1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My Journey - Overclocking My 8350 and 7950.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by jed, Dec 11, 2012.

  1. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    For how long?
     
  2. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,287 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,775
    Till its done. It has a maximum setting. Make sure you set everything to max and all threads.
     
  3. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,830 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,661
    Or OCCT with the linpack option enabled.
     
  4. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Max? Damn. I figured high was enough... CPU-z shows it's running at full capacity already. But I'll stop and do max...
     
  5. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Says I can't run on Max because I don't have enough available RAM. I'll go for very high...
     
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,380
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    If it doesn't pass Prime95 theres a 90% chance it won't run Intel Burn.

    It can run Bf3 all day because BF3 only stresses a CPU up to 60%, not full 100% like stress tests do.
     
  7. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    I'm running her on very high for Intel burn and I'm comfortable with that for now. All I do is game and browse.
     
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,209 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,380
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Just monitor temps. Intel Burn will shoot the temps higher then Prime95 will

    What are you setting right now?
     
  9. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Mate,

    CPU Test 14: 21x200 (4200), 1.36v. P95 Blend - 12:35 to 1:35 PM max temp 47C. Intel BT on High - 5 passes, max 46 C/61.5W. Intel Burn 10 passes at Very High - 47 C, 62.2 W.

    Just got back from a Carrie Underwood concert. Can you say "HAWT"?

    [​IMG]
     
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,624 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,843
    so youre telling me the intel burn software runs right on the AMD setup (with all the crap about most software being optimized for intel only, makes me wonder if this software doesnt push either Intel or AMD to the max temperature, or makes one appear lower than the other etc aka not getting the max burn.)
     
  11. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Been doing some more tests, check the first post. So far I can hit 23x200 (4600) at 1.4875v and get IBT on Vhigh through 10 passes (haven't tried more). P95 still gives me a couple errors on a couple select cores but the majority passes.

    How many volts can these things take? I'm afraid to move past the 1.5+ mark, just for the sake of intimidation. I've never moved that high in CPU volts before. Any input is welcome.
     
  12. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Ive seen some in reveiws and such on 1.6 and higher. I cant find any official max volts, or temps. So ive just been going by phenom 2 guidelines, 1.55v and 62c.

    You can probably go a touch higher though, I ran my 1090t on 1.62 for a while, and cdawall has a phenom x4 I believe that he's run at 4.9ghz and 1.7+ volts.

    So Its totally up to your comfort zone
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2012
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,624 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,843
  14. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Just ran FarCry 3 at all ultra, 2x AA for about 6.5 hours and didn't have any issues. CPU temp max was 62, GPU was 71.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page