1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My ram died

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Wile E, Feb 22, 2008.

  1. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    A stick of my 1200MHz Trascend axeram just died on me. Thank god Newegg is so easy to deal with. My rma was approved instantly. Threw my Crucial back in for the moment, so not a big deal. Just wanted to share.
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,654 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,045
    Anything I need to be aware of?:eek: I'm always running mine at 1200mhz and just under 2.2v's @ 5-5-15. It's unbelievable how cool these things run. I wish you the timeliest RMA possible.:toast:You're on the east coast and they come out of NJ so it won't be too long. I always have to wait the longest for RMA's.
     
    Wile E says thanks.
  3. Snipe343

    Snipe343

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,002 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Thats not fun, but at least newegg is always easy to deal with, hope you get them back in there
     
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Nah. Just a defective stick. I've been having weird app crashes lately, and thought it was because of my cpu OC, as more vcore seemed to help. Must've just been a coincidence. But anyway, I downclocked to 2.6GHz, and set my ram to run at 960 5-5-5-15 to run Specviewperf 10, as a direct comparison to AthlonX2's Phenom. Bench kept crashing. Threw in my memtest iso, and the bad stick errors in less than a second. lol. Other stick was 100% fine for a whole loop.

    And thanks for the best wishes. :toast:
     
  5. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,111 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    916
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Same here, remember when I fryed my RAM at 2.5 volts, I though it was my OC that was giving me all the BSOD's, turned out to be the RAM. Newegg is really easy with RMA's, thats one of the best things about them. :)
     
  6. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Oh I love newegg.. I thought I sent in my rma (well had my uncle send it out) and a month later when I had to send out the mobo, they still took the ram rma.... I was so thankful! Turned out that the brand I was rmaing was out of stock, So I was able to TRY and get the transends... But I'm happy with my Crucial's!
    Newegg FTW!
    BTW wile e, it just proves my point. Your Neweggs whore!
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,654 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,045
    You never let go do you?:p You can see what you could of had in the case gallery.;)
     
  8. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Heck no! that was the funnest thing! Now, whats the odds of a person in our forum buying the SAME product at the SAME time? And on top of that it was "stolen" from my shopping cart! Its just plain unheard of! So you'll all ways be in my thoughts when I oder... I guess thats why I order my last set right when I got to work on pay day... 5am! You have to sleep sometime!
     
  9. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago

    How long have you had your kit? I've had mine for a month and a half at 1150 5-5-5-15 2.2 vdimm. Mine crank. Were you actively cooling them?
     
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Had them for almost 2 months. Ran them daily at rated specs, ran them to 1400Mhz once on 2.34V, just to see how high they would go. And ran them at 1290, stock timings and volts for probably about 15 3Dmark06 runs. Haven't had them over 1200Mhz in about 3 weeks. They just started acting up maybe a week ago. And yeah, they are actively cooled.
     
  11. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Micron D9GMH dying?
    But ... that must be, like, impossible!
     
  12. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I have never killed a stick of ram before.................
     
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Nope. It's something like 6 or 8, right? lol
     
    ChillyMyst says thanks.
  14. ChillyMyst

    ChillyMyst New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    551 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    at least u didnt void their rma(that shirt at thinkgeek fits you, you void alot of warrs :p )

    i love my 4gb of axeram 800, im at 969 atm 5-5-5-15, trfc 75ns, async 7ns good stuff :D

    said it b4 and say it again, axeram rocks, even if u had a stick die, you know, "shit happens" and in my case, well if a stick dies, i gotta rma a kit, so what, i got a spair kit, tho i been told transend will rma 1 stick at a time if they got the ram you bought in stock :)
     
  15. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    You keeping your chipset cold wiliE?

    I have a new theory that the memory controller fries DDR2 when not properly cooled.
     
  16. ChillyMyst

    ChillyMyst New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    551 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    *is glad he dosnt have intel, to many things can go wrong* lol honestly, i have seen so many intel users complaing over the time c2 has been out, that it makes me laugh, my god, how can you stand it, chipsets/boards that fry ram, or that have to use converters/adapter chips to run ddr2 because the chipset itself is designed for ddr3 and nobody in their right mind is gonna pay that price for ddr3.

    *hugs is "slow" but very stable amd rig*
     
  17. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    ChillyMyst,
    What converter/adapter chips are you talking about?
    And what are these "chipsets/boards that fry RAM"? Besides, X38 is the only LGA775 chipset out yet that supports DDR3 - but it also supports DDR2.
     
  18. ChillyMyst

    ChillyMyst New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    551 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    from what i was reading the x38 uses a converter chip to support ddr2 because internaly the chip only acctualy support ddr3.

    as to killing ram, evga 680i boards, go back a bit, you will see TONS of reports of them killing ram,
     
  19. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    X38 has native DDR2/3 support, no external converters are needed.

    And for some reason 680i only kills ram that is overvolted ~30% and up... Even D9 dies at such voltage.
     
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yeah. My Spot Cool is blowing on both it, and the ram.
     
  21. ChillyMyst

    ChillyMyst New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    551 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    /me takes away WileE's aXeRam 1200, its gooo good for you, u void to many warrs and break to many parts.....poor poor 6000+ if u didnt want it that baddly, you could have given it to me!!!!
     
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Hey, breaking parts gives me a reason to grovel to the woman for upgrades. :roll:
     
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,654 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,045
    Wile E, what kind of voltage/timings can/should I use @ 1066 for these things? Transcends site is down.
     
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    2.1v 5-5-5-15 or, you could try for 4-4-4-12 2.2V, and see if it happens. :D
     
    erocker says thanks.
  25. ChillyMyst

    ChillyMyst New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    551 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    *waits for next post that WileE killed the rest of his ram*
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page