1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My PC gaming decision

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Anthony Frandi, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. Anthony Frandi

    Anthony Frandi

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    44 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi, i've selected some components to build a pc gaming, take a look:
    processor: intel core i5-4670k
    video card: MSI Radeon HD R9-280X 3GB DDR5 384 Bit - Gaming
    motherboard: MSI Z87-GD65 GAMING
    memory: Kingston DDR3 8GB PC12800 Single Channel.
    cooler: gelid tranquillo
    pc case: Cooler Master CM Enforcer (SGC-1000-KWN1)
    monitor: Samsung LED S22C300
    storage: WDC 1TB SATA3 64MB - Caviar Black - WD1002FAEX .
    PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W - ENM750AWT

    could u guys gimme some advices, because it'll make me better
  2. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    645 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    go dual channel on ram maybe, and invest in a ssd for the os? it makes a huuuuuuge difference as far as the ssd goes. and i dont know about western digital, had many issues with them, but thats just me.
  3. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,970 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,102
    I never had a problem with my Enermax PSUs but today I would buy a Corsair AX 760/860 or (almost) similar Enermax 87+ due to the better efficiency then the NAXN 82+.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. Anthony Frandi

    Anthony Frandi

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    44 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    mmm, my budget isn't for SSD :( is 60MB enough? if yes maybe ill buy one
  5. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    513 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    dont worry about an SSD for Your O.S. thats a luxury purchase , that I myself really have no idea why people splurge on. To shave off 50% boot time, or EVEN 80%, it's NOT all that long with a decent 7200 HDD. I COULD justify it for maybe gaming or Editing, or another intensive program You may need to run often, but if money is an issue in ANY way, avoid O.S. boot drive, Even now they are still WAY too expensive IMO.(that caviar will handle windows explorer, or whatever O.S. tasks You require of it JUST fine).

    I'd recommend the Memory to be dual channel, which you could still get from Kingston @ a decent price, and a better PSU, from Corsair or a brand in their class. otherwise , a Very respectable build.
    karolpl2004 says thanks.
  6. M0rt

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    108 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
  7. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,123 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    395
    Agree on dual channel RAM, but WD HDDs are just fine, esp after the flood. They're one of the most trusted brands now.

    The PSU is a bit more powerful than you need for that spec though. This would handle the 280x easily, and even a 290x or 780Ti. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817151119

    The money saved on the PSU alone would get you a decent SSD for the OS or a better GPU.
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2013
  8. Anthony Frandi

    Anthony Frandi

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    44 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i use msi gaming vga card because the vga boost on the mobo only works for msi gaming vga crd,
    i'll change to dual channel :)
    i later update my decision for psu
  9. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Seems like a solid setup besides the ram.
    As for SSD purchase, anything less than 128GB is not enough.
    I am starting to think even 128GB is not enough for an OS drive.
    I would now suggest 250GB if you ever choose to purchase one.

    Just like hard drives the demand for capacity goes up over time.
  10. Anthony Frandi

    Anthony Frandi

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    44 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    is it ok if i use 2 single channel ram at once?
  11. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    If the single channel RAM you are using are identical to each other, they will run in dual channel mode as long as you place them in the appropriate slots.
    If the sticks of RAM are different then your system will still run in single channel mode.
  12. Anthony Frandi

    Anthony Frandi

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    44 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    is this psu good enough to change with enermax?
    Cooler Master SILENT PRO GOLD 550W
  13. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I can not personally recommend Cooler master as the last time I had heard about their reputation was quite a while back and it was not good.
    Could have picked up the quality now.
  14. Anthony Frandi

    Anthony Frandi

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    44 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    or Corsair CXM Series 750W CP-9020061-EU (Modular)? i kinda prefer to use modular so i won't get headache just to arrange the cable
  15. Anthony Frandi

    Anthony Frandi

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    44 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    and for ram how about i use Corsair DDR3 Vengeance Red PC12800 8GB (2X4GB) - CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9R ?
  16. OC-Rage

    OC-Rage

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Messages:
    84 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    good system

    i think you most bye G.Skill only for best games and programs number one in the world G.Skill

    i think you can get 2X4GB memory duall channle 12800 Kit for get maximum speed and bandwidht

    thanks anthony good ansewer for this question
  17. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I am not sure with the quality of the CX modular series of PSU for Corsair.
    If the retailer you are purchasing from has a good warranty on the PSU the give it a go.

    Going 2X4GB will allow you to utilize dual channel bandwidth.
  18. OC-Rage

    OC-Rage

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Messages:
    84 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    i think you most use G.Skill memory corsair DDR3 this brand number one in 3D games and overclock and benchmrak wrold record
  19. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    251 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Terra Australis
    Once you go solid-state, there's no going back...
  20. Anthony Frandi

    Anthony Frandi

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    44 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so which ram and psu should i choose?
  21. Jobine

    Jobine

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    15 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Charlottetown
  22. M0rt

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    108 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    If you never intend to CF an additional card, an excellent 450w or a good 550w unit is all you need, but I'd stay away from the Silent Pro and go with the Seasonic G Frag recommended or the Rosewill Capstone.

    Widjaja is correct about CM's rep, but the CM V series is a Seasonic KM3 platform OEM and is rock solid. If CF is in your future and you can swing the price tag, get it.

    The Corsair CX 750M is semi-modular to answer your ?, and for $60 after the $20 rebate can seem like a nice bargain, but it's not a particularly reliable (borderline crap) unit. Catch the Capstone 750 on sale if you need the wattage for CF.

    Better build quality, warranty, and efficiency vs. the money your pocket; my PSU is not the place I'd look to save a buck though.

    I'd still grab the non-Matrix Asus 280X VGA Boost be damned too.
  23. OC-Rage

    OC-Rage

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Messages:
    84 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Ram barand: only G.Skill
    PSU brand: Corsair or coolerMaster



    thats right to easy GO to Newegg.com list of product and price
  24. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    8,976 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,747

    wow.............
    [​IMG]
    OC-Rage and d1nky say thanks.
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,243 (10.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,881
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    This is bad advise. There are plenty of reputable brands out there other than these manufacturers. While I will say newegg is a good place to get a list of prices it may not work for everyone due to it being a US only retailer (With an exception of CA).

    On that note, the PSU he has spec'ed out seems to be quite a nice unit. Here is a review of the unit and it went beyond its stated wattage like a champ.

    It seems the build he has spec'ed will do quite nicely but as others have said I would change the ram from one single 8GB stick to 2x4GB sticks for dual channel purposes.
    OC-Rage says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page