1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My smartphone is totaled..what can I do to get the data?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by happita, Jan 29, 2013.

  1. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,366 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    399
    I have a Samsung Galaxy S1 (Captivate) with AT&T. It took it's last dive from my hands and is now cracked up pretty badly on Sunday. After it happened, the screen was extremely faded and green colored. Faded in and out when I turned it on (like a blind's shutters every 5-10 seconds it was on). I turned it off and figured I save battery, but after I turn it on today, screen is completely black now, but I still hear new notifications through the speaker. My 2-year contract ended in October 2012, but I still use the phone and pay AT&T every month to keep the line open. What courses of action can I take to try and get the screen/phone working again so that I can take data off of it?

    p.s. I have pretty much everything saved on the phone memory (I do not have an external sd card attached to it)

    Wasn't sure this was the appropriate section to post this under, mods please move if necessary.
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2013
  2. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,056
    go buy or file a insurance claim and get a new phone and have AT&T transfer everything from your S1 to your new phone.
     
    happita says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Silly question (perhaps) though while it's on and has a black screen as it still giving notifications have you tried connecting it to your PC to see if you can browse and salvage the data on it?
     
    qubit and happita say thanks.
  4. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,318 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    Get the screen replaced. Backup buy a new one
     
  5. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,389 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,618
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    +1 to this. Sounds like a no brainer if the phone is still technically working.
     
  6. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,366 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    399
    I tried to use the phone's microUSB to USB dongle to plug into the PC once and I think it just automatically charges. I think since Android and Windows are 2 completely different operating systems it would make sense, but I will try it again and see if any notification pops up when I do. I will try it when I get home in a few hours and report back here.
     
  7. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    If the touch function still works, see if you can output the phone to your TV.
     
  8. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,389 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,618
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Yes, you could be right. My HTC defaulted to charge only. Had to use screen to select the storage option. My Nexus 4 default to media device and charge. Better option. Not useful to you though :(
     
  9. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    You need Samsung Kies to access your fone from PC, without it you'll only charge... You should be able to get your stuff off it, if not AT&T will prolly charge you like $10 to do it. Good luck!

    You can get the kies software from Samsung site directly...
     
  10. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Sounds like the phones fine the screen is just bust, you can get replacement screens a plenty off eBay
     
  11. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    Couldn't be any more wrong here my friend. Just pointing that out. Samsung phones will allow MTP mode without any drivers installed whatsoever. The only real difference is that some phones are set to automatically charge only, mine both s1 s3, note, and note2 all were set differently, my note 2 automatically opens up the file browser provided it isn't locked.
     
    happita says thanks.
  12. 1freedude

    1freedude

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    557 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Did you put custom from on it? Or is it stock? Find screenshots of stock from choices when plugged into USB. This could help you "see" where to press to activate mass storage.

    Or, get one from Craigslist cheap and swap your guts into it. Easy as pie.

    Or, use TV out if you set it up...like Kantastic said
     
    happita says thanks.
  13. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,366 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    399
    Just checked the screen again, it is unaccessible in terms of doing pretty much anything touch-wise. Phone just defaulted to charging only when I plugged it in unfortunately. My phone is stock. No custom rom installed, don't even know how to do it anyway.


    So your saying I could get the Samsung Kies application, download it onto my PC and it should give me an option to access files on my phone?
     
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,059 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Nope. You need the phone to display a code to input to kies so it recognizes it as a device.

    OR was that over wifi...crap, cannot remember. :p
     
  15. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,842 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,490
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Sorry to hear about this. Can't be too nice.

    You might just need an application from Samsung's website to access the data, perhaps? If not, due perhaps to some sort of silly corporate rivalry, then is there such an application for Linux for it?
     
  16. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    I don't know anything. I own a Galaxy s2. I guess your only option is to smash it some more :D
     
  17. 1freedude

    1freedude

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    557 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Tell you what...I have a T-Mobile sgs t959...broken screen I'll send you. It works, but I don't know if they will work together. Or you can send it to me to try. I'm at work, but can send proof later I know what I'm doing.


    Dave, I think you are thinking of kies air. I use it, but it needs configuring.
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @happita

    What kind of data are you trying to pull?
     
  19. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,366 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    399
    I never used Linux before, so I don't know, you got me by the short hairs :laugh:

    Then my phone will be useless in that aspect because the screen is not useable in the least.

    My necessary files are my Sound Recorder files (default audio recording app...don't know what format they are recorded in) and my Memo files (default note taking app)

    Other files which arent necessary, but would be great to pull are also my pictures and recorded videos.
     
  20. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,318 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    Thats over WiFi :) will work normally.

    Definitely give kies a go! i think you can pull everything from the phone, i might need to ask my brother how it works though
     
  21. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    You could probably use ADB to pull all the files off of the phone.
     
  22. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Go to the ATT store and have the tech do it. I've trashed many phones for various reasons. They've got it down to a science at the store for all the phones they carry. They always do it for me for free and much faster than I can do it.
     
  23. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,828 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    buy a nokia next time. i drop my phones and stuff a lot so it helps.
     
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,700 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Do you remember if you had debug enabled on that phone? If you did, I have a program that you can use to connect your phone via USB and control it like VNC. I used this program for about 4 months on my broken screen thunderbolt.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Oh shoot didnt think about that. Probably SOL with ADB if his phone isnt in debug mode.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page