1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My new aftermarket CPU cooler doesnt seem to spin the whole time is this normal??????

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by mrmotivator, Jun 4, 2012.

1. mrmotivator New Member

Thanks Received:
    I am a first time builder, I have i5 3570K CPU and i bought a Shadow rock pro be-quiet 150w aftermarket cooler.

Now it spins on start up but seems to stop soon after, its not in a case and i have only been browsing so nothing to taxing on the cpu is it just saving power because cooling isnt needed or should it be spiing all the time like the PSU fan????

Also when i put the thermal paste that came with it on it was so dry that i had a job smearing it on, is this normal also???

Would love some help, thanks alot people!!! :)
  2. phanbuey

phanbuey

Thanks Received:
    are you using fan control from the motherboard? If so, check out what temperatures the bios is reporting. Sometimes the MB reports temps that are ~20C+ lower than actual. I have seen fans stop spinning when the chips idle falls below a certain threshold.

Thermal pastes can be a burden to apply.

Also, you can use realtemp or coretemp to see what the actual temperature of the CPU is. Those Ivy's run cool, but having a fan stop spinning is usually a sign that the MB temp sensor is reporting bogus temps.
  3. FreedomEclipse

FreedomEclipse Crazy Dogmatic Bullsh!t!

Thanks Received:
    What mobo have you got exactly?? On Asus boards there is usually a function called 'Q-Fan' that controls the fan speed,

so either Q-fan is set to the wrong setting in the bios or you have plugged it into the wrong header.

as far as thermal paste goes - I would have gone out and bought my own. either AC MX-2, MX-4 or AS5 if i was not satisfied with the stuff that comes with new heatsinks and such.