and pissing about.

    iracing in sli over 3 screens is just bliss.

    just wish doom3 would sync up. lol

    thanks evetyone.
  22. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,414 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    [​IMG]
  23. Spectrum

    Spectrum New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    473 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    [​IMG]
  24. bboy-mass New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    146 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Birmingham

    that was a typo mate, my ram is 1600 ddr3. 888/24/34

    thanks.

    also, after much investigation the amd 1090t prety much matches intel in gaming( give or take a frame here and there) its 3dmark that loves intel.

    so, all that pissing about for nothing. ha

    r.
    bboymassuk
  25. bboy-mass New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    146 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Birmingham

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page