1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My new rig

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Guarana, Apr 28, 2008.

  1. Guarana New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    54 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    OK, here's the revision post for my new rig.

    (2)9800GX2 1GIG ddr3
    Q9650 CPU
    Asus Striker Extreme II 790i SLI mobo
    G.Skill 8GB 9-9-9-24 DDR3
    Lian-Li PC-A70 Custom water cooled
    WD Raptor X 150GB 10000 RPM sata HD 1.5GBs
    Seagate Barracuda 1tb 7200RPM sata HD 3.0 GBs
    Silverstone ST100 1000w PSU

    The only problem I'd see is the Q9650 on the 790i, any suggestions for that? Other than that I don't see any problems, if any of you could see a problem with this let me know.
     
  2. Smartbomb

    Smartbomb New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    133 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    London, On
    Tripple "A"
     
    Guarana says thanks.
  3. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
  4. Guarana New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    54 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yeah, I plan on doing some OCing. That's what I want to avoid is the data corruption, do you have any suggestions for another chipset?
     
  5. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Um...I'd guess the 780i chipset or something similar, I'm not exactly up to speed on much really (just upgraded a couple months ago, first time on AMD too) so hopefully some of the other Intel users around here can be more helpful than I am.
     
  6. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,548 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,524
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    750ftw board from EVGA since your doing quad sli gx2, otherwise I would recommend the 780i. Neither board supports ddr3 ram though, so if you change from the 790, you need to vchange your ram aswell

    also, just a heads up about your HD. If you've never had a raptorX HD before, or have never used a computer with one, I would like to warn you about how loud they are. They aren't so loud that you won't be able to hear what's coming out of your speakers, but they are loud enough to bother me atleast. Had I'd known about this before I got mine, I woulda got a top quality 7200rpm HD instead. It is louder than the fans in my gx2.
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2008
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Guarana New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    54 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    In that case I'll get a different HD instead of the raptor. I'm going for pretty much silence in this build.
     
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Do you mean the QX9650? If so, you don't have to worry about data corruption, because you don't have to raise the fsb to OC. Only have to raise your cpu multi.
     
  9. Guarana New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    54 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yeah, the QX9650.

    But my main problem is the faulty problems with the asus like the fusion block being cracked in alot of them and whatnot. I plan on watercooling so I may stick with the ASUS, unless I REALLY want to be a rebel and install the WC blocks myself on the EVGA board. Oh the choices.
     
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    30,203 (10.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,600
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India

    There are certain data-corruption issues found with the 790i SLI according to news reports though the users of 790i I know on TPU faced no trouble. If it was me buying that, I'd pick a Maximus Extreme (priced nearly same as Striker II Extreme), 2x Sapphire HD3870 X2, with the money saved, throw in another Raptor, strip two Raptors into RAID 0.

    So finally, you're choosing a 1000W PSU.
     
  11. Drauk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  12. Guarana New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    54 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yeah, I'm going with the 1000w PSU.

    Also, I'm sticking with the GX2's.. I've already ordered the cards.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page