1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My i5 2500 CPU idling at 50 degrees celcius

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by happy, Jan 16, 2012.

  1. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yup, use RealTemp inside Windows. You never know maybe that temp sensor on the motherboard itself is bad.
     
  2. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,397 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,250
    Location:
    Oregon
    No

    The only way to be sure is to test it, and leave your clocks alone you have enough going on


    I actually prefer Open Hardware Monitor 0.3.2 Beta for monitoring temps
    http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/SysInfo/

    Run prime95 in windows with your temp monitor running
    http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/Benchmarking/

    The temp should not get about 70c under a load


    Also I dont know if you read the instruction on thermal paste but its important. To much paste is bad. It a grain of rice
     
    Widjaja says thanks.
  3. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,067 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,346
    Location:
    Rochester area
    yep get that hyper 212+ its performance for its price is legendary
     
  4. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Sneekypeet has a $20 shipped cooler for sale...
     
  5. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    OK Guys, Really thanks for all the suggestion and help. Really appreciated. Well anyways just woke up to a good day (not really when I checked the temp in bios it was still idling at 50 degrees celcius), but after installing realtemp and openhardwaremonitor. The temperature for all for cores are ilding around 25 degrees celcius having nothing running and max is round 30 degrees celcius. I guess the stupid motherboard temperature sensor is busted. Should I return it? Is it a major problem? All cores are at 1596mhz. I guess that is all right, right? Well really thanks. I was worry about nothing thanks to the stupid motherboard's bad sensor.

    Side note: I really think the cpu cooler's pins are busted or maybe one of them. I could lock them but just not at the lock position. It fits sturdy after I tingled with the fourth pin but it is not in lock position. However I pulled it with some force and it won't come out.


    Thanks alot.
     
  6. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,067 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,346
    Location:
    Rochester area
    if all the pins are not locked properly then thats your issue
     
  7. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    but why is realtemp and openhardware able to read the cpu temperature correctly?
     
  8. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,067 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,346
    Location:
    Rochester area
    because you problem have intermittent contact or because the cores are throttled down because the machine is idle
     
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,068 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,438
    read it and weap bitches

    [​IMG]

    Idles between 30-35'c Load between 50-56'c

    12hrs of prime is around 58'c - It does touch 60'c on occasions but it doesnt stay there.
     
  10. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Could it be that when I am in the bios screen (it is very colorful and there is graphics meaning it actually looks like I am using an app) that it is in load, hence the 50 c idle?
     
  11. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,067 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,346
    Location:
    Rochester area
    what does that have todo with ANYTHING quit hijacking threads
    you will get higher temps at the bios screen because power states are disable and bios apply a `slight load for self testing
    at anyrate idle temps don't really tell you much need to see load temps anything less then 85c is ok
     
  12. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,068 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,438
    Plenty - Hes saying his idle temps are too high, So im just agreeing with him as my idle temp is a lot lower. Chill bro,
     
  13. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,067 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,346
    Location:
    Rochester area
    but you are not on stock cooling
     
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,068 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,438
    Bios screen has nothing to do with it. Try replacing the thermal paste on your cooler. Stock coolers are known to run with higher temps in general. but 50'c idle is quite high.

    so try putting on some new thermal paste if you already havent.

    secondly whats the ambient temperture of the room you keep the computer?
     
  15. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,067 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,346
    Location:
    Rochester area
    you would be wrong :) I know for a fact that on some boards the bios disables things like speed step so it runs flatout ...
     
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,068 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,438
    and neither are you or most of the people on this forum. your point being???
     
  17. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Ambient temperature is around 65 degrees farenheit
     
  18. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,067 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,346
    Location:
    Rochester area
    omg leave the thread now you are NOT HELPING
     
  19. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,068 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,438
    hmmm thats roughly the same as me except my room ambient temp goes from 12-16'c

    I dunno in that case. just try and reseat the cooler, if not then get a cheap aftermarket cooler like the others suggest. Even an Arctic Cooler Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 is still a fair buy and will handle a small overclock
     
  20. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,067 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,346
    Location:
    Rochester area
    if it was only reporting 50 @ the bios ignore it ... thats fine
    the cores goto max frequencies when you are in the bios on most boards
    the best way to check is to run real-temp and let the machine idil for 5min and then check the temp
     
  21. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,068 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,438
    care to actually read my posts properly and tell me im not helping???

    the only one here not helping is you by constantly trying to argue with me.
     
  22. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Out of interest what is the temperature reported in windows using realtemp or coretemp?
    I ask this because I have had the bios reading temperatures wrong before. Perhaps on your motherboard the bios is incorrect.
     
  23. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,067 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,346
    Location:
    Rochester area
    because you keep confusing the poor guy with post's that relate in no way to his issue

    a: he said the pins may not be clicked in properly
    b: he said he was at the bios when he saw the 50c temp
    c: you posted a screen shot of your temps on your setup that has NOTHING todo with his machine
    :banghead:
    for one reason or another cpu's are always a bit warmer in the bios then they are at the windows desktop
     
    Crap Daddy, THE_EGG and happy say thanks.
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,068 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,438
    It was a screen shot of my OC actualy not my temps :p lol you need to relax man youre gonna hurt yourself if you keep stressing.

    and

    A: i told him to reseat the cooler/apply new thermal paste
    B: even in my own bios it always shows low idle temps.
    C: see above
     
  25. happy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    638 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    OneMoar is correct.
     
    THE_EGG says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page