1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My PC have integrated GFX - I need better card to run SC2

Discussion in 'Games' started by Zigg, Aug 23, 2010.

  1. Zigg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I went out and bought SC2 on a whim. I did not look at the min reqs and just thought I would get a new GPU or some new RAM if worst comes to worst. Now I think I may need to build a new PC.
    The PC I have now is a cheap desktop with ok stats, but the GPU is integrated. I didn't notice that it had an integrated GPU when I bought it. I screwed up, right?

    I just got this computer a year ago and I don't mind building a new PC, it just seems kinda like a waste because my cheap PC isn't completely obsolete for my needs.
    If I build my own rig I want to build it from scratch. If possible I want to put something together that will allow me to OC the GPU, CPU, and RAM but stay relatively cheap.

    I'm gonna need stable examples of hardware that will be compatible with each other. I know OC is tough to learn but this isn't the first time I done it, just the first time by myself.
    My friend and I built his PC in high school. We noob many builds but learn a lot in the process.

    Here's Minimum specs for sys build.

    Windows Vista / Windows 7
    Dual Core 2.4Ghz Processor
    2 GB RAM
    512 MB NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTX or ATI Radeon HD 3870 or better

    Thanks for any advise in advance. Please forgive me for any noob mistakes in my post. I will try to be better in the future.
  2. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    you may want to list your current system
  3. Zigg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Current System Specs

    Let me know if more is needed...

    CPU
    Processor: Pentium(R) Dual-Core E5300 @ 2.60GHz
    Memory: 6134MB RAM

    GPU
    Card name: Intel(R) G33/G31 Express Chipset Family
    Chip type: Intel(R) GMA 3100
    DAC type: Internal
    Dedicated Memory: 0 MB
    Shared Memory: 286 MB
  4. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    well there is no need to buy a new computer,just a graphics card and maybe a new PSU! what PSU do you have now?
  5. KingPing

    KingPing

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    820 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    270
    Location:
    Argentina (South America)
    How much do you want to spend?

    Whats your monitor resolution?

    PSU wattage and brand?

    You could buy a cheap Nvidia GT240 or 9800GT, or a ATI 5750 depending on your PSU, and use the PC you already have.

    or

    buy all new depending on your budget


    CPU: Athlon X3 or Phenom X3 or Phenom X4
    RAM: 4GB
    VGA: ATI 5770 or GTX460 or ATI 5850
  6. Zigg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    More Questions....?????

    Even with the integrated GPU issue, you say that it is possible to keep my current setup and just add GPU?

    That's great news, but I was told that Video cards will not work with my Motherboard becuase it has no GPU slot. Remember my GPU unit is part of the MOBO.

    I like what u are saying thou... Replacing the current rig feels like a bit of a waste... Adding aftermarket GPU is optimal.
  7. KingPing

    KingPing

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    820 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    270
    Location:
    Argentina (South America)
    Can you tell us the exact model of your motherboard or take a picture if you can and post it here, that way we can see if it has a PCI-E slot to install a new graphics card. If your motherboard doesn't have a PCI-E slot, then there is no choice but to buy a new PC.
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    it may be true that your motherboard has no PCI-E slot for a graphics card, but just because it has on onboard GPU doesnt automatically mean that is true.

    find out what model motherboard it has (CPU-Z can tell you) and we can find out from there.

    Also find out what your power supply is, you may need to take the side panel off and read the numbers on the sticker on the side of it - a photo may help us there.
  9. Zigg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    that's a great place to start...

    OK so I run CPU-Z. Then get PSU info and look out for any PCI-E slots while I'm looking inside the case?

    Is there anything else u might need? I will do my best to report back with the right info. For today i take a break and pass out. Will report sometime soon. TY
  10. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    all we need to know is what is your PSU(Power supply unit) and motherboard(even tho i am 99.9% sure it has 1 PCI-E 16x slot like all the other G31 mobos) and how much are you willing to spend on a GPU and a PSU :)
  11. Zigg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    p.s. - I will try to take some pics as well.
  12. Zigg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I will spend reasonable money on it as long as it compatible. I want to optimize my setup to play SC2 and other newer games with ease if not maxed out.

    The specs earlier posted for build basically reccomended specs for SC2. So I want something that will own SC2 for reasonable price.

    My target prices range is somewhere between cheap and reasonable. I wan quality and performance without killing my wallet.
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    assuming you have a PCI-E 16x slot, get a 5770.

    odds are it will work with your PSU since its power efficient, and it has enough power (speed) to run SCII at decent settigns.
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    also, it was just pointed out to me that you made this thread in the clubhouse forum... seriously? we have a games section, which i just moved your thread to.
  15. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,125 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    899
    Starcraft 2 two is the most optimised PC game for visuals I have seen in a long time. My friend has a similar CPU to you but with an average dedicated video card (4830) and he can max it out. Saying that some "other" newer games will struggle on your rig, but your PC has a good canvas. I would replace the GPU alone and worry about a completely new build in year or so.

    Open up CPUZ and tell us the exact model of your motherboard, then we'll be able to tell you the best upgrade path.
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    If its a G33 board then it def has a PCIex slot, also arnt you the same guy that made another thread asking about another GPU you installed in it? i just posted in that thread telling you that it was PCIex

    *EDIT*

    YES IT WAS

    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,069 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    756
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    this would probably get more help in system builders not games
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    could also fit there, but he wanted information on starcraft II, so i figured games.
  19. Zigg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Update...I'm Slow...

    Wow! Thanks to everyone who posted. I really appreciate all ur advice. First to brandonwh64
    Thanks all ur posts. There's just one thing I want u to know, the other thread actually applies to different computer. I have a couple and sometimes my friends ask me 4 help with their systems as well. I am still learning step by step.


    Next there's this from Mussels...
    Thanks for the help and sorry for the misplaced thread. I will try to be more conscious of where I start my threads.


    ...And last but not least...

    Do I still need to run CPUz, GPUz, real-temp, or any other diagnostic programs?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page