1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My i5 760 oc

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by leemerlord, Jun 26, 2011.

  1. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    Im posting this thread to show my OC and see if anyone can help me bring the volatges down some and still run @ 4GHz or higher, im open to all suggestions and i am aware that im doing this at my own risk. Here are my specs. also if there is a way for me to not have it at idle at the OC let me know please:toast:

    Attached Files:

  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,526 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,046
    to keep it from being at full load all the time, make sure to leave the turbo, Cstates, and EIST functions enabled. Also be sure to go to the control panel>>power settings, and set a balanced setup versus high performance. That will keep the PC at a fully loaded state as well.
    leemerlord says thanks.
  3. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    i switched to balanced and only changed the pcie option to off, would there be anything else needed to be changed?
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,526 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,046
    if its downclocking now then dont worry about the rest of what I was talking about. If its downclocking, the others are already correct for it to allow the "balance" to do it.
  5. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    it down clocks and lowers the voltages, but when it does my psu is making noises, the same sounding ones my other psu was making before i had to RMA it
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,526 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,046
    squealing?
  7. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    id say so, if it helps it doesnt do it when i have Cstates or EIST enabled
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,526 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,046
    point #1...I misread the OP. TO lower the voltage, you need to either straight out lower the applied volts in the bios. Possibly if you aren't running enough QPI/VTT you will need more Vcore to compensate. Trial and error is the only way to lower the core volts.

    point#2.... Odd that its the PSU squealing under lowered loads and not while in a game or something. Are you positive its the PSU?
  9. leemerlord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    286 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Ramona, California
    id put my money on it, i took my side panel off and got a paper towl roll and put it to my ear all around the pc and it sounded like it was coming from the psu, also my vtt is set to 1.4 in the bios
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,526 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,046
    the tube is a perfect way to isolate it. I wouldn't say anything is wrong, electrical components make noise. If you have a Digital Multi Meter, check the voltages at idle and load and see if it all looks good.

    1.4V should be plenty for anything other than a GB mobo;)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page