1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My PSU enough for 4870/4890

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by mrbudgie, Oct 30, 2009.

  1. mrbudgie New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    232 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Coventry ... UK
    lo all

    is my PSU enough for a 4870/ 4890

    DC Output +3.3v +5v +12v1 +12v2 -12v +5vsb
    Max. Load 30A 30A 15A 15A 0.3A 2.0A

    ta
  2. Cuzza

    Cuzza New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,318 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    New Zealand
    yeah, i reckon its fine
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,013 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,404
    no.

    no way in hell, that a dual 15A PSU will run a 4870/4890 - i've seen quality dual 18A rail PSU's fail on 4890's in furmark
  4. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,020 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    489
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Are you talking about the one in your specs?
  5. mrbudgie New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    232 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Coventry ... UK
    yeah one in me specs
  6. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
  7. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Funny how the 4870s don't draw 15 amps lol.

    Theoretically they can rum them, I'd say you need atleast 20 amps per 12v rail though.

    I'll PM you a big ole list if PSU's that are cheap but good!

    Unless you fancy busting out for my be quiet psu ( expensive )
  8. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,020 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    489
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    The lowest Thermaltake on the the Ati requirements psu page is the Purepower RX 500 and it has 18a on each rail. So I'm guessing it would be close. So I would say no as well. It's too close and you want to have more than enough when it comes to power.
  9. Cuzza

    Cuzza New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,318 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    New Zealand
    hmmm come to think of it, you are running your cpu pretty hard, so need extra headroom for that. so i'm going to change my mind on this one and say no.
  10. K91NE

    K91NE New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston,MA
    This may cause you a very close to MAX push or your PSU i would be very careful of heat that this is going to cause on your psu.It may work but my guess is that over time 1 week 6 months you are going to have issues.It will also effect the stability on your othe hardware(CPU OC) and my evn cause damage if it goes.
  11. MN12BIRD

    MN12BIRD

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    God I can't even believe Tt sold a 500+ Watt PSU with only 2x 15A rails. WTF is up with thaT?
  12. bobzilla2009 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    455 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    it does seem very low tbh, considering that adds up to only 360W, but since most non gamers or casual gamers never even need that, i can see why they would not put so much on the rails but keep the 500+W rating to attract people. Considering the fact that the 5870 uses about 10w more at load and that brought my decent 2*18A rails to their knees, i reckon moving up to at least 20-25A (i've now got 2*25A 12v rails).
  13. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    If the OP is buying a new card, I will say just grab a 5770 to be safe.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page