1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My new ASUS P5Q Pro!

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by ShadowFold, Jul 25, 2008.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    ASUS really put alot of cool stuff in with this board. I haven't tried out express gate yet but the InstAll utility was VERY cool. The backplate was really easy and I didn't get cut :twitch: I also liked the easy power switch hook up thing. The bios is very nice too, took me less than 30 seconds to set my memory to 5-5-5-15, 1.8v, DDR2-800, and my CPU to 333fsb for 3.166ghz and 1333fsb. Its visually pleasing too! And I got the option to go crossfire! Well worth my 150$ for SURE.

    I also love how I can set my Xigmatek sideways
    [​IMG]

    I love the box :D
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2008
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,805 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,675
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Looks like a nice board, I love my DFI P35 LP Dark board...it's a champ for sure! My last board was Asus, a P5B Deluxe P965...it OC'd like a champ, but I couldn't get one that would stay alive...the last one I RMA'd just decided to stop booting out of nowhere...I was very sad.

    Asus is still a good brand, that P5B came with all sorts of cables, adapters, and junk I'd never use, but could be handy to have at the same time! Plus it was a good looking board. My DFI has a black PCB too so I'm happy. Looks like you gotta winner tho man! Nice work!

    :toast:
     
  3. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Shame about your p5b-dlx,i sold mine and its still going strong.Mine oc'd like a bugger too,i got mine to 560fsb :D check my sig.

    The p5q-xxx boards are really good,i cant use express gate though as my drives are in raid 0 and it will only install to drives in ide mode.I might try it on a 2gb usb stick though.
     
  4. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    659 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Australia
    nice buy!..its a good looking board,nothing else to do now but bolt some fans on and give it some volts/bus...
     
  5. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Told ya you would like that board ;) the cooling on that board also means you can easily convert it to active cooling :cool: Word of warning though, remove the SB HS and lap it, its base is absolutely terrible. The bases on the heatpipe assembly should be perfect. Odd how Asus do a decent job with their heatpipe system but the SB HS they do an awful job with.. ICH10R is sensative to heat, Asus must know that.
     
  6. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Did it boot up fine? I am actually considering this board for a Intel build, Or i may just go with the AMD Phenom build.
     
  7. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    DO IT. I love this thing. Its so many good features.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  8. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    So, its safe to say your happy with the board then? :p
     
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    yea its great
     
  10. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Let us know your max. memory OC an stuff. I havent seen a single user (yet) with the vanilla P5Q Pro BIOS get beyond 1000MHz with any memory kit rated below that, and I havent seen a single user with PC8500 get above 1066. Dont worry, you know all that stuff is fixed in mBIOS 1004, I'm just curious to see if ANYONE can crack that vanilla BIOS trend.
     
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I wont be Ocing the ram much. When I get my 4850 back from rma I will start doing some major oc's on the cpu tho.
     
  12. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Good stuff :cool: in the meantime, OC the snot out of that crappy 3650 :p
     
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I would but I need it :(
     
  14. ascstinger

    ascstinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    544 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    In a house
    I've just bought one a week ago in combo with a 4850 (hurray for work bonuses)

    the modded bios on the forums is a great addition to this as well
     
  15. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Oh please the card isn't gonna die. Just keep those temps under control and all is good. Besides OCing that thing to you will be the difference of playing things at a low res and low detail to medium detail and a reasonable res. I know what I would do :D
     
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Thats the thing, the heatsink sucks. 100% fan speed, idle temps 56c load 68c. I got a Xigmatek Battleaxe coming in the mail but I doubt it would fit lol
     
  17. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Awsome Shadowfold!!!! I just got the same board and have the E8400 hummin @ 4.05ghz already . She's 45c @ idle and 58 @ load on water. This is a rock solid MoBo!!!!!!!!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    My E7200 chip sucks. I cant get 4ghz stable at all.. I tried pushing from 1.2Xv to 1.5v and nothing is stable...
     
  19. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Buy a better chip? :p Sell the E7200 on fleabay I bet you won't loase anything, you might even turn a profit on it :D I once got hold of a lot of BH5 real cheap and turned over 100% profit on each kit thanks to fleabay :D
     
  20. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I might buy a E8500.. idk
     
  21. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Sorry to hear ya got a crap E7200.
     
  22. Cronos New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Not to go off topic but:

    lap it? If one wasn't going to overclock the motherboard, would "lapping it" be neccessary?

    To the OP, I'm looking at the CPU fan you've got there... the fan blows air through the metal, not away, right? And are you using a retention bracket with it? Any other CPU fans anyone knows will work with this motherboard that don't require a retention bracket?

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2008
  23. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I guess the fan on the cooler blows air into(through)the cooler and out of the rear fan.Thats how my ac7 pro is set up.
     
  24. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    If not OCing at all lapping the SB HS would still be worth doing just so temps are kept as low as possible, which will extend lifespan, which is naturally a good thing.
     
  25. Cronos New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just read up on the lapping process and it seems like a lot of work... how much of a temperature difference are we talking here?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page