1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My mouse is acting strange .

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by trickson, Nov 5, 2011.

  1. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I need some help please . I have noticed for the last 2 months that my mouse is acting strange lagging and some times just going all over the place . I have a logitech laser mouse I have the same problem with a regular mouse as well ( a cheep o from wallmart ) . What could be causing this ? I DL and even installed software and still this mouse issue is killing me ! Any thing I can do to fix this ? That is without having to reinstall Win OS .

    Thank you for your time and help in this matter .
     
  2. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,449 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Possibly the mat/surface your using it on?
     
  3. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    No been using my mouse pad for 4 years now . Simple black pad is all it is .
     
  4. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,937 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    Location:
    UK
    tried using a PS/2 mouse?
     
  5. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    No , All I have are the 2 one wireless the other is a USB wired one . Thing is I never had this problem before now . I just do not get it .
     
  6. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,252 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,803
    Location:
    US
    Tried different USB ports or even another computer ?. I say another computer as a friend some time again though he had a faulty mobo or some thing when it was actually 2 faulty mice :|. Some times with USB devices i find i have to have the item plugged in and uninstall it then plug it back it back in to get it working but i normally only have that issue with Flash drives when ever it happens..


    You checked Device manager ?. And checked if the mobo drivers are installed correctly.
     
    trickson says thanks.
  7. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,455 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,629
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    You don't use ZoneAlarm... do you? Try turning off your A/V and other apps running in the background for testing purposes.
     
    trickson says thanks.
  8. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    No nothing that I haven't been running just MSE . :eek:
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  9. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,174 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,438
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    so you have problem with wired and wireless mouse too?
    so it should be from setting or have you tried other mouse just make sure?
     
  10. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yes I have tried a different mouse it just doesn't seem to be working right .
     
  11. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,455 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,629
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Go to the control panel and click on "Mouse"
    Click on the "Pointer Options" tab, if, the "Enhance Pointer Precision" box is checked, un-check and Click "Apply"
    Try it and see if that helped.

    When I was using the logitech mouse/drivers, they did not get along with that option checked.
     
    trickson says thanks.
  12. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I uninstalled the logitech mouse software and uninstalled the mouse from the device manager , Restarted the computer and it seems to have gotten some what better but it is nothing like it should be . Still lags some Just not as bad .
    Could it be the video drivers ? I am using version 11.10 . I think I will try and get a PS2 mouse as soon as I can get the cash up .
     
  13. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,455 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,629
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    You can get a PS/2 mouse and try it, that would help with the diagnostics, but that is really not solving the problem.
    It should not do that, period. If you get my meaning.
    Gotta be something causing it and it needs to be fixed or eliminated.
     
    trickson says thanks.
  14. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yeah but what is causing it ? And how do I fix it ? :eek:

    So far like I have said it seems to be " Getting " better . But still not like it should be .
     
  15. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,455 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,629
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    In your Advanced power options set "USB Selective Suspend setting" to dis-abled and see if that helps.
    USBss.png
    Also, you may want to roll back to 11.9 (or another) video drivers and try them, if you had no lag with them.
     
    trickson says thanks.
  16. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Ok went into that and it was enabled so I disabled it . I will see if this helps after a restart .
     
  17. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,455 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,629
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Trickson, is it working ok?
     
    trickson says thanks.
  18. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,921 (4.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,122
    i think its the mousepad thats the problem.

    there also might be an accumulation of dust at the optical portion of the mouse.

    try the mouse on a piece of non glossy A4 paper.
     
    trickson says thanks.
  19. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,939 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,531
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    I'll second 95 on this question - we wanna know! :)

    If it's no good, then perhaps you could try another mouse pad and another USB port. A PS/2 mouse like cheesy999 suggested is a good idea too if that doesn't solve it.
     
    95Viper and trickson say thanks.
  20. uuuaaaaaa

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    184 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    test your mouse refresh rate with mouse rate, depending on the mouse if you move it fast on the test area you should be getting a stable value like 125hz or 500Hz or even 1000Hz, if it reports something like 500 - 20 - 150 -500 when moving it fast, then something is wrong!
     
    trickson says thanks.
  21. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    So far since I uninstalled it from the control panel and reinstalled it every thing seems to be back to normal . Thank you every one for your help . I also have cleaned my mouse from top to bottom which has also contributed to it working better as well . Now when I play fallout 3 new Vegas it is just fine .
     
    95Viper, de.das.dude and qubit say thanks.
  22. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Glad you got it working good again but if i were you , i would definitely change the mouse pad , 4 years it's over due big time unless you don't use the PC that much? (once or twice a week)

    I changed my mouse pad every ~3-5 months even if it's works ok i can definitely feel the difference when i buy a new one
     
    trickson says thanks.
  23. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,937 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    Location:
    UK
    or, don't use a mouse pad
     
    trickson says thanks.
  24. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Somehow miss that post , still i would use a good mouse pad your mouse will works better on it , even if some mouse makers say's that you can use it on any surface

    You can get a good mouse pad from between $5-15 usually
     
    trickson says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page