1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My Journey - Overclocking My 8350 and 7950.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by jed, Dec 11, 2012.

  1. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    I know bro, but remember I was gonna keep my whole system besides the RAM and OS... Then this whole deal started with rebuilding. I'll message Dave later on when start getting more time for Xmas break. Still got two finals to study for tonight and take tomorrow.
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,572 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,025
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    yeah, I had a Calculus final today that im pretty sure bombed, and will have to retake the class next quarter lol :(
  3. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    273 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    Location:
    Terra Australis
    Geezus, how much power this thing sucking down? I'd imagine it'll be hot too
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,572 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,025
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    You know, that could be another issue. Power and his PSU inability to provide stable power. Granted its an Antec unit, but seems pretty generic in that regard.
  5. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Ouch mate... Calculus? Disgusting.

    About the volts... Stock was 1.425 IIRC. Running cool at idle, around 14C and so far highest temp at Prime95 I think was around 58-59 after a 2.5-3 hour run. Highest temp after running BF3 for a while was around 45C.

    I'd like to figure out how close I'm coming to really stressing my PSU. 700W is pretty big but it's getting old as well. Looks like the Average for 8350 is around 185, OC'd i'm sure around 200. Looks like Sapphire 7950 at intense gaming is around 160-170. So that's around 350+W when they are both pushing hard.
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,572 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,025
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    The 8350 will push up near 230-250w overclocked. What model is your PSU exactly?
  7. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Good question... I am gonna guess this one here but it's been so damn long. Looking through the back of my case I can see the red coils through the grate like in those pics... And I definitely am not feeling like opening my case right now.
  8. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Starting Prime95 at 1:05 AM. Clocks are 20x232 @ 1.4625v and 1546 RAm @ 1.51v. Ran BF3 for about 3 hours with no issues prior to.

    Edit: 3 cores already shit out after about 10 minutes... Same old BS errors. Test stopped at 1:22 AM... Temp got up to 65 as well which isn't chilly by any means. Guess when I get time i'll drop everything back down and start again.
  9. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,539 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    289
    dude big props for this, i love to see what other end users can get from their kit too :D

    only tip i would give is to only oc 1 bit at a time, only up the core on the gpu and leave the ram and then once you know where it tops out drop it and up the ram then once you know where both top out see where both will go too you know :)
    jed and Super XP say thanks.
  10. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,420 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,510
    That is what I do was well (sometimes I don't mess with the memory at all, just the core):toast:
    marsey99 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,741 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Bumping the CPU Multiplier is the best way to determine your potential max clock speed.
    After you determine your max OC, then you can play with the HT bus speed (200) by leaving the multiplier at default.

    All along slightly bumping up the VCore in very small increments when you find your setup unstable.

    The KEY to Max OC's IMO is breaking in the CPU slowly and stead by upping the multi testing and upping the volts only when running unstable. If you rush in by jacking up the volts and clock speed, you deteriorate your chance in high stable low voltage OC's again IMO:D
    jed says thanks.
  12. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I was gonna say what superxp just did. Thats how I always go about it too.

    I was gonna say, with my 8350, the day I got it I tried to go as high as I could and 4.6 was I high as I could get stable, (no BSOD) with 1.4v, and then 5 cores were failing prime95. But now Ive had it for a week or so and it seems much more stable. I'm at 4.7 with 1.34v without cores failing at all. So idk, but for me at least it seems to be getting more stable with time.

    Oh, and raising my NB to 2600, (stock speed on mine was 2400) helped with stability. Cant go any higher tho... Raising memory voltage a tad helped a bit too.
    jed, Super XP and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU Folding for Team TPU
  13. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,741 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    4.7GHz with 1.34v is great. I can't wait to play around with my FX-8350. Hopefully I can take her above 4.90GHz without going over 1.375v. :D
    Irony says thanks.
  14. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    That would be nice. Tipping point for mine, where it starts wanting volts is 4.8, haven't gotten it stable at 5.0 yet. Went to 1.5v, I'll be messing with it more in a couple days tho
    jed says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU Folding for Team TPU
  15. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Alright guys, thanks a lot for your input! For now, I've heeded your advice and my CPU is back at stock everything, minus the volts. I dropped the stock volts to see how long I can run stable at that. It's at around 1.36 or something now instead of 1.425.

    I'll reboot the whole process probably around Sunday when my real winter break starts, and see where it goes. I'll start by just adjusting the multiplier only. The real crap side of this is that I'll lose that extra 200 MHz bump in my RAM which helps my benchmarking by an extraordinary amount. Not that I necessarily need it ATM, it runs BF3 at all ultra at stock speeds, it still sucks to lose it.

    Oh well... Should just bought better RAM in the first place.

    Question for you all...

    When you're OCing, do you literally increase from 4.0 to 4.1, run P95 for 24 hours. Increase from 4.1 to 4.2, run P95 for 24 hours. Increase from 4.2 to 4.3, run P95 for 24 hours, etc. etc. etc. until it gets unstable? If so I am WAY impatient and have certainly been doing it wrong the whole time anyways.

    Thanks everyone. Off to see the midnight showing of The Hobbit.

    :toast:
  16. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Some people are judicious about their stability. I personally am happy if it makes it 15 minutes on prime95. Gaming wont ever stress it that much. Now, if you do alot of video encoding that's a different story.

    Somebody will disagree with me I'm sure.
    Crunching for Team TPU Folding for Team TPU
  17. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,779 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,485
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I've had CPUs pass 20 runs of IntelBurnTest yet TF2 causes a BSOD within 20 minutes, so to each their own. :laugh:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    I hear ya. I had my 1055t x6 overclocked pretty high and it could never pass Prime for the life of me. Had that sucker OC'd for two years and not a single issue besides a 124 BSOD. Increasing volts took care of it! Definitely don't want to screw this one up though. Same manufacturer, different device! May act differently.

    Just got back from The Hobbit. If anyone's contemplating seeing it, don't. One of the best movies I have ever seen. See it ASAP.
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2012
  19. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Lol. Is golum still the most awesome charachter?
    Crunching for Team TPU Folding for Team TPU
  20. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Absolutely. The scene with him (he probably was about 40 mins of the movie, maybe) was outstanding. Also this movie has a TON of humor compared to any of the three other movies.
    Irony says thanks.
  21. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,853 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,393
    Jed quick question man, do you NEED to OC or is this just for fun?
  22. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Just for fun mate. With my GPU OC'd to where it is now, it can run BF3 and Planetside 2 at all Ultra without touching the CPU.

    Also, in everyones opinion, how long to run P95 until you deem your system stable? 12 hours? Or more like 24?
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2012
  23. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,853 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,393
    Run BF3 for 3 hours straight.
  24. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    I did that with my OC'd RAM ~1550 and CPU at like 4.7Ghz. It couldn't run Prime for 5 minutes without shutting threads but ran BF3 cool and pretty damn good for over 3 hours one night.
  25. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,853 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,393
    Run Intel Burn

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page