1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My PSU or MY GPU

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by DEFEATEST, Nov 29, 2012.

  1. DEFEATEST

    DEFEATEST

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    369 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Hey guys, Been having this problem for a while now. Usually during and after gaming for a bit, I start getting flickering blotches of colour or black and white checker patterns on my screen. It then continues on my desktop and even while browsing or doing other things. Sometimes it's just in line of blue pixles going and flickering across my screen for a long time. Always random. Is this my vid card or psu maybe? Ive tried a few drivers over the last while and now im on the newest ATI drivers but still the same thing. It get so bad sometimes I have to reboot and it goes away. Any ideas? ........xmas is a coming......:cool:
     
    pakistanlaptops says thanks.
  2. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,859 (6.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,100
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    The StealthXTtreme isn't a great PSU, but those don't sound like failing-PSU symptoms. If the PSU was bad, I'd expect the system to just reboot or lock up--not display strange stuff like that. So I'd imagine that it's your GPU (perhaps GPU RAM) at fault here :ohwell:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    Try underclocking the gpu a bit and see if the problem persist, what are the temps for the gpu?
     
  4. DEFEATEST

    DEFEATEST

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    369 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Ill try and let you know, warfighter has been giveing me the most problems so far.
     
    pakistanlaptops says thanks.
  5. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,046
    Also thinking about the GPU. It never hurts to clean and reseat your card. Try other drivers, maybe downclock the card or raise a bit the voltage. Run some tests (unigine heaven loops).
     
    RCoon says thanks.
  6. DEFEATEST

    DEFEATEST

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    369 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Well I underclocked the gpu a bit and it seems to not happen any more, but what does that say about my vid card if I can't keep it at default clocks?
     
  7. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,447 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,579
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    +1
    My first thoughts would be downclock or increase voltage. Not a PSU problem, otherwise as said before it would lock up or restart.

    EDIT: For the record, I use one of those old OCZ xtream PSU's and they are pretty bad in comparison to others, but this one runs my system no problem.
     
  8. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,116 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,092
    Location:
    Oregon
    Replace the thermal paste. GPU. Maybe it just has bad contact
     
    pakistanlaptops says thanks.
  9. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,047 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Have you checked the temps yet?
     
  10. DEFEATEST

    DEFEATEST

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    369 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    40s at idle and high 60s under load , i do get the odd lock up too
     
  11. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    If your screen freezes: GPU

    If your pc reboots by itself or shuts down: PSU

    Source: Exp
     
  12. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,047 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Those temps are fine. Any chance it might be still under warranty?
     
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Card is on its way out. Most times if a PSU is dying then it will lock up or just reboot (sometimes BSOD) but artifacting is a process were the GPU chip is spitting out errors that is displaying on your screen.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,243 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,686
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Probably the hard drive going bad.......................





    Na, just kidding, it is the video card on its way out like everyone else has stated. If its an XFX brand you might have a life time warranty. Also some of the EVGA cards had a lifetime if it was purchased.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. DEFEATEST

    DEFEATEST

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    369 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    its a Sapphire card , funny it used to bsod reboot on me all the time and i just re- installed Windows and its been fine but this artifacting thing has always persisted. Guess ill just keep an rye on it and keep it underclocked for now, thanks for all your help guys, dont know what i would do without you all !!
     
  16. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,447 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,579
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    If it does look like genuine artifacts, I'll tell you to do the same thing i tell people to do in those kinds of posts. Remove all plastic you can and thermal paste, and bake it in the oven at 375 degrees F for 5-12 minutes. Leave to cool, re-apply thermal paste, rebuild, and test at stock.
     
  17. DEFEATEST

    DEFEATEST

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    369 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Coon even if i had the time to try your little witchcraft baking, i would never have the balls to try somethind like that , thanks though!!!:)
     
  18. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Oddly enough it does work in some cases. In the long run I would just look for a newer card.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. DEFEATEST

    DEFEATEST

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    369 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Ok , so it's happening again, can someone please tell me how to post a pic here? I;ve done it long time ago and forgot . I tried searching "how to post pics in forums" and nothing.....
    I have a screenshot of what I'm getting on the desktop.

    Thanks!
     
  20. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,113 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,932
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. DEFEATEST

    DEFEATEST

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    369 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Thanks! works great! here is what I'm talking about.... [​IMG]
     
  22. DEFEATEST

    DEFEATEST

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    369 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Im screwed aren't I ?
     
  23. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,197 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Home
    Looks like GPU ram is on its last legs to me
     
  24. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,645 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    It could very well be more than a bad driver install or driver corruption, but on the chance it's software related, when you install the drivers make sure, esp with AMD, that you thoroughly uninstall the old ones first with an app like Driver Sweeper.
     
  25. DEFEATEST

    DEFEATEST

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    369 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    And I don't suppose one just easily fixes or replaces gpu ram do they?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page